We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Budget Host Killington Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$148
$114
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Rutland)
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Rutland)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Rutland)
$89
$84
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
25
21
14
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
21
14
23
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 94 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2008

A run-down place, not cooperative staff, wireless didn't work, ugly open areas (specially downstairs), very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BEMI28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I've been snowboarding many times around Europe, (I'm English). I'd never been snowboarding in the US, and just wanted somewhere cheap to go, with my girlfriend. Read the reviews of Econo Lodge and we were a little apprehensive. No need. It was a really good place to stay. Staff did their job and were friendly enough. Our room was always cleaned with fresh towels every day. The room was large, clean, and everything we needed was provided, and worked. It was only 15 minutes drive to Killington, and we had no problems whatsoever. I would definitely recommend it to friends, and would stay there again, no question. Shame the cheap accommodation in Europe doesn't match what was on offer here in the US. See you on the slopes...

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I read these reviews before going and stayed at this hotel based on those reviews...what a mistake. There are only 2 reviews that I can agree with...the review about the unbelievable noise from people walking around the halls and upstairs...and the review about the super rude front desk staff that will verbally attack you if you walk in with more than 2 people and will want to charge you and be stingy.

Here is my review. I stayed there this New Year's Eve.
This hotel should be torn down. It is very old and nasty. There is MOLD all over the bathroom. The noise is UNBELIEVABLE. You can hear people turn on the light switches in the rooms next door. All night and morning we heard every single person walk down the hallway outside. We heard every footstep above us. We heard a dog scratching on our door in the middle of the night before it started barking. The wall paper was peeling off the walls in the room and the breakfast room. The breakfast attendant pushed the trash down in the waste basket with her bare hands and then grabbed pastries with her bare hands to organize them on a tray...WHAT A HEALTH HAZARD...in addition to being disgusting. Checked out early after staying the required 2 of 4 days.

Ended up moving to the Cortina Inn up the road. It is much homier, not much more expensive, and has an incredibly nice staff.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, owner at Budget Host Killington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

Our wall paper, paint and furnishings were two years old at that point. We are a 2 Diamond AAA property. They moved to a 4 Diamond hotel, which they said was “not much more expensive” when in fact it is usually twice our rate. They obviously had much higher expectations. We believe they complained so much just to get out of their cancellation policy, which by the way we did not charge them the last two nights.(We make notes on the folios in case we ever need backup, as in this instance) We also believed that they were embarrassed by the fact that they were questioned about the number of people in the room. They reserved two and two children, the children were in fact adults. The reference two negative reviews but do not mention that the majority of the reviews are positive.

It was in fact New Years Eves in a Ski Resort, unfortunately it can be noisy, we try and control as much possible.

Just because we are an Economy Property does not mean we have cleanliness issues. On our QAR (old scoring system) prior to their visit we received a 960 out of 1000 and the QAR following their visit we received a 94.9 out 100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

The first time we stayed at Econo Lodge Killington was because there were no other rooms available for a last-minute ski vacation. We were very wary of staying at an "Econo Lodge" but were pleasantly surprised. It was nothing like I had pictured at all. In the winter, the lobby is so warm and cozy with the fire going. It is just like a smaller ski lodge and not a chain hotel at all.

Our family has been to the Econo Lodge Killington several times and were always impressed. The property is clean, both inside and out. The staff have always been helpful and patient. The rooms are a good size and always very clean. We do request top floor rooms due to the noise above us factor, but that is minor compared to the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kemts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I stayed hre with my wife in a off season October and to tell you the truth we were a little sketchy because we at first were the only ones there at an early time. the outside has much to be desired. It is tucked away off a main road and looks like it needs work. The lobby and entrance have a homy feel and a fireplace and snack area welcome you. This hotel has more to offer than most 5 star hotels including a goody bag upon check in and a computer for all to use with internet access. The rooms for the price are gigantic and have so much room, you could fit a large group of people in there. They are very clean and comfrotable. The staff was welcoming and there is even a library of books for all to read. there is a hot tub on site and a game room. I would defintely stay in this place again. It is about 10 mintues from the Killington Ski areas and close to Rutland and other attractions. For this price, I would highly recommend it. Other hotels next store were going for a lot more and looked like dumps.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews