We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pie In Sky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
Yardville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pie In Sky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently had our second visit to this Bed and Breakfast and loved it so much, The first time we had our wedding there. This time was a semi honeymoon. Foliage in the area was gorgeous, so many things to go see on a daily basis, so many nice places to have meals, The breakfasts were all homemade many with the owners home-grown fruits and vegetables, There was such a variety of people staying here and everyone was so very friendly and interesting. We love it here and intend to come back for many more visits. Thanks to Jay and Jude for a wonderful trip to Vernont.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in two of the large bedrooms and both were unique and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Jude and Jay are fantastic people. We felt very welcomed and taken care of. The breakfast was superb and totally homemade with love. The conversation interesting and passionate. The Bed and Breakfast is beautiful and we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TamaraBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed here in January 2011. I used to live near hear back in the 80s, and it is a quite a beautiful location all year round (except perhaps mud-season). It was my first trip to Vermont in 13 years and it just happened to be the coldest weekend in 2 years. It was 20 below outside, but inside the B&B everything was warm and cozy. We sat by the huge soapstone stove in the Living Room, and didn't notice any chill. Considering how cold it was outside, it was quite pleasant inside, with none of the drafts and cold floors I remember from living in Vermont. Even though this is an old rambling farmhouse, it has been well modernized to keep out the cold while keeping its original charm.

Breakfast was served on the sun porch -- 15 below outside, but radiant heat from the floor and the sun streaming through the windows. Did I mention how good breakfast was? Wow! A Delicious soufle, bagels, fresh fruit, etc... I asked for green tea, and there were about a dozen varieties to choose from. Only bad thing I can say about breakfast is that I probably ate too much, but that meant that I didn't need more than a snack for lunch.

Hosts Jay and Judy were a pleasure. They seem to have a knack for knowing how to be chatty when you want to have a conversation, and how to leave you alone when you want to be by yourself.

My room was immaculately clean, quite spacious and comfortable. One entire wall was lined with books. The rooms don't have private baths, but there aren't many rooms. They rent out all the rooms with the living room, kitchen and sun-porch (with a hot tub!) as an apartment. This seems like a great deal if you need a large space with multiple bedrooms.

Besides the lack of a private bath, the only other caution I would mention are that the bedrooms are upstairs, so this is not a good place to stay if you can't handle stairs. Also, it is a couple of miles to the main road. In the winter the road to the B&B is plowed, but it probably is not the best choice for first-timers driving on snowy backroads.

I highly recommend Pie-in-the-Sky!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDSF96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I've been coming every year for the last five years, and hope to maintain this winter holiday tradition for years to come. I settled on Pie in the Sky after having tried several other B & Bs in the area. Jay and Jude are superb hosts, the breakfasts are to die for, (and will keep you going for most of the day), and nothing beats coming back after long hours of skiing for a soak in their jacuzzi. One year I caught a cold right before arriving, so instead of a more active vacation weekend, I ended up lounging in the sunroom and reading in front of the wood stove in the living room for truly healing and restorative experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

My husband and I, sister and brother-in-law spent two wonderful nights at Pie In The Sky, where we were greeted by a llama and herd of goats before entering our own private suite complete with kitchen, living room, dining area, sun porch and three comfortable bedrooms. The hosts were wonderful, the food delicious and we couldn't have been happier. This is country at its best and we would all recommend this B & B to anyone seeking peace, solitude and starry nights away from city lights.And did I mention the beautiful fall color all around us?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockeabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed for a night in this beatiful nature-surrounded B&B. The centennial house was cozy and calm. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. They served us a delicious breakfast with incredible ginger scones. Yummi!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMDtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

Absolutely a wonderful, peaceful, beautiful place to stay. The owners are kind and interesting and can provide many suggestions for restaurants, cultural events, etc. We ate at the River Run restaurant in Plainfield (yum!) and the Main Street Grill (so-so). We'll definitely be back! [--]

Helpful?
1 Thank travelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
10.6 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
11.2 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Inn at Montpelier
Inn at Montpelier
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 93 Dwinell Rd, Marshfield, VT 05658-7129
Location: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast and Retreat welcomes you to visit us and stay for a while in our quiet, comfortable Civil War-era Greek Revival 18-room farmhouse. We're located in the middle of the rich cultural zone of North Central Vermont and perched just on the edge of Vermont's wild and beautiful NorthEast Kingdom. Enjoy our spa and greenhouse in complete privacy while gazing out on beautiful views and many gardens. Take a short walk down our hill to visit a large beaver meadow and bird sanctuary (where moose occasionally appear in the spring). Help us feed the sheep outside the barn -- Or, in winter season, go sledding, snow-shoeing or cross-country skiing on our 100 plus acres. Often, there are excellent groomed trails off the snow machine trail that runs the length of the land.Pie in the Sky is an easy-find -- only a mile and a third off northern New England's major east-west U.S. Route 2. We're 13 miles from Barre, the “ Granite Capital of the World”, 14 miles from Vermont's capital, Montpelier, and 20 miles from St. Johnsbury, Vt. We are close to Goddard College, and we are the closest inn to Groton State Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing