We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge disappointment. We cannot recommend.”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, oh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment. We cannot recommend.”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked months in advance for fall foliage season, choosing Middlebury Inn for a number of reasons, including it’s location and that the room was accessible (no stairs).

We often stay at National Registry properties, appreciating their interest and charm. On a positive note, the lobby and common areas are very pleasant and for the most part the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our room in the ‘annex’ was not pleasant. It had less charm and character than a budget chain motel. The room was a dark, shabby box, and was not very clean. We were so unhappy that after the first night we asked if there were any other rooms available. Of course, there were not -- we were stuck for the next 3 nights. We were disappointed that the front desk associate didn’t even ask why we were not satisfied. Our theory is that she knows the room is not nice, and that this is not the first time she’s had an unhappy guest. We stayed for four nights because we did not have any other options (fall foliage season in Vermont) and were sad because we had this bad experience on a vacation that we had been planning for months.

When we checked out, we got the obligatory ‘how was everything’? question, to which we replied once again that we were not happy with our room. The desk clerk (the same person to whom we had complained 3 days before) seemed surprised and asked us if we’d like to write down our reasons for not being satisfied with our room. No thanks. We will not return, and have already found a much better alternative for our next trip to Middlebury.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I'm obviously disappointed that your stay was unsatisfactory. We know that our guests plan and save to visit New England during our spectacular foliage. It seems that we dropped the ball when it came to responding to your comments and needs although with your request for a ground floor room there were few options other than the Annex rooms. Most of our rooms are accessible without stairs, using our elevator, but only the Annex rooms are ground level, as you had requested. I'm sorry that your expectations were not met and we will certainly learn something from your comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    176
    83
    17
    15
See reviews for
188
188
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a great old inn that's been kept up well. It's a beautiful place and conveniently located - you can walk downtown in a matter of minutes. The decor and historic photos are fun and interesting.

Room Tip: We actually stayed in the newer annex, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

In need of some "down-time" my husband booked a 2 night "Special" at the Middlebury Inn in Vermont. We could not believe how totally relaxed we were after our stay, even without going to the Spa, which is located in the Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the really pleasant staff, they treated us royally, and any extra thing that we asked for,( Like some hot water, very late in the evening ) was provided in a carafe, with a warm smile. We stayed in Porter Manor, in a room with 12 foot ceilings, a four poster bed and lovely old furnishings, it was like a setting for "Gone with the Wind" While we found the restaurant menu rather limited, the food was excellent, the Maple Creme Brulee was the best I ever tasted. We will happily go back Nanook 9

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanook9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I arrived in the early hours of the morning having flown in from London. I was about to embark on a 7 week language course at Middlebury College. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and saw how tired and jet lagged I was. A complimentary bottle of root beer and some bottled water were provided "on the house". The room was lovely and comfortable and I slept so well in a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious and the buffet style meant you could eat as much as you wanted, the coffee kept on coming. Middlebury Inn - thank you :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E3photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Your welcome! I'm very pleased that you were made to feel welcome after a long trip. It's something that's very easy to do but must come from the heart, and as I've said before, made even more easy by the wonderful people that visit us and this beautiful part of Vermont. I hope you had a rewarding experience at Breadloaf - the cream of the crop in language programs. Thank you for staying with us and for being a Root Beer lover like myself.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

They have an elevator that needs on e of the staff to run it, juts like in olden times. I'm old so I remember many buildings in downtown Chicago, my home town, having operators. Pictures of the inn going back decades were interesting and dressed the hallways to the rooms. It was like staying inside and antique!

Room Tip: Ask for view of street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefKev55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We have a lot of fun with our 100 year old Otis elevator. It's not a self operated elevator and we enjoy giving rides in it with our guests. It adds just the right touch to their experience in our 'antique' Inn. But not to worry, we have all of the modern touches as well; Free WiFi, A small but comfortable Bar and Robes in every room. Thanks for your nice comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the Inn and had a lovely stay. Our room was very nice and clean, the beds were very comfortable. We had two delicious breakfasts and one fabulous lunch. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I always get a kick out of the 'tripadvisor' names of our guests when they comment. I hope you were able to try some of our Lake Champlain chocolates - they are the best! But thanks for your nice comments especially with regards to your meals. Our restaurant, Morgan's Tavern is gaining quite a reputaion and is a nice way to differentiate ourselves from other Inns and chain Hotels. We have a great Chef and a new look, that we're very proud of.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Not your typical hotel rooms. We stayed in the main house in a larger room with to queen beds. The room was very large with high ceilings and an equally large bathroom attached. The place has quite a bit of charm and is a nice change from the average chain hotels.

The breakfast buffet was quite spectacular and they even went out of their way to accommodate my daughters food allergies.

Nice staff. Nice room. Hope my daughter picks the college so I have reason to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are not your typical chain hotel although we have nothing against them, but we pride ourselves on being a little dfferent, but still offer great hospitality. When you work in a 185 year old Inn in Vermont, you get used to catering to all tastes and our staff prides themselves on going above and beyond for any guest and their needs. We hope you end up coming back for many years to come. Thank you.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing