We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience with staff and hygiene”
Review of Casablanca Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casablanca Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience with staff and hygiene”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was one of worst places we stayed ever, there was a big uncleared permanent mark in the comod , live spiders lying around in the house, the blankets were smelly and unclean, the staff was Terrible in dealing with a kid and started to point a kids tantrums as mistakes and blaming he kid for damaging the property, where it was a single line of pen on the wall which can be washed away.

Classic America old ladies running this sloppy business model, no phones in room , no breakfast, and no hospitality sense at all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
While we're so sorry you claim to have had such a bad experience with us, we have to question why, when asked upon check-out how everything was with your stay, your stated everything was fine and you had a nice stay.

It wasn't until later when a damage fee was assessed due to the deep & prolific pen scribbles later found by housekeeping, over several of the walls in the cabin that this review appeared.

If we could attach photos of the pen marks here, we would. This guest did admit that the scribbles were the handiwork of their child but felt it should have been considered 'normal wear & tear' and that 'these things happen'. We love kids and we know that things happen now and again but this was certainly above and beyond normal wear and tear.

Once again, we feel these guests did not do their homework. We think they thought the Casablanca Motel was a luxury accommodation based on their comments upon check-in. We do not offer breakfast nor the two king sized beds in one room that this guest thought they were getting. We invite you to check us out online. You will see that we are a quaint, clean, country CABIN property offering a chance to experience a simpler way of life reminding us of days gone by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    47
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
102
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is a true gem, the individual cabins are nice and quiet and the owners
are lovely people and always very helpful. We would highly recommend this place. We will be back! Manchester is a beautiful place as well and it has a very nice surrounding. We just love it!

Room Tip: You have the choice between approx. 10 differently themed cabins. We like cabin no. 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckyman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are sincerely glad to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what the Casablanca Motel has to offer. Come again and try a different cabin if you'd like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience at the Casablanca Motel! Linda was super friendly when I booked the cabins and was helpful when we got there and were looking for dinner options. The cabins were clean and accommodating. Nice to have a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. We arranged with Linda to have a bonfire and they had it already lit when we got back from dinner. There were all kinds of games to play like badminton, volleyball and horseshoes and we brought stuff to make s'mores in the fire pit. They provided the sticks and were super attentive about the fire and checking to make sure we didn't need anything. There was street noise in the morning(Monday rush hour?) but we would 100% stay here again-great experience!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstpittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed the cabin experience. We enjoyed having you and always appreciate when guests get out of their cabins and play lawn games and enjoy the full extent of what we have to offer here such as the lawn games, evening fire pits, screened gazebo and more.
Thank you for telling others about your experience, we hope you come back for more and, bring more friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We loved staying in this old-fashioned style cabin community. Ten cute cabins with front porches, comfortable beds, coffee, lovely grounds. Was very quiet at night and close to downtown. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gugi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was doing a biking trip for the Vermont challenge in August of 2013 and was lucky to find a place to stay in Manchester at all due to my delay in looking. Fortunetly someone cancelled at the last moment ad I was booked in the Casablanca. This is a community of 10 small cottages. The cottage was exceptionally clean and well prepared. It had satellite TV and Wifi. IT had a really cool front porch which allowed us to meet fellow cyclists.

The best part of the whole stay is our hosts went and got us the best breakfast of the whole 4 day trip. They knew we were leaving early so we were greeted with the best fresh multigrain bread, bagels, bananas, yogart and juices with really good coffee.

anything we asked for they were more than happy to oblige.

I with out a doubt will return to this plae.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoots4themoon, Owner at Casablanca Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It's good to hear that you appreciated what we have to offer here at the Casablanca Motel. We find the community atmosphere of the single-room cabins to provide a great way to have your own private space yet commune with other guests at your leisure.

We enjoy what we do the most when all 10 cabins are filled with like-minded people, whether it be a family reunion, guests attending a wedding or a bicycle group such as yours. By your response, it seems you appreciated meeting other cyclists too.

A note for future guests that breakfast is NOT normally provided by us, this was a pre-arranged occasion and we were happy to accommodate.

If your group wants to stay and has a special request, please don't hesitate to ask. We be more than happy to see if we can accommodate your group too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a lovely night at this very cool comfortable motel. Way beyond expectations. slept like a baby, picnic tables, family friendly. Absolutely no complaints. We would stay here again.Did I mention you can bring dogs?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you're looking for a classic old-fashioned cabin experience, this is a great choice. The cabins and grounds are very clean and well-maintained, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is quiet and restful, and located not far from downtown Manchester and the outlet stores. The price is more than reasonable, and having a refrigerator and microwave in the room was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestrodicorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Motel

Property: Casablanca Motel
Address: 5927 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-9486
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Green Hotel in Manchester
#8 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From Main Street to the Mountains, A Simpler Way to Stay" Yankee Magazine calls the Casablanca Motel "Vermont's Best Retro Escape". What's the secret? Ten charming, restored cabins offering a vintage vibe with modern amenities, friendly innkeepers, and realistic rates , recalling the hey-day of American Travel. Whether seeking adventure, exploring the arts or looking to relax in the heart of the Green Mountains, the Casablanca Motel has it all. A year round destination with cozy, clean, comfortable cabins that are individually themed and freestanding with your own private porch and on site parking. Floor plans accommodate, singles, couples and groups. Each private cabin offers Free Wifi, Individually controlled Heat/AC, flat screen DirecTV, full bath with tub & shower, daily housekeeping services, radio alarm clocks, hairdryers, microwave oven , dorm size refrigerator and 4 cup coffee makers with New England coffee, teas and condiments. Pets are welcome in select cabins. Enjoy our 3 acres of grounds with fire pits, screened and lit gazebo, lawn swing and gardens, horseshoe pits and walking trails. Located one mile from the center of town. Your all fun, no fuss Vermont getaway is waiting for you at the Casablanca Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing