We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a day or more”
Review of The Red Sled

The Red Sled
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Sled
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Mechanicville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a day or more”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Have stayed at The Red Sled many times and enjoyed it each time. The pool is great and very clean, as are the rooms and the entire property. Enjoyed the outdoor fire at night, a grat way to meet other travelers. Looking forword to our next stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Capital District, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My husband and I took a spur of the moment trip over Memorial Day weekend and we came upon a quaint little motel named the “The Red Sled” in beautiful Manchester, Vermont. We had a wonderful experience. Our room was lovely; it contained everything that is important to me. It was spacious; it had very comfortable mattresses; a clean, well kept bathroom with plenty of hot water; a flat screen TV; and a view of the mountains that left me feeling serene and relaxed. I was surprised to see our room even contained hand crafted furniture. Before retiring for the night we sat on the motel’s back deck (overlooking the pond, fields and mountains) and enjoyed the wonderful fresh air of Vermont.
There is a lot to see and do in the Manchester area and I’m hoping to bring my kids and grandkids back sometime soon. The outdoor pool was being opened for the season and will surely be a big hit with the kids.
Mary Beth

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynlady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amenia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2011

The place is a dump,heat sucks, cleanliness is a hit and miss. owner is elusive, and gone quite often. Not worth the money !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebond49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Owners were not present during the stay of this guest due to a lease agreement. Owners returned in June and were greeted by an intolerable mess to clean up.
We hope we have done a great job and would welcome any return guests.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This was the WORST motel experience I have ever had. We called to book the room that day and the manager/ owner knew we were driving up in one of the worst storms in years. We got there at 11 pm plus the owner knew we had been driving for hours. He lied to my boyfriend saying the heat was on and the room was warm. We got into the room, the heat was all the way off and it was literally 50 degrees. It took an hour to heat up, since it has old electric baseboard heaters. As I tried to get warm under the covers, I was welcomed by a huge, disgusting black fly in the sheets! The next morning I woke up to NO hot water for a shower and then proceeded to wait 2 hours for a plow to come. It had snowed over 2 feet and even at 9 am (Stratton opens at 8am) a plow still had not come. We had to dig/ push ourselves out by hand, because of course there was no shovel or help from the owner. When I called to reason with the owner and ask for a refund he proceeded to, get this, yell at me saying that the heat was on, there was hot water, that I should have said something the next morning and not that night and on and on. (Of course he never mentioned not plowing.)

Completely unprofessional, on top of the place being uninhabitable!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneEP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Red Sled, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
We are sorry, but the heat and hot water were both working fine as we knew you were coming. As for the weather conditions: we have no control over and no matter how many times we called the plowing contractor, it was a case of "when I can get there" due of course to the horrendous unexpected amount of snowfall overnight. Our apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have been staying at the Red Sled for a number of years for leaf peeping and skiing weekends.. We find it to be a good value compared to other motels in town. We were dissapointed when they closed for a couple of winters. The rooms are exceptionally clean. Flat screen t.v.s and indoor and outdoor pools. The pond is nice also for fishing and to have campfires at night. Just had another great weekend there and can't wait to go back for skiing this winter.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kunkletown,pa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

It smelled really bad. No hot water in the sink. Beds were good, though for a motel. Very expensive for a motel. Not worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at The Red Sled, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
As in a previous response: Our business had been leased to a company totally uncooperative in maintaining the standard of the facility they had leased; causing their guests constant anguish and reflecting adversely on the owners after they regained the property. Litigation ensued with the owners prevailing a second time.
We can only apologize to the writer and hope they will consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2008

The red sled is a great place to stay for cheap. It is only a mile from Manchester Center and has an indoor and outdoor pool. There is also a trout pond stocked with huge rainbow trout that rival Orvis. Not the most upscale place but not bad for a few nights.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank VTROCKS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Sled? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Sled

Property: The Red Sled
Address: 2066 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-4464
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Red Sled 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Red Sled reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing