We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Accommodating Inn. Highly Recommended.”
Review of The Vermont Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Vermont Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Accommodating Inn. Highly Recommended.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Good-size room; comfortable environment; cozy bed; clean bathroom. Very accommodating for our dogs. Great service. Tasty warm apple cider, and homemade cookies. . Breakfast included – very accommodating and great selection, from omelets to pancakes, French toast, oatmeal, cereal, homemade toasted granola, etc. Easy check-in and check-out – let us check-out late. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    33
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
102
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here 2 years ago under the previous management so were nervous when we heard about new owners. If anything it's even better! The rooms are quaint and charming; beds are super comfy! We ended up having dinner at the Inn and the food was excellent. Our party of 4 raved about everything we ate; every dish was excellently prepared. Breakfast was included so we of course ate that too. Excellent coffee, homemade muffins, eggs, etc. We're definetly coming back again. The new owners are working hard to make it a success, and I believe they will. Count this as 4 1/2 stars!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bbeeAlbanyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We came across The Vermont Inn after searching several other inns and hotels in the area next to Pico. The Innkeeper Tim is such a gentleman. He offered us a clean, great-size room with a queen-sized bed at a great price (compared to other hotels and inns right down Rt 4). The inn is cozy and the atmosphere is very comforting. A welcome retreat after a day of skiing. The bed and bathroom were clean and comfortable. They have a great dining area - surprisingly big and the breakfast the next morning was yummy - enjoyed some Greek yogurt with toasted granola. There are several other options as well - the traditional eggs breakfast, french toast and others. The waitress offered great service and Tim helped out all morning as well. I highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting Killington, Pico or would like to get away for the weekend to enjoy outdoor activities. They had a hot tub too which we unfortunately did not have time to use but we will definitely do that the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saberihx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband and I went to the Vermont Inn, Friday. What a treat! I thoroughly enjoyed my salmon entrée and my husband had the beef stew. The food was perfectly cooked and the portions were ample. I can’t wait to come back, as we are locals and live close enough to return often. The service was awesome! Tim did a great job making sure we were well cared for which is nice considering we don’t get out that much anymore. Five stars all the way!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a ski weekend here. The new owners are so enthusiastic and are doing everything right. Our room was beautifully maintained, a perfect combination of historic ambience with modern amenities. The outdoor hottub was the perfect apres-ski experience with hot cider in hand. Terrific cooked-to-order breakfasts, dinner was expertly prepared and very reasonable. Get the gourmet flat-bread du jour...it's a must! Great location, great people. Even had home-made cookies waiting at midnight of our first night when we arrived. A true Vermont gem, just don't tell too many people, so they save us a room for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stopped into the inn on a whim. Although it was a holiday weekend and we didn't have any reservations, the innkeeper was really friendly, gracious and accommodating; the room was clean and priced fairly, and the food was fabulous! I usually stay in chain hotels with name familiarity, but I really liked the inn because it was warmer, friendlier, and more personal. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend for NYE 2011, and was very happy with the whole experiance. Friendly and professional staff, clean cozy rooms, and great food make the Vermont Inn an ideal place to stay. Although we didn't ski during our stay, we'll certainly be back to take advantage of Pico and Killington just minutes away.
The resteraunt and bar not only provide great food and drink, but a warm, comfortable enviornment to relax with friends.
Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Forgot what room we had...Fireplace was awesome though. Several of thier other rooms have fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
2.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
0.9 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
6.3 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.4 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vermont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vermont Inn

Property: The Vermont Inn
Address: 78 Cream Hill Rd, Mendon, VT 05701-9673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vermont Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vermont Inn is a cozy 16 room Country Inn located in the Green Mountains of Vermont in Killington. We offer fireplace and whirlpool tub deluxe suites, family suites, queen, king and double rooms. Restaurant and pub on site along with a fitness center, outdoor pool, outdoor hot-tub, sauna, game room, and many other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Vermont Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vermont Hotel Mendon
The Vermont Inn Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing