We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmest welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Warmest welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place because we wanted a true Vermont experience during our New England holiday. I am so glad I did as the moment we arrived Emily and Michael made us feel like we were in their own home. They upgraded our room which was a welcome surprise, very well appointed room which was so quiet, we found the bed very comfortable. Now the breakfast is something to write home about. The pancakes are so fluffy you have to try them, not to mention the French toast that changes every day. Emily and Michael really went the extra mile for us, lending maps, deck chairs and giving us great tips of places to visit in the local area. We would not have had such an enjoyable visit to Vermont without their advice and warm welcome. I would urge you to book here instead of that soul-less hotel and really immerse yourself in the experience. We will most definitely be back, although next time we will stay longer as there is so much to do up here in the mountains. Thanks for such a good holiday. :-)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank xelhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    33
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
101
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My mom organized our reunion here after researching many other Vermont locations. After months of planning, she set my expectations of Mike and Emily pretty high. So I wasn't surprised on Friday morning when I got a call from Mike asking about my arrival time and if things were going as planned. That was the first of many times the owners went above and beyond for our family of 35, ranging in ages from toddler to 94.

We realized shortly after arrival that we didn't have a dinner plan for those guests staying Friday night. They offered up the dining room for an impromptu pizza dinner, opening up the bar and putting the beer tabs on our rooms. When it started to sprinkle on the picnic planned for outdoors the next day, again we were welcomed into the dining room. Both times we were able to save money by bringing in outside catering and use their facilities and bar at no attritional charge for as long as we'd like. Talk about gracious hosts!

The facility was perfect for larger gatherings, with smaller rooms for private conversations. There was a game room which kept the kids entertained for hours. The pool was modest, but perfect for our needs. The tennis courts had scooter tracks all over them by the time we left. We spent a good amount of time exploring the creek in back of the property, with pools for resting, rocks for climbing and muddy patches for foot print tracking. The place is the right balance of laid back and comfortable - just what we needed.

The rooms layouts were quite varied so each family found something that fit their specific needs. Our shower was hot and strong with plenty of towels, which is huge for me. The bed was comfortable with more pillows and blankets than we would ever need.

Breakfasts were fantastic, with a coffee bar, fruits and cereal available before the official breakfast hour began. The homemade hot chocolate chip cookies each afternoon were amazing. There was always a pitcher of ice water and water goblets which we needed on a hot July weekend.

If you are looking for a high end, modern hotel, look elsewhere. But if you are looking for a quaint, relaxed New England inn with owners who would do anything to make your stay more comfortable, come check out the Vermont Inn.

Room Tip: The description of the rooms with photos is spot on for what you get when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveling_JenRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just got back from The Vermont Inn----we could not have had a better time. Our group included elders (late 80's-early 90's), youngsters (17 months old) and everything in-between.......and Emily and Mike took care of our every need. When the area where we were to hold our picnic fell through, they stepped up and urged us to hold it at the Inn. It could not have worked out any better. Breakfast was outstanding, our rooms were lovely and comfortable (and quiet), beautiful flowers around the building, bar service on site (for those of us who imbibe!)-----Emily even took our family pictures and did not complain about all the cameras. Location was ideal---all around fabulous experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in this inn last january 2013. I recently joined trip advisor and I really liked this place so I am making a review. This place has a lot of character, my sister and her husband who were visiting from the Philippines really fell in love with this place. At that time the whole inn was covered in snow and in front there were icicles that formed on the roof coming down, it was picture perfect! I forgot the name of the caretaker at that time (I think it was mike, basing on other reviews), but he was very accommodating and welcoming and toured us around the house. Rooms are very charming. My sister and her husband's room even had a fireplace inside, it was very romantic. Breakfast is also good. Location is ok and there are a lot of ski resorts nearby. We really enjoyed our stay and we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Vermont Inn satisfied all our family's needs for a reunion. We had searched long and hard for a place that had space for all 25 of us to sit together in one place. The Vermont Inn really fit the bill. We ate a sumptuous breakfast together each morning, went out on our separate adventures each afternoon and then brought in dinner to share in the dining room most evenings. The children had the run of the place, as well as an amply supplied game room. The adults had a well-stocked bar at their disposal and a couple of different sitting areas. The bedrooms were so comfortable and charming that we felt right at home soon after our arrival. The innkeepers, Mike and Emily, were willing to do anything to help us enjoy our stay. Last but not least, the breakfasts were wonderful and guaranteed to please even the fussiest of children!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolsSarasota_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

25 of us stayed at the Vermont Inn. We ranged in age from 3 yrs old to 74 - 3 generations. The place was great. The seven kids loved it because they had the run of the place and had plenty to do. Emily and Mike (the Innkeepers) did everything they could to make our stay an enjoyable one. The Inn doesn't serve lunch or dinner, but on two nights we ordered take out and brought it back so we could all eat together in the large dining (in which breakfast is served). We ate our food and drank from their full service bar. The breakfasts were really good. Basically our choices included everything any body wanted, all made to order. Mike's pancakes were awesome. All-in-all we couldn't have found a better place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSiegwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in Mendon looking for a B&B for the night. Called the Vermont Inn and they were very reasonable. The grounds are beautiful. Mike and Emily manage the inn and they are very friendly and accommodating. They offer a full breakfast and Mike makes a great french toast among other things. It's a large old building and does need some cosmetic work but the rooms are really nice and clean and the bathrooms are updated. So we decided to stay an extra night. It's family friendly and there are lots of places for kids to run around and play on the grounds. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I got a look at a number of the rooms and they were all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort
4.8 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Property: The Vermont Inn
Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing