We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Apps in a Cozy Setting...”
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The owners of the Stamford recommended we check out the Ye Olde Tavern for dinner one night during our Manchester stay. My boyfriend & I decided to stop by for dinner on Saturday night, but unfortunatly for us the restaurant was full (we should have known better & made a reservation). There happened to be 2 spots opening up at the bar, so we decided to stay & start our evening with a couple cocktails & appetizers. The atmosphere in the area near the bar was so wonderful. It's a smaller room with crackling fireplace and makes for a cozy & inviting space to spend some time after a long day skiing. We ordered the Crab Stuffed Mushrooms & the Bakes Brie/Almond appetizers and they were both outstanding! We were also served Cranberry Fritters with Maple butter and they were fantastic as well, Ive been craving them since I got home from our trip. I look forward to trying the Ye Olde Tavern for a full dinner the next time I visit Manchester.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TripFantastic56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary note of your visit to Ye Olde Tavern. I hate it when we have to tell a potential guest that we do not have any tables available, but when we take a reservation, it is our promise that you will have a table at your requested time. Luckily for us you sat at the bar and had a wonderful experience. We hope to have the privilege of having you again with us in the near future. Cheers! Michael

P.S. I will have to drop a note to the Stamford Motel thanking them for sending you to us. Karen and Adam are great neighbors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 786 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed an early dinner at the Tavern and was able to get a deal on dinner even on a holiday. I had the baked scallops with green beans and sweet potatoe ( the veggie portion was skimpy but tastey)...the scallops were wonderful. Companion had the regular salmon dinner which was done nicely. Dinner included a nice salad with house dressing and my special came with dessert - i chose the apple crisp which was small but delish. In addition we shared a bottle of wine and was able to take the bottle with us to finish off later at the Inn we were staying at...nice.

Thank SaratogaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

I would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful Valentine's experience & dining with us. I appreciate all the feedback and will discuss it with our staff. Thank you once again and I look forward to your return. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Try the rolls with maple butter, brie encrusted with almonds. Mostly meat, poultry, fish dishes but also offer vegetarian dishes.

Thank IluvHoratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Reading your review was a great way to start the morning. We strive to offer a variety of entree selections, so all our guests have something they would like. Thank you so much for visiting and greatly appreciate the review. See you next time. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

In Nov of 2008 I wrote a review of Ye Olde Tavern and titled it "We will Return". Well in October 2012 we did return ( all the way from Minnesota ) and had another great experience.
We like historic places, places with character, good food, good service, acceptable cost for all things considered, good parking, clean etc and Ye Olde Tavern continues to "fit the bill". I don't know when we may return but we do love New England and Manchester VT so we may return again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StillwaterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

You promised you would return and you did ,thanks. I appreciate all the kind words and noiticed in your previous review you gave us 5 stars and this time only 4. All of us at Ye Olde Tavern are always striving to be the best,, so what could we have done to earn that 5th star? Once again thank you for dining with us and taking a moment to write a review. I look foward to welcoming you back again and again! Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at Ye Olde Tavern while visiting Manchester Vermont for her birthday weekend. The food and service were excellent. They had a very nice wine list and the prices were quite reasonable. I enjoyed the prime rib which is offered as a special on Friday and Saturday.We had a cozy spot in one of the smaller rooms.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

First of all let me wish you a very Happy Birthday and many happy returns. Thank you for your kind review and dining with us, Our aim is always to exceed our guest’s expectations from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. I will pass on your compliments to our teams regarding the service, food and wine. I look forward to sharing your next special occasion with us. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing