We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed the Inn at Manchester. With 18 rooms, it was probably the largest B&B we stayed in but it still felt homely and welcoming. The Inn is set in large, open grounds with a lovely swimming pool. We stayed in the separate red barn building and our room was hige with two large beds and a lovely bathroom, albeit there was only a shower. The seating/TV area is separate from the sleeping area which was nice and the place was absolutely spotless.

There's tons of parking and the hosts were fabulous. Very friendly and helpful. There's a little pub where you can buy virtually anything you might want to drink which is nice as the Inn is a 15 minute walk from town. That said, thee's a bar/restaurant just across the road (Mulligans) although we found the food there disapointing and the bar lacking in atmosphere. Seasons Restaurant on the walk into town was much better.

The best attraction in the area as far as we were concerned, was Hildene, the Lincoln family home. We really enjoyed our visit. Id say the outlet stores in Manchester are very overrated. Many carried pretty low quality stock so don't go there hoping to have a spending spree. The Orvis store is great though and go to the American Museum of Fly Fishing which I found much more interesting than I would have expected.

Overall, this was by far the best B&B we stayed in and the cooked breakfasts we great. If I was to be critical, my only suggestion would be a add a fruit course at breakfast as many B&Bs do and whichwe particularly enjoy but that's all I can think of.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the separate block which feels really new and I suspect is quieter than the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    49
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
75
360
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield Center, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We are about to have baby #2 and this was a great place to get away for a couple nights and attend a friend's wedding. Julie was just the nicest person and very welcoming. At first I was worried about staying on the first floor, but our room was spacious and there really was very little noise. The breakfast in the dining room filled you up everyday and I was blown away by how far they went to make sure everything was delicious and exactly what you ordered. Their house specialty, cottage cakes, were amazingly unique and we brought the recipe home to have again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

9/21/2012. Picture perfect crisp fall weather. Imagine the most comfortable, hospitable B&B to make you feel wanted and special. Julie and Frank made us feel like family ; not guests. THis is one of our best traveling experiences in years. We highly recommend the Inn at Manchester.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our stay at The Inn at Manchester was an absolute pleasure on all counts. The property is beautiful, the Inn is lovely and comforting in its carefully chosen decor, and the owners - Julie and Frank - are exceptionally welcoming. Special kudos to Alice, Brock and Kevin - the staff that did everything possible to ensure that our stay was the best it could be. We will definitely return - hopefully sooner than later.

Room Tip: Carriage house is a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverheadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great people, great place. made us feel right at home. We love the area and thought if we were to visit again this is where we would stay. It was a good choice. Plenty to do or a great place to do nothing at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lostrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The first thing you notice as you drive up is the expansive property with lots of green. The Inn stands out in this environment. The Inn itself is well kept and charming. We stayed in the Lavender Room with a king bed. Very comfortable. Frank, the owner, is also the chef and the breakfasts are excellent. The Inn is close enough to the town to walk to the shops, but not too close that you feel entraped in traffic. I highly recommend what I think is an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm not normally a fan of B&Bs (if I wanted to stay at someone's grandmother's house, I would), and I'm a cleanliness nut when it comes to hotels. The Inn at Manchester was a fabulous surprise on all fronts! It definitely felt more like an inn than a B&B in the sense that we had total privacy and the owner was friendly and helpful without breathing down our necks. The room was IMMACULATE and beautifully decorated, and the bed was outrageously comfortable. Best night of sleep I've had in a hotel in years. We thought the staff was lovely, the breakfast delicious, and overall had a wonderful experience! We were in town for a wedding, but would definitely return for another stay if we find ourselves in the area again.

Room Tip: Sweet William in the Carriage House was private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
302 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
311 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#2 of 12 in Manchester
407 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#3 of 12 in Manchester
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing