We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Mendon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I took our niece here for dinner tonight. It was excellent! I had the Portugese steak and my wife had the smoked salmon tartes. Our niece had the rainbow trout. We were all very impressed with the creative cuisine and the service was also extremely professional. We will definitely return on our next trip to Vermont.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdKast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedCloverInn, innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
We are thrilled you chose the Red Clover Inn & Restaurant to bring your niece for a special dinner. The house-cured and smoked salmon in your wife's tarts will frequent the menu throughout the summer season. For your next visit to Vermont consider staying in one of our 13 beautiful guest rooms! Thank you for your review.
Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mendon, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Your Gonna Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you like great food using the best local ingredients money can buy prepared expertly with an emphasis on bring out the best in food ,you will enjoy the Red Clover. The wine list is incredible and has lots of moderate priced great wines thoughtfully selected. Not a cheap place to dine but I will say a great value for the money spent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! Chef Colin spends much of his time (even on his days off) searching for the best available products and new ingredients for his menu. The unbelievable flavor and quality of every dish is a result of his dedication. We very much appreciate your continued support as a local resident and look forward to your next dinner with us.
Best wishes, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chef's choice=GREAT choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Astoundingly delicious experience from beginning to end! We went to Red Clover to try the 30x6; a three course, chef's choice meal offered between 5:30 and 6:00. (An incredible value!) We started with a roasted beet and endive salad and phenomenal cabbage and chorizo soup; our entrees were flavorful, subtle, nuanced duck breast with cipollini onions and a beautifully flaky cod with fingerling potatoes. We also did the wine pairing, which included a tasty Vermentino and delicious Columbia Valley Meritage and finished with a California dessert wine. I initially experienced a little anxiety at having the food and wine choice handed over to someone else, but the spontaneous spirit was more than rewarded! Atmosphere and service were also warm and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frstynrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our midweek 30X6 special is an outstanding value and an adventure for your tastebuds. Especially when you include the wine pairing, our Chef's tastings are dining experiences you will be dreaming about for weeks to come (We also offer 3 course, 5 course, or 7 course tastings along with our regular menu from 5:30-9pm Thursday-Monday.) Guests are often a bit wary of surrending their dinner choice to the Chef but as your review confirms it is a rewarding suprise! Chef Colin has been trained to combine flavors and to create courses that stimulate the senses. His expertise in combining his courses results in an exceptional meal you might otherwise miss out on. Hopefully, we will see you back for another Chef Tasting at the Red Clover Inn & Restaurant. We can gurantee it will be new courses but just as exceptional! Best wishes, Charlotte, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Restaurant was great. Very attentive service. Tried variety off appetizers. All were good. I had duck for main which was very good as well. Great experience. We had a large group of people with kids and they handled it great , nobody walked out disappointed

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14jt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us at the Red Clover Inn and Restaurant. We offer a diverse menu allowing our guests to enjoy a variety of outstanding appetizers, entrees and desserts. We are glad you and your party were able to try so many of our delicious dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best wishes, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I live near NYC and we eat at some of the best restaurants. This competes with any top NYC restaurant. The food is creative, but approachable, and thoroughly delicious. Yes, it's expensive for Vermont, but it's worth it. The pork was the winner at our table, but the rabbit was delicious, as were both the cuts of steak. I really don't think you can go wrong with anything on the menu.

Reservations are recommended (probably required).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhotoTvlr0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedCloverInn, Innkeeper at Red Clover Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review! Guests are always pleasantly surprised when they arrive at the the beautiful Red Clover Inn and Restaurant. The atmosphere in itself is worth the detour off of Route 4 and down the winding dirt road to the small Inn. However, the drive is made all the more worth while as soon as you taste one of Chef Colin's fantastic dinners! This review elegantly describes the passion and pride Chef Colin takes with every dish he creates. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable meal.
Best wishes, Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Clover Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Clover Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing