We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!”

Two Brothers Tavern
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Middlebury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Popular bar, restaurant and Lounge in the heart of Middlebury, featuring an award-winning menu of inspired Vermont Comfort fair and more than 24 beers on draught.
Augusta, Maine
1 review
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I do not know what these people are talking about. This place is great! Great food and great beer..not to mention great service. The Chef is a freakin genius! If you want a great meal, great beer, and great ambiance...come here. Tyne Samson is the next best thing to Anthony Bourdain. these other flakes that comment here must think fine dining comes on a tray with golden arches.. Taste the food and these words not only ring true.. but sing across any palate that has even the least modicum of taste buds. This place is fine dining with t a local atmosphere. I just wish tyne would get up and sing. I have heard him in the past.. he is as good on guitar as he is with a spatula. A++++

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MokieVermont, Owner at Two Brothers Tavern, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for the nice review and for making the trip over from Maine! We are very proud to have Tyne here! His culinary experience, creativity and professionalism have taken our hard working kitchen crew and fine menu up a notch! As a team we work hard every single day to put out the best product we can using the richest, freshest, local ingedients we can at a price our valued patrons can afford. Thank you again for the review - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    143
    41
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“very good eats and microbrews, even if our waiter was a bit forgetful”
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Went to this place to have a quick dinner with friends. Our waiter was very nice and attentive but didn't turn out to be the sharpest knife in the drawer. The beer selection was extensive and reasonably priced. We ordered two rounds of switchback, nothing to complain about there. For our appetizer we shared a plate of calamari and crab cakes, both of which exceeded our expectations. I got the pulled pork sandwich with a side of sweet potato fries. Both were very good. Tthe pork itself was tender and had a great smoky flavor, though the sandwich could have used a bit more to accent the pork.

All in all it was a very good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leadfoot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MokieVermont, Owner at Two Brothers Tavern, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thank you very much for the kind review. We do try to offer a wide range of food and beverage offerings at a fair price. We have 25 beers on draught and a brand new menu featuring many culinary delights from our new head chef Tyne Sansom. Enjoy and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Always good pub style food, good beer and good company”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Two Brothers is a Middlebury staple. Upstairs they have a bar area and a dining room. The food is decently priced and generally quite good. Some staples include the Sante Fe Torellini, Lobster Mac & Cheese, Meatloaf Sandwhich and of course, the Shephard's Pie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank middpanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We ordered around 4:50pm, hoping to get an early dinner. I ordered meat loaf and mashed potatoes, one of my favorite meals. The waitress came back a couple of minutes later to tell us that mashed potatoes were not available until after 5. So I said, that's only 8 minutes! She said she would wait until 5, then put our order in. About 5:05 she came to say the mashed potatoes wouldn’t be ready for twenty minutes and asked if I wanted onion rings or french fries instead I wasn’t happy, but I took the onion rings. At 5:25, we were still waiting. It was not crowded at all; maybe only 4 other tables were occupied. I wondered if I would get my mashed potatoes, but at around 5:30 my meat loaf with onion rings was delivered. About 10 minutes later, the waitress came by and said that the mashed potatoes were now available and she would give them to me, free of charge. I passed, as I was not happy. When we got our bill, there was a $5 discount, due, according to the waitress, to the lack of mashed potatoes and the lengthy time to get our meal. The meat loaf was good, but the experience was poor. Yes, they tried to make things right, but it was too late. How hard is it to have mashed potatoes ready?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GarySaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MokieVermont, Owner at Two Brothers Tavern, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. While I'll applaud our host's offer to give you free mashed potatoes and a $5.00 discount, I will certainly speak to our kitchen staff in order to ensure that mashed potatoes are available by 5:00pm every evening. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This is our favorite restaurant in town, we ate there again last night and as usual had great food, great beer, and great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYUMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MokieVermont, Owner at Two Brothers Tavern, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
Thank you for making the trip up to Middlebury from New York and for stopping in at Two Brothers Tavern.

If you come through town often and If you haven't already signed up for our Frequent Diner Program, please consider doing so, as you will receive 10% off on all food purchases. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Brothers Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Two Brothers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing