We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, good location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Budget Host Killington Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I've been snowboarding many times around Europe, (I'm English). I'd never been snowboarding in the US, and just wanted somewhere cheap to go, with my girlfriend. Read the reviews of Econo Lodge and we were a little apprehensive. No need. It was a really good place to stay. Staff did their job and were friendly enough. Our room was always cleaned with fresh towels every day. The room was large, clean, and everything we needed was provided, and worked. It was only 15 minutes drive to Killington, and we had no problems whatsoever. I would definitely recommend it to friends, and would stay there again, no question. Shame the cheap accommodation in Europe doesn't match what was on offer here in the US. See you on the slopes...

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JohnFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 94 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2008

I read these reviews before going and stayed at this hotel based on those reviews...what a mistake. There are only 2 reviews that I can agree with...the review about the unbelievable noise from people walking around the halls and upstairs...and the review about the super rude front desk staff that will verbally attack you if you walk in with more than 2 people and will want to charge you and be stingy.

Here is my review. I stayed there this New Year's Eve.
This hotel should be torn down. It is very old and nasty. There is MOLD all over the bathroom. The noise is UNBELIEVABLE. You can hear people turn on the light switches in the rooms next door. All night and morning we heard every single person walk down the hallway outside. We heard every footstep above us. We heard a dog scratching on our door in the middle of the night before it started barking. The wall paper was peeling off the walls in the room and the breakfast room. The breakfast attendant pushed the trash down in the waste basket with her bare hands and then grabbed pastries with her bare hands to organize them on a tray...WHAT A HEALTH HAZARD...in addition to being disgusting. Checked out early after staying the required 2 of 4 days.

Ended up moving to the Cortina Inn up the road. It is much homier, not much more expensive, and has an incredibly nice staff.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, owner at Budget Host Killington Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

Our wall paper, paint and furnishings were two years old at that point. We are a 2 Diamond AAA property. They moved to a 4 Diamond hotel, which they said was “not much more expensive” when in fact it is usually twice our rate. They obviously had much higher expectations. We believe they complained so much just to get out of their cancellation policy, which by the way we did not charge them the last two nights.(We make notes on the folios in case we ever need backup, as in this instance) We also believed that they were embarrassed by the fact that they were questioned about the number of people in the room. They reserved two and two children, the children were in fact adults. The reference two negative reviews but do not mention that the majority of the reviews are positive.

It was in fact New Years Eves in a Ski Resort, unfortunately it can be noisy, we try and control as much possible.

Just because we are an Economy Property does not mean we have cleanliness issues. On our QAR (old scoring system) prior to their visit we received a 960 out of 1000 and the QAR following their visit we received a 94.9 out 100.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

The first time we stayed at Econo Lodge Killington was because there were no other rooms available for a last-minute ski vacation. We were very wary of staying at an "Econo Lodge" but were pleasantly surprised. It was nothing like I had pictured at all. In the winter, the lobby is so warm and cozy with the fire going. It is just like a smaller ski lodge and not a chain hotel at all.

Our family has been to the Econo Lodge Killington several times and were always impressed. The property is clean, both inside and out. The staff have always been helpful and patient. The rooms are a good size and always very clean. We do request top floor rooms due to the noise above us factor, but that is minor compared to the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kemts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

I stayed hre with my wife in a off season October and to tell you the truth we were a little sketchy because we at first were the only ones there at an early time. the outside has much to be desired. It is tucked away off a main road and looks like it needs work. The lobby and entrance have a homy feel and a fireplace and snack area welcome you. This hotel has more to offer than most 5 star hotels including a goody bag upon check in and a computer for all to use with internet access. The rooms for the price are gigantic and have so much room, you could fit a large group of people in there. They are very clean and comfrotable. The staff was welcoming and there is even a library of books for all to read. there is a hot tub on site and a game room. I would defintely stay in this place again. It is about 10 mintues from the Killington Ski areas and close to Rutland and other attractions. For this price, I would highly recommend it. Other hotels next store were going for a lot more and looked like dumps.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed at this lodge for three weeks and it was great in all areas. Great staff and facility and was just what we needed. The central location to hiking and other areas of Vermont and New Hampshire we needed to visit. was one of the reasons we selected it. We were not sorry. Great stay

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hikingbradfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed at the Econo Lodge, Mendon, Vermont in July, 2007. The services were very good. We have stayed at the lodge before. The lodge has a homey attmosphere, continential breakfast and great view. I love the mountains.

While at the lodge my family had a family reunion on the grounds of the lodge. We were able to use the facilities of the lodge. We say first hand how another traveler was assisted when he had problems in his bathroom. When he made the staff aware he was immediately move to another room and given a discount for his inconvenience. I know this only because I was standing at the destk when it happened.

The staff was pleasant and most accomadating. I also used the computer that is available to all travelers. The furnishings are attractive, landscaping nice and above all the rooms were clean, neat and spacious.

Thank you, David and Cindy Mudgett, DeLand, Florida

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mountains_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

My husband & I just returned from a week's vacation at this hotel. The place was very clean & well kept. We were very impressed with the room we booked. Everything was clean & just right. The staff was very professional & courteous. Housekeeping replenished our room with soap, shampoo, coffee, filters & cups everyday. We would definetly recommend this hotel to our family & friends. Any questions we had about the area was answered by the staff. Thank-You for making our stay pleasant & enjoyable.
Diane & William Perez

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrooklynVacationGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mendon hotels
1.4 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
0.6 mi away
Killington-Pico Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
The Vermont Inn
The Vermont Inn
#2 of 3 in Mendon
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Clover Inn & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Cortina Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Killington Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Killington Lodge

Address: 4293 US Route 4, Mendon, VT 05701-6806 (Formerly Econo Lodge Killington Area)
Location: United States > Vermont > Mendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mendon
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Killington Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Budget Host Killington Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Killington Area Hotel Mendon
Econo Lodge Mendon
Econolodge Killington Area
Mendon Econo Lodge
Budget Host Killington Lodge Vermont/Mendon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing