We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant trip in the Way Back Machine”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marshfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marshfield Inn and Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Marshfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a motel right out of the 50's, but it has been kept up and updated very well. The rooms are spacious and very clean. A small table and chairs adds to the comfort of the room. There is no coffee-maker, though there is a small refrigerator. Wi-fi is available and very functional, though we could not get cell phone reception at the motel. The hosts set up the Inn's foyer for delicious breakfast service which is quite reasonably priced, and offers a great deal of variety. The location was ideal for us as we had planned hikes in the area, and this was right in the middle of our drive plans day to day. It also sat right off Route 2 with a glorious view across the valley. The hosts were helpful in selecting possible dinner spots in nearby Montpelier. Also their website offered lots of good tips for things to do while visiting in the area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being in the motel side; these rooms are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Marshfield Inn is a welcome getaway from the hectic day-to-day living; it is quiet and you are surrounded by incredible natural beauty all around. Marshfield is a small town, with few options for eating. The owners of Marshfield Inn are friendly, always greet you with a smile and you can sense their pride in taking care of the inn and its surrounding propertly - from the colorful deck chairs in front of each room, to the flower box outside each window to the well kept property. A deliciious breakfast is served every day during the week with the exception of Thursdays for a few extra dollars. Good for singles, couples and family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We made the mistake of traveling in Vermont without a reservation at a motel or inn. And it started to get late. And we were very tired. We drove out of St. Johnsbury on Rte. 2, heading east, and saw little in the way of accommodations, started to worry! And then, lo! out of the mist, a sign: Marshfield Inn and Motel. Our weary selves had found a bed for the night, and at a very reasonable price. We would've settled for almost anything at that point...so imagine our pleasure when we found a very clean, modest, comfortable room, updated yet cozy. In the morning, we sat outside and watched the mist lift across the grounds and across the river and felt utterly peaceful and rested. The grounds are gorgeous--if you are a gardener, you will be inspired and if you are not, you will be delighted anyway. The innkeepers are sweethearts: kind, welcoming, professional. They have done a perfectly beautiful job with their little 8-room motel.

I have traveled in Vermont before and stayed in inns and B&Bs, which can be pricey and a bit precious. The Marshfield is the real deal at a great price. LOVED IT. Highly recommend it to any traveler who really wants to experience true Vermont scenery, comfort, and hospitality.

They do have breakfast for a very small fee. They have free WiFi. Dogs are allowed in two of the rooms (so you might want to reserve ahead). We will be back. Love, love, love!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A late 19th century farm house with modern motel units attached located on US Rte 2 half way from I-91 and Montpelier. Well kept by friendly Innkeepers who have done a nice job with accommodations and breakfast.

Room Tip: call 802-426-3383 in advance. All motel rooms very good sharing mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Len R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stopped with no reservations, and were given a room. The view from outside our room was incredible, and the whole atmosphere was total relaxation. In the morning we had a great breakfast (which costs a little bit more since we stayed in the motel section) and all the tables in the dining area joined in group conversations of why they were in Marshfield (3 were there because of a program at Goddard College right down the road) and the rest were traveling like us.

Room Tip: Our bed was a tad too hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Traveling with our Mini~dacshund, this was a great place to centrally locate in North~Central Vermont. Beautiful Historic Home and cozy rooms on a knoll looking at tree covered hills and rural fields and meadows. Delicious breakfasts at a very reasonable additional rate.

Room Tip: Eating out in the evening can be a challenge, but we went into Plainfield for gourmet pizza 2 of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonishel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

After a car breakdown and a poor motel im Montpelier the local car dealership recommended this place just 14 +/- miles north east on US 2.
We picked up the repaired car (after 2 1/2 days since breakdown) on a Friday evening. Not wanting to continue too far at night with some lingering uncertainty of the repair state this was far enough to go.
We were pleasantly surprised with a warm and wonderful greeting and a quick check in at a reasonable price. Although built in the 50's the motel section was very clean and spacious and was obviously well looked after, nothing was shabby. We stayed for the breakfast the next morning (served in the Inn reception area between 8 and 9) The pancakes and maple syrup were great, the endless coffee was obviously a premium blend and well prepared.

A very simple, clean and delightful experience.

Fog in the area that morning was preventing us from seeing the whole landscape but it seemed very picturesque.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sansail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marshfield Inn and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshfield Inn and Motel

Address: 5630 US Route 2, Marshfield, VT 05658
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Marshfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marshfield
Price Range: $70 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet country accommodations on 37 acres convenient to both Montpelier and St. Johnsbury. It’s the perfect relaxing stop-over after a busy day of travel, or a comfortable place to settle for a few days while exploring Central Vermont or the Northeast Kingdom. Get a good night's sleep in the 8-room motel, then enjoy our homemade breakfast in the Main House in the morning. We have a couple rooms that are pet-friendly--just let us know when you reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing