We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoosick Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I have been experiencing a string of bad service lately, but our faith has been restored after staying at The Red Clover Inn! We traveled with friends to Mendon, VT as a gift for their recent wedding, and the rooms we'd booked were Maggie & Lydia's rooms. These rooms were small but very charming and comfortable - perfect sizes for us, seeing as we would spend most of our time sight-seeing in Killington and Rutland. However, we were "upgraded" to other rooms in the inn due to a slight maintenance issue, and without charge we were given the largest rooms in the inn for our entire stay! We thank innkeeper Amanda for these accommodations, who was pleasant and extremely helpful. Although we did not have dinner in the restaurant, our breakfasts were delicious, as were our desserts on Saturday night. All rooms of the inn and our rooms in the carriage house were beautiful and comfortable. The bartender at their tavern was very helpful in supplying us with his suggestions of places to visit during our stay. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowlands27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    15
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
124
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
worldtravel206
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Charming, impeccable service and warm. We were greeted by the jovial innkeeper, Mark who was fillng in for someone on leave. He could not have made our stay better. From cocktails in the hot tub to personally escorting us to our room...he cared for us our entire stay. The staff had great tips as to where to park to ski, where to eat in town, etc. Our best meal was at the Inn...fabulous steak with egg on top, perfectly cooked venison, great risotto...and dessert was over the top too. Made to order breakfast was quick and delicious. And to top the whole experience, great live acoustical guitar for entertainment in the bar area. We are definitely coming back to celebrate my husband's birthday next year.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Outstanding hospitality, service and atmosphere. The Red Clover is the perfect Vermont weekend getaway and the restaurant, superb. The rooms are quaint and spacious. And you really can't beat enjoying a glass of cabernet or a cold Long Trail while taking in the fire.

We'll definitely be visiting Mark and the gang annually.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeconcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

We just had a long weekend at the Red Clover. Everything was perfect! The food was to die for. The living room was very cozy with a big fire going all night. The innkeeper (Mark) really made an effort to make every comfortable and happy. The hot tub was a nice touch for chilling out after a long day of skiing.

The complimentary breakfast has to be the best in Vermont!!!!

Get the cheese plate!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RefinedUnicorn272727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Just got back from a wonderful weekend skiing and staying at the Red Clover Inn. Not only was the house charming, cozy and wonderful to relax at but our room was spacious with fireplace keeping it toasty. . A great place to relax after a long day on the cold mountain. Excellent food and wine selection in the main house were wonderful. Mark and his staff made our weekend the best it could be. Can't wait to get back.
-Big Will and Liza

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizamarie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at the Red Clover Inn in January and really couldn't have been happier with our stay. The Inn is about 10 minutes from the Ski Lodge, yet surprisingly quite and secluded. The rooms were very comfortable and impeccably clean, but the real highlights for us were the the staff, the fireplace, and the restaurant. Mark, the Inn manager, went out of his way to make us feel welcome and ensure that our stay was everything we could ask for. The fireplace in the main lobby area (more like a living room really) was the perfect place to relax after a day of skiing, especially since Mark brought everyone hot choclate and homemade cookies. And whether or not you stay at the Inn, you should make reservations to eat at the restaurant, which has to be one of the best places to eat in all of Killington. I would highly recommend the Red Clover Inn and will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StJohnFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

First I must tell you that I am a Chef for a major hotel corporation in New York City. My girlfriend and I were in Vermont for Columbus Day weekend and we booked dinner at the Red Clover. We did not stay there overnight in one of the rooms.
Our dinner was beyond our expectations. Service was right on the money and attentive. We got to talk to our waiter whom we found out was German (as I am,) and had worked in New York City but relocated to Vermont. Lucky guy!
The bread that was given to us was out of this world. Crusty on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. Slatthered with some butter, and I was in heaven. It was so good that I had them wrap up the last pieces to take back home with us.
My first course was a grilled quail over Israeli cous cous. The quail had a nice smokeyness to it and was perfectly cooked. My girlfriend had the beet, (not beef, ) tartare with Vermont feta. Outstanding!
My main course was the wild boar with truffle and musroom rissotto. The boar was a little tough, but was cooked medium, which was fine and had a nice gamey taste to it. The other entree was a huge filet sliced into three pieces with duck fat roasted fingerling potates, deliciously prepared.
For dessert we had waffles with vermont cream that was so slightly beaten and filled in the squares of the waffle. The other dessert was a chocolate cake with whipped Vermont cream.
Our waiter informed Chef Dennis that I was a Chef and he came out to the dining room to talk with us. He was nothing like I imagined him to be and I complimented him on a superb dinner. I assured him that next time we return to Vermont, we will definitely come again.
Perfect dinner for a perfect night that later had me proposing to my girlfriend in front of our fireplace. She said yes and is now my fiancee. Perfect night all around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitso58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
1.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
0.4 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.8 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.9 mi away
Killington Grand Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Clover Inn & Restaurant

Property: Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Address: 7 Woodward Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Clover Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is truly a one-of-a-kind experience where the Tyler Family strives to make our guests feel like personal house guests on a memorable Vermont country holiday. A haven for foodies, sports' enthusiasts, and romantics alike, the Inn and Restaurant are acclaimed for local food with European flair; stylish, comfortable lodging; fireside apres-ski and an award winning wine cellar. With mountain views on all sides and tucked off the main beat on its own private road, you'd never guess the Red Clover Inn and Restaurant is right at the cross-roads of Central Vermont within minutes of Killington and Pico's best skiing, biking and hiking. Whether you come for a brief getaway or an extended vacation, a Vermont wedding or an intimate elopement, you'll find the Red Clover Inn as special in its own way as its "big sister" property, the Tyler Place Family Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Clover Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Hotel Mendon
Red Clover Inn And Restaurant
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing