We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Romantic Dinner in Manchester”
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Romantic Dinner in Manchester”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We were in Manchester for our 41st anniversary and wanted to find a nice place to celebrate.

The folks at the bed and breakfast where we were staying recommended the Olde Tavern and we were very happy that we took their suggestion.

The atmosphere is that of a 18th century roadhouse with the decor contributing to the sense that we had stepped back in time.

The food was very good with the portions being big enough to satisfy even my hearty appetite.

If there was a down side, and it's a small one, the table we had was too tiny to fit all of the plates, glasses, etc that came with our meal. So my suggestion is that even if you're only a "two" ask for a larger, four seat table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Happy Anniversary! It is great to start a Sunday morning with a review like yours. I am happy to hear you took your Innkeepers suggestion and spent your evening at Ye Olde Tavern. It would help a lot, if you could tell me where you sat, so I can look at the table arrangements more carefully. Thank you for the fine review and dining with us. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    238
    85
    33
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madera, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived late, but the staff was friendly and cheerfully served us. The restaurant was built in 1790, and the original wooden floors are still in place. The food was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NPTk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Regardless what time you arrived, service is supposed to be consistantly friendly, cheerful and attentive, I am delighted to hear that our servers are making their guests feel welcome.. It is also nice to hear you enjoyed the food and building. Hopefully the next time you are on the East Coast, you will join us again for dinner. Thank you for the review and of course dining with us!. Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Food and service were excellent. Friendly staff. We loved the bread and cranberry fritter that were standard. Brussels Sprouts were a surprise too. Neat little place, we had the Duck and the Chicken Pot Pie. Very good! The 1790 Taproom Ale was delightful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I love the title of your review. Wow, it says it all. Thanks for dining with us and taking time to write a review. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiamesha Lake, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We ate here the last night in the area , if we ate here first we would have gone back again. Great food & service with a wonderful atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DonKrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for the review and dining with us. Your review says it all and it made my morning! Hopefully you will be back in Vt. in the near future and able to dine with us again. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good not great”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Made reservations two months ago for a party of 5. Explained we were celebrating a special birthday and requested a nice table. We were seated inside the doorway in the bar area on the slanted floor where you have to sit at an angle to be level with the table. OK it’s an old building but I wasn’t impressed with the ambiance of the dark bar with my seat facing the front door. Ordered a martini and got one of those ¾ size martini glasses. Most restaurants give you the little side car to go with it, but not here. After dinner drink was a courvoisier served in a nice glass but certainly a regulation shot of exactly 1 oz at the very most. There is nothing more disappointing than a lousy pour. I had the pumpkin soup. Flavors were good but it wasn’t hot and it had some lumpiness to it. I ordered the Hunter's Style Pasta which had smoked venison and port wine sausage over pasta with sun dried tomatoes and olive oil/parm cheese. The sausage had a few pieces of gristle that I had to spit out and put on my plate. The ingredients didn’t seem to blend as a recipe, it was more of each piece was separate from the other on the plate. The sausage was sliced in nickel size pieces and the cheese wasn’t blended, more of just sprinkled on top cold and tossed and the food was pretty much room temperature. My sister had the duck and only ate half because the meat didn’t fall off of the bone and she didn’t want to pick at it with her hands. A friend had the house special of lobster mac and cheese and said it was excellent. Service was good, the wait person was a woman who had a chef’s jacket on and was clearly working the kitchen since the jacket was food stained. She was friendly and attentive. The price for my entre was $21 which is a tad high for sausage and pasta but acceptable since I am assuming it was house made. The ambiance was not what I expected or hoped for from looking at the website. The drinks were disappointing. Service good. Would I go back? Not sure

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PACneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your dining experience. I am sorry to hear you disliked your evening with us. I take every review very seriously and will go over each comment with the proper person in the restaurant. The table you sat at is one of the most requested tables in the building, If you were unhappy with the table selection, you could have asked us to take you to a different table. Our drinks might be in a medium size glass, but I guarantee you they are the most ounces you will find in Southern Vermont. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal, I wish you had mentioned it ,when you eating, we would be happy to make you something new. All of our server's wear chef coats, we are trying to be a little different, it is very close to an old steakhouse waiters coat. All that being said, I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your evening and hopefully you will try us again. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing