We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised by suite in Porter Mansion”
Review of Middlebury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlebury Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by suite in Porter Mansion”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband is not a fan of B&Bs and older properties, so I was a bit hesitant booking this for the last 2 nights of our vacation on the way back from Quebec City. We stayed in room 599, a suite on the 2nd floor of the Porter Mansion. It turned out to be quite pleasant....large bathroom with an awesome shower and good water pressure and a nice sized sitting room off the bedroom that had a sink and small fridge. Although it was only a double bed, it was quite comfortable. There was another "public" sitting room outside the suite which nobody else used, so we had a lot of privacy. Also liked the free parking in the back (after paying $20/day in Quebec City!) The front porch was nice, and we enjoyed being able to walk downtown as well.
A couple of cautions: there's a church directly across the street that has very loud bells that chime the number of times for the hour every hour on the hour. We had our windows open, so were awakened several times during the night by those! Secondly, we were unimpressed with the buffet breakfast and would have preferred having an option to order something fresh from the menu (which was not offered). Thankfully, there are several cafes within walking distance with fresh coffee and baked goods. We'd also recommend Jackson's by the River downtown for dinner.....great food, service and atmosphere. Also we enjoyed visiting the UVM Morgan Horse Farm, which is only 2 miles away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite in the Porter Mansion.....pricey but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    176
    83
    17
    15
See reviews for
188
187
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the Middlebury Inn for one night. We had no reservation and got the last room at a discount. The room's regular rate was $229.00 which I felt would have been over the top price-wise. The reception staff were very pleasant, welcoming and most accommodating.
The room was in the east wing of the main building on the top floor. The room had 3 windows, nice drapery, blinds and bedding, working air conditioner, small but more than sufficient bathroom and was clean and fresh. The stairs are historic and charming but an elevator would be terrific, especially when you have to carry luggage up two flights of stairs. And no doubt it would helpful to the disabled. The bed was good and there was no night noise in the hotel or outside.
Their was a shortage of staff in the breakfast room and they looked harried and overworked. But the food was hot and good.
Dinner on the verandah in the evening was extremely enjoyable and the serving staff friendly and efficient.
The downstairs reception area was a bit warm and didn't seem to be air conditioned which was a disadvantage.
Keep in mind that you will experience a completely different kind of hotel stay here. It is an inn, not a chain hotel.
Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we hope to return sometime to explore the town a little more.... and have afternoon tea!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and we all look forward to your return visit as well. I'm sorry you didn't get to experience our quaint but efficient elevator - it certainly would have been easier than two flights of stairs! And I appreciate you commenting on your two dining experiences at the Middlebury Inn. Our Chef and I are comitted to making each and every meal the best it can be and your feedback is critical. As you so correctly pointed out, staying at the Middlebury is a completely different experience and one that we hope you'll always remember fondly.

Thank you again,

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

i did not read the reviews until after the fact. we stayed in the annex. DON'T do it. we thought someone had beens smoking in the room at first. but there is the smell of damp, or mold or something unpleasant. our room had two small windows which are about 3' away from a shed which blocks the light and is not very appealing. the room was clean, the bed comfortable, the shower adequate. we asked for a refrigerator way in advance and there wasn't one when we arrived. the very nice night manager "found" one for us, after telling us he would try and get one the next day. the room is very dark, could use something as simple as a night light - would be helpful. towels are not changed everyday unless you request it, but then there are no hooks, and only one bar, which does not allow room for two towels to dry. we have stayed in the main inn, and it was fine. the kitchen turns out very good food, but very slowly. there is no-one tending bar, so the server must wait tables and make drinks. the location is excellent if you want to walk to stores, and around town or to the college.

Room Tip: don't stay in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtski48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Many of our guests appreciate the convenience of our annex rooms and I'm sorry you found your recent stay there not to your liking. After recent renovations, the annex rooms have been a big hit with those looking for a more traditional outside entrance hotel room. We don't say that they have the charm of our main historic Inn, but as you noted, they are clean, comfortable and above all convenient. I also appreciate the nice comments about the food in our restaurant and just a side note, with a 6 seat bar, we find that a server doing double duty is usually just fine - I expect we were busier than usual the night you were here, which is a good thing!

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Yes, it is a historic inn, but it is so dated! The room we were on was okay, but the bathroom was old. The water pressure for the shower was weak. The public areas of the inn was tired looking and somewhat hideous. I counted 8 different patterns on the carpet, walls and curtains etc walking from the lobby up the stairs onto the floors of the rooms. The inn calls for some serious modernization and updating. Considering rooms come at average $150, it is not worth so much money, especially if you stay more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leevidaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Staying at an historic Inn is certainly a different experience than at a chain hotel and we hope that the money we spend on renovations will be appreciated by all of our guests. Alas, this will never be the case, however you seemed to be pleased with the service and cleanliness and especially our close proximity to downtown Middlebury. We love our charming Inn and hope you'll give us another try next time you visit Middlebury VT.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I had stayed here before and knew I'd be back. Stayed in the Porter Mansion, Room 591, which is like an updated king parlor suite (no desk, though), complete with fireplace and windows off the expansive veranda. Delightful formal breakfast buffet dining available.This room not handicap-accessible, but otherwise, a lovely place to relax, even to entertain, sleep in blissful comfort, and return time and again to the awesome offerings right outside your door. Lovely in every way. 5 STARS!

Room Tip: This is a historic hotel, NOT a sterile chain. Some rooms in an annex are standard motel fare and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendydear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We're thrilled that you found our lovely Inn so charming and "five stars' as well - thanks so much! It was also great of you to point out that we aren't a sterile chain hotel, but rather a fine historic Inn with all of the great features that go along with a beautifully restored building. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is charming and what you'd expect in a very small town. Parking is nicely located in back of the hotel with an accessible entry through the dining room and to the reception desk. I shared a room with a colleague and we requested two double beds, which we received located on the second floor. There's only one elevator which is really a service elevator so the staff my access it's use (guests cannot just go up and push a button). The room is bright with traditional decor, flat screen tv, small bathroom with a window, a desk, & closet. Wireless internet is free, and it worked ok. My colleage had an itouch and was unable to get a clear signal both in the room and down in the lobby. I had a Droid X and had no issues. Strangely there were only four hangers and we had to request more. There was also no fridge in our unit which was a bummer but I dealt with it. We did pass a larger room that had a fridge but we don't know if that was a "special" room. The beds were VERY firm and the pillows VERY soft. There is also a spa and fitness room available, which I didn't use. Since the town is VERY small, walking to downtown took two minutes :) In the opposite direction a grocery store is about a 5 minute walk. I really appreciated this. Oh, the hotel also offers afternoon tea! All in all, I appreciated the hotel because it's what you'd expect in a small town. I would stay there again for a couple nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcgiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C, General Manager at Middlebury Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Yes, our lovely Inn in the small town of Middlebury is charming isn’t it? As with any historic establishment, it has its special features, such as the manually operated elevator, that many guests find a real treat. In addition, I would like to point out that the Inn has recently undergone extensive renovations which retain the historic charm and provide improved modern comfort and amenities. Certainly one of the true positives of many a guest experience is our proximity to the downtown area and our location right on the town green. There are great shops, museums, and of course the College in our small town and all right out the front door of the Middlebury Inn.

Geoff Conrad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Charming colonial style and a darling custom of high tea with juice, cookies, and scones (free) every afternoon. Staff are friendly and obviously having fun - I caught them laughing but greeting me good morning and not trying to hide it or act artificially austere, which I liked! Nice room with good view of town and tall four poster beds.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and a room with a foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlebury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlebury Inn

Property: Middlebury Inn
Address: 14 Courthouse Square, Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middlebury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Middlebury Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Vermont Lodging - Enjoy warm Vermont hospitality in the heart of Middlebury, a vibrant college town with classic New England character. Welcoming travelers since 1827, the Middlebury Inn offers the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic historic charm. Centrally located between Burlington and Rutland, and convenient to so many of Vermont's attractions, our historic Middlebury, Vermont hotel is perfect for that pampered fresh-air getaway, a family reunion, a base for leaf peeping, bike touring, hiking or cross country skiing, and also to host your organization's professionally managed retreat. Our town is surrounded by thousands of acres of the Green Mountain National Forest as well as numerous trails and back country roads which are ideal for biking, running, hiking, and cross-country skiing. Friendly Lake Dunmore and spectacular Lake Champlain are easy drives from the Inn. For downhill skiing, the family-friendly Middlebury College Snow Bowl is nearby and Sugarbush, Mad River, Killington, and Stowe are all within 40 miles of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Middlebury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlebury Hotel Middlebury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing