We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and good”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Different and good”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Not your typical hotel rooms. We stayed in the main house in a larger room with to queen beds. The room was very large with high ceilings and an equally large bathroom attached. The place has quite a bit of charm and is a nice change from the average chain hotels.

The breakfast buffet was quite spectacular and they even went out of their way to accommodate my daughters food allergies.

Nice staff. Nice room. Hope my daughter picks the college so I have reason to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are not your typical chain hotel although we have nothing against them, but we pride ourselves on being a little dfferent, but still offer great hospitality. When you work in a 185 year old Inn in Vermont, you get used to catering to all tastes and our staff prides themselves on going above and beyond for any guest and their needs. We hope you end up coming back for many years to come. Thank you.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    178
    84
    17
    16
See reviews for
193
191
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Checked in LATE and night staff was amazingly helpful and friendly.
Would stay again. Near all routes. Review needs 200 characters. Lol
What else to say. GOOD breakfast.
Easy walk to small town shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
I could think of all sorts of things for you to say, but you said enough - short but sweet. We have a great late night staff. They love their work and it shows. It helps when they are taking care of nice people too. Thanks for your comments.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

If you like historic inns then you will like this hotel. We stayed in the main building, a two night stay, and enjoyed a suite with a king size bed. Everything was clean and comfortable. If noise bothers you then ask for a room at the back as the inn faces highway 7. Late afternoon coffee, tea and assorted sweets were served, and if you like spa treatments, then you have access to these services in the main building. The restaurant in the hotel is very good with excellent service. We ate breakfasts and dinner one evening there enjoying the view from the veranda. Monday & Tuesday nights the restaurant is closed and there are not many choices in town but we found a small pizza place near the hotel "Papa Ds" that was simple fare but very good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thanks for a historic perspective. As you probably know we are a member of Historic Hotels of America and pride ourselves on providing a modern up to date lodging experience in a historic 185 year old hotel. Included is our wonderful Waterfalls Day Spa and Morgan's Tavern, both of which it appears you enjoyed. Thank you for your nice comments.

Geoff Conrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We came here for dinner at the end of a long day of college tours, and had a wonderful meal. We ate out on the porch on a lovely summer day, had a gracious waitress, and a good meal. Great place to relax with a drink or two.....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ElauNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Our restaurant, Morgan's Tavern is garnering great reviews - be sure to visit our Trip Advisor listing under that name. Chef Phil Gaulin has been bringing his southern charm and culinary skills to this corner of Vermont for almost a year now and the secret is out. Thanks for recognising what a great job he and our staff are doing!

Geoff Conrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paris
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Vermont. This property is historic but with all the modern features we all need. Beautifully decorated, rooms are gorgeously furnished with quality furniture and bedding. Stayed at the Porter Mansion (part of Middlebury Inn) and it was quiet and peaceful, and just a few steps from the Inn. Ate many meals at the Inn both at the Morgan Tavern and the breakfast buffet at the Inn. Both were wonderful, buffet is above and what you would expect from a buffet. The location is ideal for touring around Vermont, many interesting businesses close, Danforth Pewter, Vermont Soap, Lincoln Peak Winery, plus lots of fun shopping downtown that you can easily walk to. If you are there on a Saturday don't miss the farmer's market down by the waterfall. Can't say enough good things about this inn. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Porter Mansion are a few steps from the Inn but so quiet and peaceful it's worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Hmmmm...Can I add anything to this? I don't think so. But a Thank you is in order, certainly.

Geoff Conrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I thought the hotel had old world charm (original not the add on shacks) and is convenient for downtown. Food is mediocre at best. But, what I really find insulting is that WIFI access to Netflix or other movie sites is restricted. I believe that such type of censoring is foolish and cheap.

I can only guess, that they assume that patrons will then spend $10 extra for a movie rental that they offer. At $150 to $190 (weekends) a night. I can just imagine that they are making a killing making that extra couple of bucks for a rental movie.

This is the first hotel that I have ever had such an experience. First of all it devalues the overall quality, service and experience. And, not to mention, stating free WIFI service is false advertising.

Based on principle, I would mot stay here again. Not sure what other types of sites are restricted. Censorship is wrong. And, based on principle, I would not stay here again.

FYI....i can still access whatever I want with my iPhone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveltheworld411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I'll address the WiFi issue because that appears to be of primary concern. We don't rent movies or have a movie service so our limiting what can be downloaded off the internet is strictly a function of wanting to provide the best access to the greatest percentage of our guests. We're all aware of the huge increase in content that can be downloaded and all hotels are struggling to keep up. Movies and Games are the big ones and yes we limit the ability of our guests to download these large files because we are limited by Comcast as to the bandwidth we can provide to all of our guests. It has nothing to do with censorship, just wanting to give all of our guests the best WiFi access that we can. I'm sorry that you were disappointed.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Starting with the front desk welcome, which was awful, this was the worst hotel experience in a 3 week trip across the us and canada. Not sure what the main "newly renovated" hotel is like but i would never book this Historic Landmark Hotel again and stay in the Annex - where the rooms are dirty and worn and the only windows face a brick wall 3 feet away. Add insult to injury....ran out of toilet paper and no spares in the room!!!! The town is quaint and picturesque and the surrounding countryside gorgeous.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay in the single story Annex on the property. Dark, dank and smelled bad....even though we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
I am very sorry that your stay was not at all satisfactory. Although it appears that you were given another room, there is no excuse for not geting it right the first time. As I've said before, the annex rooms are not for everyone, but they should be clean and well stocked. I appreciate you giving us your comments and I'm thankful that you enjoyed your visit to the area otherwise.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
217 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
15.9 mi away
Basin Harbor
Basin Harbor
#1 of 1 in Vergennes
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing