We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, and a warm welcome -- as always --”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Manchester
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buda, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Cozy, and a warm welcome -- as always --”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are lucky enough to make it to The Inn at Manchester about once a year, and the visit that ended today was better than ever -- Frank and Julie, the innkeepers, make us feel as though we are among their favorite guests, and I would bet that *a lot* of people leave with that same feeling. The main house is spacious and well-arranged; there is a second building, a renovated barn, with very nice large rooms that were rebuilt within the past year or so. Breakfast is great, served in a group of sunny and pleasant rooms, and we also like the bar (surprise!) -- you can have drinks indoors, out on a couple of porches, or out in comfy Adirondack-style chairs under tall trees. We've always found our rooms quiet, comfortable, and eminently sleepable; the surrounding village offers a lot of shopping, a good nearby art center, and a dining scene that seems to get better by the year (try the Silver Fork, just up the street, and Brasserie L'Oustau, to the east on the way up to Londonderry). The Northshire Bookstore is not to be missed, and there's always Orvis... but the main point here is that the Inn is the perfect base for exploring all of those options. We started doing our Manchester visits here several years ago, when another local hostelry more or less dropped the ball, and we have never looked back --

Room Tip: Wood Lily suite is a good choice in the summer, as it's on the north side, and Primrose is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    50
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
77
364
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frenchtown, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Although we had stayed at the Equinox on a previous visit to Manchester, we tried the Inn after looking at a bunch of alternatives online.

We stayed in the Wintergreen room with our teen daughter and it was really the perfect accommodation for our family's sensibilities. Just the right amount of luxury/elegance and privacy, plus the convenience of having the pool just downstairs.

The breakfasts were great, and I appreciated that they were included in the room rates. The Hanes family and all the staff were very friendly and helpful (when it came to recommending hikes and restaurants). Unlike some other area establishments, not stuffy or snooty.

We liked the Inn so much we are planning on making it a annual trip...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

From the moment you arrive until you say goodbye, Innkeepers Frank & Julie are so warm & welcoming making sure that your stay is everything that you hope for. The inn itself is charming with little sitting areas & a bar to enjoy & a beautiful pool with meticulous grounds that are beautiful & tranquil. We played cribbage sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch after a fabulous breakfast of "cottage cakes (these were a unique delicious cross between an omelette & a pancake- google it to get recipe) & sausage" (cereals, fruit, & eggs any way you like them are always available) along with orange juice & perfectly brewed Green Mountain Coffee. Our room & bathroom were squeaky clean with the most comfortable mattress, sheets & pillows that we can ever remember sleeping on (we bought a set of sheets from Julie & she told us where to buy the pillows- when's the last time you bought a set of sheets from a hotel or inn?) I highly recommend The Inn at Manchester in the beautiful village of Manchester, Vermont with so much to do close by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBoothbayCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our anniversary in August. The Inn was beautiful with homey touches such as cookies, coffee,tea and bottled water available all day and the most amazing sheets I have ever slept on. Very friendly owners, made us feel very welcome. The grounds and pool were beautiful and we enjoyed our morning coffee on the front porch. I love that the breakfast area was large and provided small tables for those of us that wanted some privacy. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! we stayed in the attic and found it very quiet. I did wonder how noisy the lower rooms were since the stairs are creaky and people were coming and going constantly. We loved the inn but didn't love the area, a little too country clubbish for us.

Room Tip: Get a top floor in the main house or carriage house, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassanach_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Plains, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This by far was the most beautiful stay we have ever had while traveling, Julie, Frank and family could not have been better, the genuine home feel we received right as we walked through the door until we departed was amazing. We are headed back to stay in October and cannot wait.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Manchester early this summer. The Inn itself is beautiful and the owners Julie and Frank couldn't have been more welcoming. They are such a nice couple. We stayed on the first floor, which was a bit noisy because of the bar, but the room was very comfortable and clean. It was one of the best beds I've slept in!
However, I felt that the environment of the inn was very uncomfortable. I'm not sure who the people were (either other guests or just friends of Julie and Frank's) but we definitely got glares and I felt like I was being looked at up and down. I've never ever had this anywhere I've stayed (and I've traveled the world). It was so uncomfortable that we spent as much time outside of the Inn as possible. Judging from other comments, this was probably a one-off experience, but I think worth mentioning.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Manchester on August 2nd. Very nice property, close to everything in Manchester. The staff was delightful and we were made to feel at home. We stayed in the "Thyme" room. A little small,but all other rooms were booked. Very clean and comfortable. We will be going back in the future. Beautiful Grounds .Nice sized pool. Pleasant innkeepers. breakfast was great, my wife had the Vegetable Omelette, I don't eat eggs and the waitress was more than happy to bring me something else. The bed sheets were heavenly, my wife purchased a set for our bed at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Manchester

Property: The Inn at Manchester
Address: 3967 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manchester Village, this accommodation has 21 rooms and offers a full breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Manchester Hotel Manchester
Inn Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing