We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wear shoes in the bathroom”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wear shoes in the bathroom”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I expected the Inn to be historic, however history and dilapidation are not the same thing. I was required to book a two night stay because of a function at the college, yet the hotel was not close to full capacity. The two night stay cost about $500. It was probably worth about 80 per night for the quality of the room. I was on the third floor. The room had two beds which were fine. The problem is the bathroom. It had a very very old wood floor. This was simply disgusting especially around the toilet. I can only imagine what evil was lying in the wide cracks between the planks. The other problem was the tub was an old fashioned claw foot tub. The curtain for the shower would billow around you as you shower, constantly touching your body. Rather disgusting. There was peeling paint and other signs of poor maintenance. The breakfast which was about $10 was adequate, but nothing special. Internet was free. On a very positive note, the cookies and tea in the afternoon were quite good, as was the free coffee in the am. They also allow you free access to a gym about 2 miles from the hotel, which was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Yes, we still have two rooms with the original oak floors in the bathroom and your observations will likely prompt us to schedule this overdue makeover. I should point out that these are fairly narrow rooms that won't accomodate a standard size tub, consequently the original claw foot tubs have been left in place. Some find them historically interesting, but you're correct that the shower curtain solution for this type of tub is not ideal. I do appreciate your other positive comments but alas, I must correct your statement that we weren't full that weekend. It was Middlebury College February Graduation and there wasn't a room to be had in the area.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    188
    89
    21
    18
See reviews for
211
208
40
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two night at the Middlebury Inn. Everything was wonderful. Accommodations were excellent! We took a ride to Chimney Point and visited the ruins of the fort on the New York side of the border. A great experience. We enjoyed afternoon tea and cookies and have continued to do that now that we are home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
There are many great things to see on the New York side of Lake Champlain. You can get there from Middlebury via our new Bridge to Chimney Point State Park or take a Cable Ferry from Shoreham over to Fort Ticonderoga. We always say that the Middlebury Inn is a good Hub for whatever you want to do in North Central Vermont. Thanks for staying with us.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent one wonderful evening at the Inn with dinner in the Morgan Tavern. Menu was full of fresh, well prepared and presented offerings. Service was very friendly and the staff was alert but not hovering. We received a room upgrade upon check in and the room was very comfortable and clean. The Inn is 186 years old but the amenities are very up to date. We also enjoyed the afternoon tea in the lobby which was a nice way to relax after a long drive through the mountains. I tried the Breadloaf french toast with fresh maple syrup for breakfast while looking out at the snow swirling around the common. This is a relaxing place to stay if you are in the area.

Room Tip: I would prefer to stay in the old Inn rather than the annex which from the exterior looks like a roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancakes1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
You point out one of the unexpected treats of staying at the Middlebury Inn and that's dining in our Morgan's Tavern. Whether you're looking out at swirling snow or sitting on the Veranda on a warm summer night (it'll be here soon, folks) our chef will prepare a memorable meal that will fit your mood perfectly. It's also nice that you appreciate the fact that a 186 year old Inn can still be up to date and welcoming. Thank You!

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

No, it's not Downton Abbey in Middlebury. It's better. You'll have all the charm, comfort, and location of a piece of American history and won't have to hire the staff or keep the damp away from the brick.
I've previously reviewed this Inn as feeling like a British private club. It's even friendlier and more comfortable than before. Helpful, gracious, and attentive staff throughout. Plated breakfasts are superb, as is the complimentary afternoon tea. Walk to Middlebury College, the Vermont Coop and shops, and numerous good restaurants. Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Stay in the main inn. Rooms are one or two flights upstairs. Small but capable elevator. #247 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We're happy you came back for a 2nd visit (and in January, no less) and found us even more friendly. The nice part about the Inn business is the wonderful people that cross our threshold and I must point out that nice people bring out the best in all of us. Now if I could only get Maggie Smith to stay here!

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Inn is located right in town and walking distance to everything. Right on the town square, it is really picturesque New ENgland as you drive up to it. We were suprised that our room was actually around back in a mosre typical motel style addition, but just the same it was clean and a really nice room. Lots of parking available, and the staff was really helpful and nice. Definitely has the feeling of northern New England, which we love. And the main building was really beautiful, with a wonderful looking dining room. We ate at a local restaurant, which they were happy to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Middlebury is a very walkable town and heading back to the Inn at the end of a shopping or College excursion, you'll find a welcoming staff, comfortable lobby and our Complimentary Afternoon Tea. Although you did stay in our newer annex section, you correctly pointed out that the Main Inn is only steps away for Breakfast or just relaxing in our lobby or lounge. And yes, we're happy to recommend one of the many fine restaurants in town. Thanks for your kind observations.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Reviews on this site and sister SniqueAway (where I had booked a prepaid overnight as part of a special) led me to expect more.

Yes, the inn is old, and has its quaint quirks, which I can excuse. But shabby, dated furnishings and color schemes, coarse bath towels, and cheap dollar-store bath paper products made this such a disappointment. A fake Christmas tree in the lobby...in VERMONT? For shame :(

Gals at Front Desk and in dining room at breakfast a bit snippy.

We stayed in the Porter Mansion, a stately building adjacent to the main hotel. Sofa cushion torn, shower in a converted closet apart from rest of bathroom awkward. Newer toilet in bathroom, so unsure why the sink could not have also been upgraded; separate hot and cold faucets "charming"...yet not in the best of shape!

Breakfast buffet was ample and a good value, and afternoon tea a nice touch. Location is excellent for accessing Middlebury and its environs, but this is a busy crossroads sort of location, and also near the local firehouse, so not a quiet sort of retreat.

If an idealist looking for the quintessential Vermont getaway, opt for a true B&B or smaller inn, I guess. This was too much--and at the same time, not quite enough--"hotel" to be charming.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingsandroasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
First let me thank you for using SniqueAway – this was our first go around and we enjoyed offering a great deal. Of course I’m not at all pleased that your stay wasn’t all that it should have been. I understand your comment about the bathroom though I’d like to point out some history. What you refer to as a converted closet was the location of the entire bathroom until recently. To add more bathroom space for that guestroom, we created a new door into a 2nd bathroom that had been taken out of commission and we put in a new toilet but decided to keep the older sink. Overall, a good improvement and we will look at other improvements such as replacing the sink, which works nicely but has separate faucets as you point out. I also should give you some feedback on a couple of your other comments. As a “Vermont Green Hotel” we do our best to adhere to many of the requirements of the group that monitors this program and 100% recycled paper products are one of the them. Not the softest, I agree, but they sure are ‘green’ and certainly not what the dollar store sells.

Also, there aren’t too many old hotels that would risk the hazard of a live tree in the lobby, even if the local Fire Marshal approved, which he wouldn’t.

Sounds like you enjoyed the area, so maybe you’ll venture back and give us another opportunity.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vankleek Hill, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Inn. Beautiful historic inn, right in the centre of the historical district. Able to walk to just about everything, including the college. I have never seen so much marble. Comfortably furnished, great bed, and the lounge is stunning. Tea served free everyday from 2 - 5:30. Great cookies and scones,they even served a special tea for Christmas with sandwiches and giant cookies. Staff is very friendly and they were very attentive to our every need. Restaurant (Morgans Tavern) was good also. We really enjoyed the breakfast, but the Angus steak we had for dinner was disappointing. Lots of fat and the sides were not very hot. Breakfast was fantastic though. Looking forward to a return trip in the late Spring when it is warmer and we can explore more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
With such a wonderful review, I only wish had come in to personally cook your steak. It sounds like you had a very nice Christmas getaway and please do come back in the Spring after 'mud season' to enjoy the beautiful weather. After a long cold Vermont winter, we all look forward to the crocus' and apple blossoms. Middlebury is the perfect 'hub' to venture out to all of the Champlain Valley sites and Middlebury Inn is the perfect place to make your temporary home.
Thank you for your nice comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
223 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
15.9 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing