We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marshfield Inn and Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marshfield Inn and Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

After 32 years of travelling between VT & ME my wife & I decided to try a winter get away at the inn we had passed by so many times. With plenty of land available for snowshoeing and just a short trip by truck to a trail head for snowmobiling we just finished up a wonderful week-end. For us the internet made up for the lack of cell service that is apparent along the route 2 corridor in parts of VT. Breakfast is very good and is a bargain at the menu prices. We chose to eat on site as we were thoroughly satisfied the first day and saw no reason to go elsewhere. We noted that the rooms were clean and well maintained for a facility that was built in the 60s. Central to St. Johnsbury to the east and the state's capitol, Montpelier to the west there is much to see and do from this location. The view out the windows of each motel room is grand. I can only imagine what it is like during a bright sunny day during peak foliage. My wife and I are all ready making plans to return for a foliage week-end. Our hosts Tracey & Diane are very friendly and we felt at ease right off.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VermontNETraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
29
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Placed next to the scenic route between Montpelier and St. Johnsbury, the Marshfield Inn makes for a pleasant and reasonably priced stopover while touring the area. I stayed there on a particularly quiet Sunday night, and slept soundly. Don't forget to order the homemade granola with your breakfast, the best I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 965Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We know breakfast is the most important meal of the day! Happy to get you off to a good start, and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were looking for a dog friendly establishment relatively close to Dog Mountain. Approx 1/2hr away is this very nice motel. Rooms are old-timey motel but clean and comfortable. Dogs are allowed in two rooms at opposite ends. We were definitely made to feel welcome, fur and all! The best part was the lovely grounds. My dog and I enjoyed the hillside walk and the gardens and the walk down to the river. Hosts were friendly and were full of suggestions re local places to visit. The breakfast is an extra charge and the breakfast room is small. I really loved the coffee they served. The room was approx $90 with dog and three occupants which we thought was a good value. Will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deniseo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Why a Great Place to stay while venturing in the Beautiful State of Vermont. Tracey & Diana are Very accommodating & Sweet Hosts. Very reasonable rates, and a Great Breakfast at a reasonable price. The rooms were clean & Cozy. A lot of neat places to visit within a comfortable driving distance. This area is very beautiful & scenic, especially with the leaves turning. My wife & I will definitely be returning to this area again & staying at this very place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gulftraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay here! Sharing the many sites and tastes of our area with our guests is one of the best things about being innkeepers. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Approaching the Motel you are traveling along the scenic untainted beauty of Rte.2...along the winding Winooski (Onion) river...Scenic views with fields of fireflies at dusk! Northern hospitality by the owners (Tracey & Diana), amazing local festivities & many places to commune back with nature...Anything from kayaking, hiking, or peacefully watching the sunset or sunrise from the Adirondack chairs viewing the breathtaking Green Mountains~ Get lost in the splendor of the many back roads where you see more wildflowers, streams (fly fisherman's dream), and old dairy farms & if lucky deer, moose & assorted wildlife~ Highly recommended with clean comfy rooms, delicious homemade breakfasts served in the historic house by the owners themselves! A lovely getaway, anytime of year! If in the colder months, bundle up and ski, snowmobile, iceskate or snowshoe! A true gem, with pristine Vermont air and water~ You will find peace & tranquility.

Room Tip: They have a few 'pet friendly' rooms for those who travel with pets! :) And #9 or #10 are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurelover_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
So glad to hear you had a good time. It sure sounds like you made the most of your visit to our beautiful part of Vermont! We'll look for you this winter for some snowshoeing and skiing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Our local $99 La Quinta is better in every way than this place. I can't understand how so many people gave it 5 stars. Maybe it's five stars compared to a buggy tent or a $50 motel. This is the first place where I kept my luggage off the floor because I worried about possibility of bedbugs though I didn't see any. However the room was buggy and hot. Thankfully there was a fan. The only pluses I can mention is that they accept dogs and that there was a fridge. It is also kind if noisy since people hang out on chairs outside their rooms.

The person who worked at the desk when I was there was perfectly nice but didn't seem to know much about the area.

I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your overnight stay with us. Perhaps at some point we will be able to air condition the rooms, but for now fans and window screens are an imperfect situation, especially during a record heat wave and rainy summer.

My partner and I do most of the cleaning and do our best to provide spotless conditions, even in our pet-friendly rooms. And, we are happy to encourage quiet time after 10 p.m. should the need arise. We take your feedback seriously and will continue to re-evaluate ways to make our motel a more satisfactory experience for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

There is no way to overstate how great this place is. It's clean, comfortable, affordable, and gorgeous. The views can't be beat. The owners are friendly and helpful. I wish we had been able to stay another night or two.

You know those old '40s and '50s motels you see near tourist areas? The kind that must have been nice 60 years ago, but are now so run down that they give you the creeps just imagining how gross they must be inside? The Marshfield Inn is proof that, yes, those places were once quite nice. Basic accommodations, but spotlessly clean and well-cared-for. The grounds are covered with lovely flowers. The breakfast (which costs just a few bucks extra) was very tasty.

It's so nice that I'd go out of my way to stay here again. I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lazlotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey H, Owner at Marshfield Inn and Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the view and beauty of our gardens. It makes our work feel so worthwhile. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marshfield
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
9.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
19.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Montpelier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pie-in-the-Sky Farm Bed & Breakfast
9.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshfield Inn and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshfield Inn and Motel

Property: Marshfield Inn and Motel
Address: 5630 US Route 2, Marshfield, VT 05658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet country accommodations on 37 acres convenient to both Montpelier and St. Johnsbury. It’s the perfect relaxing stop-over after a busy day of travel, or a comfortable place to settle for a few days while exploring Central Vermont or the Northeast Kingdom. Get a good night's sleep in the 8-room motel, then enjoy our homemade breakfast in the Main House in the morning. We have a couple rooms that are pet-friendly--just let us know when you reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing