We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cortina Inn and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Mendon B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent a weekend at this wonderful resort hotel. Got in on a Friday afternoon, enjoyed the warm welcome of the hotel staff and got settled into our newly remodeled rooms. The rooms are luxurious with the most comfortable beds and pillows around. We loved the Vermont air, and viewing the fall foliage on Saturday and loved relaxing pool in the evening. There are several nice restaurants for lunch/dinner right around the hotel or you can go into town for more variety.

We loved the Breakfast on Sunday morning and left with a wonderful lasting impression. We will for sure be back. Thanks again for making our weekend memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    47
    26
    10
    15
See reviews for
38
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This once beautiful resort hotel has been run to the ground by what seems to be a remodel gone bad terrible neglect and downsizing. Don't let the pictures fool you the pool is about the only thing remaining with any semblance of luxury or repair and cleanliness.

There is no longer a warm charming downstairs pup in which to relax after a day on the slopes out sightseeing or engaging in other area past times. No longer a restaurant offering the amazing Sunday brunches that brought folks from all over to the inn.

No blazing fire awaits you as it once did only cold empty fireplaces. No one is present with a friendly welcome as you walk through the doors just a sign asking you to call a number where on the other end you get a cold hello from some person no where near the inn itself. The rooms are dingy dirty and lacking the charm and comfort once making this inn THE place to go.

It has the feel of a tomb of a once grand place now a ghost town. The tennis courts are gone the gift shop no more tea and cookies in the afternoon no longer offered and the service beyond merely lacking in warmth there is none to speak of . What there is is unfriendly unwelcoming and full of excuses without resolutions.

Pictures in this case do not speak a thousand words unless the words those you'll see on the internet of this inn are to be considered lies from the start.

Do not spend the money it is far from worth it!!!!! in fact any price would be to much for the experience here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mendon hotels

Brattleboro, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at at this hotel for the first time this weekend, and it was fabulous! The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was clean and cozy, the breakfast was delicious, and we loved the pool and hot tub. The location was great for viewing fall foliage, and it would also be the perfect spot for a ski vacation. We were there for a couple's get away weekend, but we plan to return for a stay with our daughter because they have some great rooms for families and the staff was very family-friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I find this hotel difficult to review. I didn't like it, but objectively it has everything you may need.

My expectations were for a resort type hotel in the mountains with a lot of activities time keep us occupied in the evenings after a hike.

The reality was that it is a good few miles from Killington resort and there's no information in the hotel regarding trails, maps etc.

Negatives : it really needs a revamp. On the photos it looks seventies quaint. In reality it looks seventies tired. It has a games room, but it is in a dark and tatty basement. The hotel felt unmanned most of the time. The bar was closed. The pool was okay,but it was a bit shabby around the edges.

Positives. When there were staff around they were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the bedrooms were big and comfortable.

If I was on a long drive through Vermont and wanted a hotel late at night, I'd stop here. For a base for a holiday, I'd seek somewhere a little less tired with more facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Actually the accomidations shouls really only have cost me 60 bucks. There was never anyone at the service desk, there was hair in the shower and on the floor, the breakfast was all do it yourself. Its a nice idea, but the seventies have come and gone. There are also no vending machines and no dinner options in the hotel or within 15 miles.. but at least there was one hbo channel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was in Killington, VT to attend a wedding, and I reserved a room mainly for sleeping, and to get ready for the function. I thought the room was very clean, the bathrooms were a decent size in a standard room (two queen size beds), flat screen television with 30 channels, balcony, desk and closet. There was also an indoor pool (10 feet deep at its deepest), a whirlpool, game room, and gym, which was super nice because I absolutely love swimming, not so much working out though. The beds were the most comfortable ive slept in at a hotel, and they were soft. Since this time of year is their off season in Vermont, there were only about 8 rooms rented out, therefore the tavern downstairs on the basement level was not operating, nor was the on site restaurant. The walls were a little thin, as I heard the Television from the room over word to word, but a little white noise never hurt anyone.

There were only 2 things that bothered me: The front desk attendent wasn't very helpful with my bill, I reserved online but didnt realize they gave you a discount for being a AAA member until after I reserved. When I was checking in, I asked her if I could get the discount, but she said "because you ordered online, all bills are final, and we can't refund any money". I don't know how truthful that was, but I went with it, some what perturbed.

The other problem was the continental breakfast. I think that because it was their off season, it was limited, but when we saw the breakfast, my guest and I sat down, looked at eachother then got up and left... we needed something a little bit more substantial. Plain bagels, 4 kinds of cereal, one waffle maker, fake maple syrup, butter, jam, orangles, cofee, juice, oj. It just didn't work for a night of drinking at a wedding. Luckily for us Sugar & Spice a local breakfast and lunch restaurant was only 3 miles down the mountain, and that will be another good review...

Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would definitely stay again, but book over the phone, and plan to get breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: hotel rooms not facing the main road are the best, quieter, and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fufu58
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Truly the most comfortable bed & sheets EVER !! OK - this is an older hotel in a ski resort area and we visited in July - the hotel is a real throwback to the 60's ski lodge. Super large public spaces, fireplaces and lots of seating. The man @ the desk was very nice, suggested a great restaurant. The room was large - and all newly done. In the bath, a basket full of Tom's of Maine goodies. Breakfast (which we didn't know was included) was spartan, but enough to get us on the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fufu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendon
0.1 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
0.8 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortina Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortina Inn and Resort

Property: Cortina Inn and Resort
Address: 5709 Route 4, Mendon, VT 05751-4435
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cortina Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortina Inn, located in Rutland/Killington is one of Vermont’s loveliest hotel and four-season destination resort, is centrally located in the Green Mountain State only minutes from the Killington and Pico ski areas and just a few miles from downtown Rutland. Here, experience the true meaning of “relaxation” amidst the awe-inspiring beauty of the extraordinary natural environment. Virtually everything you could want is within a few steps of your door, and you’re always welcomed by a friendly staff dedicated to your every comfort.Internationally renowned for offering guests the charming hospitality of a country inn with the splendid amenities of a full service resort hotel. Cortina Inn features 57 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, all air-conditioned and many with their own fireplaces. Tastefully and uniquely furnished in luxurious contemporary décor or charming country style, every room and suite provides enviable levels of comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cortina Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortina Hotel Mendon
Cortina Inn And Resort Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing