We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a Great Place to Stay”
Review of The Barnstead Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barnstead Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Barnstead Inn as part of a trip to photograph fall color in New Hampshire and Vermont. My room was impeccably furnished, with a beautiful fire place for heat. The room was generously sized and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

The location is great as downtown Manchester is only a short, pleasant walk away. I cannot wait to make a return visit and recommend the Barnstead for anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: I was in the The Lowell Lake Lodge Room. I will be requesting that room again when I return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 204 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This last weekend was at least the third time we have stayed at the Barnstead, and it is always a great stay-neat, clean with beautiful, peaceful surroundings.....Wish we could have stayed more days-next time for sure! And Neil, it was nice seeing you again-we plan on coming up during the winter this time!!

Room Tip: Green River Room is excellent-good location, quiet and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this incredible wonderful place...and wish it was much longer!
Innkeepers Neil and Cindy are one of the most helpful and friendly people you would ever want to meet!..rooms are incredible...clean...well maintained and close to town.
Property is just like presented in the advertising...we highly recommend this property....and have a grand time!

Room Tip: all the rooms are well located and the grounds are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liliana93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights (Aug. 31 and Sept. 1, 2013) during the Labor Day long weekend at the Barnstead Inn and we were so happy to see that the place looked exactly as presented in photos on their site! Super sweet and cute little paradise. It was exactly what we wanted for our mini vacation. The owner Neil was very friendly and gave us recommendations for places to have good meals. The property is also their private residence, so you can see and feel that every detail of the inn was meticulously selected and put together as they would their own home -- from the 150-year-old basket cover that adorned our door to the roof boards he has to painstakingly search for to match the original. Oh and the precious vintage Coca Cola machine right outside our room! It works! You really do feel like you are a guest in their home. We were upgraded from a regular room to a suite (The Lowell Lake Lodge) that even had a remote-controlled fire place and we were very grateful. Everything was so visually pleasing and relaxing.The bed was very comfortable and huge. Everything was spotless inside our room and around the property. We also enjoyed a brief swim in the pool. The grounds had many spots to sit and relax and just enjoy the greenery. The location is excellent and close to factory outlet shops. We spent time visiting the covered bridges in the area. It was just perfect! We will definitely stay there again! Excited to recommend this place to family and friends!

Room Tip: No fitness center but there is a pool! Other tips! For great places to eat do not miss The Perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPTraveler5447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is amazing how quaint this property is and how well every little outside space is used and inviting. We spent two nights at the Inn during a recent trip to Manchester. We were able to use the pool ( complete with floats) and also enjoy the grounds. The beds were very comfortable and the owner and staff friendly and accomodating. We had a twelve year old with us and it definitely met with her approval. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagicWeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a great stay at the Barnstead Inn over Labor Day weekend. The Inn had a very rustic feel, but with all the modern amenities. One of the best parts was the location; the Inn is located within walking distance to Manchester Center. It was so nice to park the car and walk to the shops and eateries. The innkeepers were very accommodating, pleasant to talk to, and were always around if we needed anything. The heated pool was great for one last summer swim, and there were endless amounts of relaxing places to sit around the grounds (Adirondack chairs of course!). The room we stayed in was very clean, quaintly decorated (loved the fly fishing decor!), and quiet. We would have loved to stay a few more nights. We definitely recommend staying at the Barnstead Inn and want to come back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Photos online are great to go off of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cait S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have now stayed at the Barnstead Inn three times in a year when we travel to Vermont to visit friends. Neil and Cindy are very welcoming and we love going back there. The rooms are very clean, there is great information available about all of the local attractions, and it is within walking distance of town so you don't have to worry about parking in Manchester Center, which is tricky on a good day. Now that we have outgrown being able to stay with our friends, we definitely consider this our Vermont home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCO1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
2.5 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 17 in Manchester
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#5 of 17 in Manchester
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 17 in Manchester
695 reviews
5.9 mi away
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barnstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnstead Inn

Address: Bonnet Street, P O Box 988, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $135 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstead Inn sits in the perfect Vermont setting. A short stroll and a you will enjoy shopping and dining on Manchester's Main Street. If your desire is to remain at the Inn there is plenty of seating available around the grounds. There is a screened in Gazebo set into a beautiful flower garden. A great place to relax or enjoy a comfortable rocker on the front porch.Free wireless internet access available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barnstead Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing