We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barnstead Inn Never Fails”
Review of The Barnstead Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Barnstead Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I go up annually every October and stay at the Barnstead Inn for a long weekend. We started staying at the Barnstead Inn in 2007 when we got engaged while hiking Mount Equinox Burr & Burton trail. We go back every year and Cynthia and Neil are tremendous hosts. Great accommodations and easy access to dinner spots, Stratton, and Bromley. Looking forward to our next stay.

Vanessa & Michael

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 203 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Barnstead Inn is a charming, clean Inn with wonderful hosts. The Inn is in close proximity to the center of Manchester but remote enough to allow the view from the pool to include the mountains, a pond, and beautiful garden. Cindy and Neil are happy to accomodate any requests/questions and help make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMC613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Barnstead is extremely clean & has the most comfortable king sized mattress that we have ever slept on. Rooms have a warm comfortable ambience. Innkeepers Neil & Cindy are very friendly & knowledgeable about the area. Neil even gave me a tip on dealing with a basic electrical problem.

The grounds are well maintained with lovely gardens. The Inn is far enough from the road & provides a quiet atmosphere. Also, it is a reasonable walk to the center of town.

Highly recommend this Inn & can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCW838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just had our 6th stay at the inn, and every year it is a pleasure!! Clean, comfortable, updated rooms, beautiful gardens, and just a short walk to shopping and restaurants make for a most enjoyable stay. We always look forward to seeing Neil and Cindy and catch up on what's going on in Manchester and at the inn. If you're looking for a great place to stay, check out the Barnstead Inn! We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed one night in the Witherell Farm room and absolutely loved it. Neil and Cindy are very gracious hosts and are very helpful, especially if you're visiting for the first time. The location is close enough to walk to Main Street (lots of shops and restaurants) but it's set back enough to be quiet and relaxing. The Witherell room is ground level but set off from the main building. It has huge windows and gets fantastic morning sunshine this time of year. You can even park your car right outside the front door. Manchester is a small and very pretty town. There's a ton to do and we only regret not staying longer than one night. However, in just the 25 hours we were there we managed to shop at the outlets, eat at three restaurants, visit a farm, walk around Emerald Lake and sample awesome cheese. None of this felt rushed. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaisonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The grounds around the rustic Barnestead Inn immediately suck the stress right out of you. It feels very "rural" and removed from the town yet is one of the few area inns within reasonable walking distance of several breakfast, lunch and dinner establishments and retail shopping. Innkeepers Neil and Cynthia are very down to earth and Neil (a local) can tell you where to eat or what to see if you didn't do you homework. Our room, The Witherall, was part of an outbuilding with two or three floors (can't remember). Our room was on the ground floor with parking immediately outside our private entrance. Bonus: There was a small refrigerator/freezer unit located in a "mudroom" outside our room door. The Witherall is large with plenty of windows and light. The bathroom was roomy although nothing fancy. Room decor was rustic with exposed beams. The King bed was very comforable and we slept well. Room included two nice upholstered sitting chairs and rustic furniture. AC unit was effective. The indoor-outdoor type carpeting was dark and not the most attractive - but it was definitely clean and probably necessary for a room with a private entrance right off the grounds. Towels were on the rough side but this is not a four star hotel and not going to clean out your checking account. It's about overall value. Would we stay here again when in the Manchester area? Definitely!

Room Tip: As with any small independent inn or B&B, learn as much as you can about the rooms you are consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parrot434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been staying here for over 30 years and the inn is only getting better! The grounds are in beautiful shape and the new out buildings add just the right touch to the property. The rooms are the cleanest and up to date. The entire feeling here is just " relax and enjoy " and that is what we do. The owners are always ready to help with any request we have and give whatever is needed to make the stay a pleasurable one. The Barnstead is a great value and an asset to the lodging industry in Manchester. Keep it going.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffee196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
331 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barnstead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barnstead Inn

Address: Bonnet Street, P O Box 988, Manchester, VT 05255
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $135 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barnstead Inn sits in the perfect Vermont setting. A short stroll and a you will enjoy shopping and dining on Manchester's Main Street. If your desire is to remain at the Inn there is plenty of seating available around the grounds. There is a screened in Gazebo set into a beautiful flower garden. A great place to relax or enjoy a comfortable rocker on the front porch.Free wireless internet access available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Barnstead Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing