We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendy, cozy place 10 mins from Killington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendy, cozy place 10 mins from Killington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We loved our stay. We didn't expect much for such a cheap price, but we thought it was perfect for a ski vacation. The staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel at home. There's a big fireplace and game room with a pool table and a big sunny dining room. The bedrooms were clean and they had comfy beds. Not the fanciest place I've ever been, but a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    33
    11
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
35
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at this motel a couple of times before and for the price it is a good value--nothing fancy. The room is adequate size, but the bathroom is the size of a postage stamp. The bed was comfortable, although I personally dislike the nylon/rayon type of bedspread. I much prefer a cotton fabric. There was dust all around the floor boards and some minor mold in the bathroom shower grout. Other than that, it was clean. The heating system was hard to figure out. Basically if you turn the dial one way it got cooler and the opposite direction hotter. There was no marking on the dial so you didn't know what you had set it on. It was a chilly night in mid-October so we did need heat. However, we woke up in the middle of the night way too hot and had to get up to adjust it. You will be warm during the ski season. There was a breakfast offered, but we told the owner's wife we were going to Sugar & Spice just down the road. It's a maple sugar house with a restaurant on two levels around the central cooking vat. It has a lot of atmosphere and delicious blueberry pancakes with of course real maple syrup. It gets crowded on the weekends after 9:00--we went around 8:00 and avoided the rush. The game room was very spacious if you want some entertainment. For picky people used to luxury this would not be the place to stay. For the younger crowd or those interested in a fairly clean reasonably priced place to stay, this would fit your bill. There is an outdoor pool and hot tub which might be nice after a long day skiing (I assume it is open during the ski season--check with the management).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really hate to give a less than average review. Especially because the owner was such a nice man with a family. But sadly when you are in the hospitality business nice doesn't cut it. This place is ok I guess for teens or younger folks on a skiing trip a place to crash. But for folks looking for a nice ,clean and reasonable place to stay for a couple of days. Look elsewhere I will say no more

Room Tip: There is no good room at this hotel. Sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendon hotels

Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited the area on the weekend in high season, so available rooms were hard to find, and if you could find one - it was very pricy. Considering the reviews in tripadvisor, we decided to check it out as it was priced fairly cheap. First, don't count on the GPS to bring you there. We needed to stop at some other hotel on the way to give us directions. Although the hotel name contains "Killington", it's not in Killington at all..
Anyway, this is a typical american motel - all rooms are on the ground floor with doors facing the parking lot. The room we had seemed to be last updated in the 1950's. Everything felt very old.. Although things felt dirty (probably because it wasn't updated in so many years), we didn't encounter dirty sheets or towels.
Only when we went for breakfast we realized the motel has a large common room with pool table and other games which was quite nice. Breakfast itself was quite a surprise considering it was complimentary.
There are few restaurants nearby. You can drive 10-15 minutes to get to the nearest resturant.
Overall, I would recommend it only if you can't afford anything better in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IdoTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I am absolutely amazed at the positive reviews of this motel.

We booked the Killington Pico Motor Inn for one night during a 9 day tour of New England. In hindsight I should have realised that you only get what you pay for, it was cheap!

Firstly, we couldn't find the place, the GPS took us to a ski lodge complex. The receptionist here looked up the motel and said it was half a mile away but we still couldn't find it. After an hour of driving around in torrential rain we rang the motel to be told that it was 7 miles further down the road!

We arrived at the motel reception and eventually after a few minutes of calling, the proprietor (I assume that he was the owner as the place seemed to be deserted) came to the counter, it seemed that I had disturbed his lunch as he was obviously finishing a mouthful. However, that said, he was very pleasant and polite and checked us in.

We walked along to the room and the first impression is that the glass in the doors appeared to be boarded up. In actual fact this was a double door, the wooden inner door showing through the glass of the outer. I assume this is for security.

We entered the room and the first thing to notice was that the place was damp and musty and smelled of dust. There was dust everywhere and it seemed that the place had not been used for some time. All that said the weather was atrocious and so we began to settle in.

Within 5 minutes my wife was bitten by an insect. Due to recent medical treatment she is susceptible to infection and this caused us some concern, I appreciate that this can't be avoided in this area of forest and mountains but to be bitten within 5 minutes of arriving in a hotel room was disconcerting to say the least. A second bite 2 minutes later was the last straw and my wife decided that she could not stay at this motel. We left and drove around the area.

A few miles along the road we came across "The Grey Bonnet" hotel and checked in there at around £10 more than the cost of the Pico Motor Inn. A different experience entirely. I drove back to the KP Motor Inn and was met at reception by a lady who, whilst again very pleasant, seemed surprised by the lack of hygiene that I had reported. She did offer another room but frankly it was too late. She didn't offer a refund!

The booking, made through booking.com offered free cancellation up to 2 days before check in. Obviously this had expired, however, as we had not used the room at all and it was clear that nothing had been done immediately before our arrival to facilitate our arrival, on my return home I e-mailed the motel. I explained the situation and stated that, as we had not experienced the night in the room or breakfast, if the owner was willing to consider some kind of reimbursement I would not submit a review of the hotel, or submit a non committal review.

I did not receive a reply.

This is clearly for those on a very tight budget such as backpackers or a lads weekend away. it was the worst experience of a 14 day vacation in New England and New York and for a mature couple such as us travelling for leisure, my recommendation is to avoid the place.

Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank selbymariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone that is just passing through for a night or short weekend. It was absolutely everything we needed and very clean. And the owner was so welcoming. He was so friendly and caring I would be happy to stay there again. If you are looking for a budget place to stay overnight this is it. It's not fancy, but had everything we needed. The refrigerator in the room was very nice. The breakfast was good as well. The places are few and far between here and this was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abremmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were in the area to see the autumn colours which were spectacular. The facilities are fairly basic but adequate and the staff really went overboard to help make our stay a good one. Although there was no hair drier in the room they are availalbe from the desk, We rec Sugar and Spice just down the road breakfasts there are excellent, the staff really friendly and its very good value for money. As a visitor from the UK it was great to find such helpful friendly people. Avoid the Itallian Restuarant Peppinos though unless you are a fan of tinned tomatoes they are in everything!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top section are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.0 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn & Suites Rutland - Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
0.0 mi away
Hillside Inn at Killington
Hillside Inn at Killington
#12 of 13 in Killington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain Sports Inn
Mountain Sports Inn
#4 of 14 in Killington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killington-Pico Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killington-Pico Motor Inn

Property: Killington-Pico Motor Inn
Address: 4 US Route 4, Mendon, VT 05751-9457
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Killington-Pico Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killington-Pico Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killington-Pico Motor Hotel Mendon
Killington Pico Motel
Killington Pico Hotel
Killington-Pico Motor Inn Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing