We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute classic...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
355 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“An absolute classic...”
Reviewed August 23, 2008

For the second year running we stayed at the Inn at Manchester, and were again completely delighted. Frank and Julie are genuinely gifted when it comes to hospitality -- the welcome is warm and the attention to detail is perfect. The rooms we know there are large, bright, nicely-furnished, and comfortable; breakfasts are very good, and when the bar opens in the evening we like to take our glasses of wine out onto the large lawn and sit under the tall trees.

The Inn is really good value for money too -- when we factor in the pleasant rooms and surroundings, and what would otherwise be the cost of breakfast, the rates are really reasonable.

We've already booked for late summer of '09 and can't wait to go back -- may even look for an excuse to visit there some time in the Spring. It's one of the finest places we've ever stayed --

  • Liked — The welcome, the rooms, the setting --
  • Disliked — That we had to go home at some point...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    49
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
74
357
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Just left this fantastic Inn nestled in the foothills of the Green Mountains and we had a great time. The owners go out of their way to assist you and the rooms are clean, bright. and spacious. It is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The gracuious owners
  • Disliked — We had to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This was my third stay at the Inn at Manchester, the Hanes', Julie and Frank, are like family now. The Hanes' got it right, the Inn is one of those old beauties, not spoiled but updated with all the amenities one needs. The suites are all different, yet all beautifully decorated and fitted with great mattresses, pillows and linens. The feeling you get while hanging in any of the common rooms; the dining, living or bar room, is a feeling like you belong...there is something quite magical about the ambiance, the art work, and the staff.

Frank, Julie and their helpers did everything they could to make our stay the best ever. Some of things they helped us organize were: We played golf at the Golf Club at Equinox, they are the sister course to Royal Troon in Scotland. We went to the Southern Vermont Art Center and saw their terrific installations, exhibits and gift shop. We had lunch in Dorset which is worth a peek, like going back in time. And ofcourse no trip to Manchester would be complete without a little shopping! I love the Orvis Flagship Store with the pond in the store, can always find something for the tough to buy for men on my list!

So needless to say, I will be going back...I would highly recommend you give the Inn at Manchester a try! You will not be disappointed!

  • Liked — The ambience and the owners!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 123458-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We recently had a short one night stay at the Inn in Manchester. The Inn is conveniently located in the village of manchester, which is our favorite spot for factory outlet shopping.

We made a change in our vacation plans and wanted to change the date of our reservation. As is the custom all with bed and breakfasts, there is no refund if one cancels within 2 weeks of the date. However, Julie, the proprietor, accommodated us by providing us with a last minute room as we unexpectedly showed up at her doorstep. She was also very helpful by calling the other hotel and making the change for us.

As we made this last minute switch, we were not given the room which we had originally booked, however we were very grateful for a room! Our room was in the guest house behind the main building. It was cheery and pleasant with a nice king sized bed. The bathroom only had a shower and was on the small side, but adequate. The Inn itself is very pleasant and there are muffins, cookies, and coffee and tea available at all times which is a lovely feature! Breakfast was cooked to order--eggs, or cheese omelette, whatever your fancy. We had oatmeal, which was nice and cold cereals are also available. We will definitely return to the Inn at Manchester.

  • Liked — very lovely pool in the back
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dentgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Manchester on our first trip to Vermont. Frank and Julie (with adorable dog Chai) greeted us warmly upon arrival and offered excellent advice for dinner. Our room was beautiful and comfortable with a nice sitting room attached. The bathroom was very small, but it was not a problem. The grounds are very nicely maintained and give the Inn just enough buffer from the street. Frank's breakfast's were stellar - I still can't quite forget the hamsteak. All in all a wonderful, relaxing B&B experience. We were made to feel very welcome and appreciated and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobschmenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We were driving from Toronto to New Brunswick, and while passing through the U.S. we wanted to spend one evening in Vermont. Hearing that the Manchester area was nice, we booked a one night stay at the Inn at Manchester, based primarily on its Tripadvisor ranking. It seemed like it would be a nice place, but to be honest we did not give it a lot of thought.

Manchester did turn out to be a lovely area, and our one afternoon in the region was far too short. However, the nicest surprise of our stay was the Inn at Manchester. What a welcoming and homey inn. We were greeted by Ellen, who was incredibly friendly and assisted us later on with dinner reservations. The room was very comfortable. The setting with picture postcard perfect. All in all, everything one would want.

We had to leave early the next morning (6:30 am), long before breakfast was ready. But Frank, one of the owners, made sure that we were sent on our way with fresh coffee.

Whenever I think about my past stay at a hotel or inn, I always ask myself if it is somewhere that I would look forward to stay at again, and if I would recommend it to others. When it comes to the Inn at Manchester, my answer to both questions is an emphatic yes. We will make a point of returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skeezixtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Stayed for one night in the Sage Suite. This is a beautiful inn with a gorgeous property, very close to town, and the owners are SO warm and friendly.

The Sage Suite is great because it's very private and quiet, has its own balcony, a large bathroom, fireplace, and jacuzzi tub. The decor is very peaceful and lovely. This inn is absolutely immaculate and well cared-for. The towels smelled clean and fresh, the water pressure was good and hot, and she sheets on the bed were some of the softest I've ever felt. Breakfast was very good- you help yourself to coffee and tea and there was orange juice, french toast, and sausage. I asked for an egg and they quickly prepared one for me. The dishes that they serve breakfast on are beautiful. I love the Green Mountain Coffee, too.

I would highly recommend the Inn at Manchester and will stay again next time my travels bring me to Manchester.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing