We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and traditional vermont feel”
Review of YE OLDE TAVERN

YE OLDE TAVERN
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The place is rustic with a lot of history, but well kept and clean and with a traditional Vermont feel. They gave us a very private booth which was nice. Our waitress was very nice and helpful with suggestions. They usually require reservations but if you are seated prior to 6pm, they offer a fixed price menu for around $16 which is a pretty good deal and you don't need reservation. The meal included 2 cranberry/corn fritters with maple butter, warm bread, house or ceasar salad, entree, and a small dessert. Everything was very good to excellent. I had the Pork medallions and my girlfriend had the turkey with sausage gravy. The apple crisp dessert was so-so, and not very "crispy". Stick with the ice cream (I splurged the extra 75c for choc fudge). We also ordered the french onion soup with vermont cheddar as an extra appetizer to share. It was excellent. My only complaint is that it could have used more of that yummy vermont cheddar.
We liked the maple butter so much that we bought a jar to take back to Florida.

    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mauri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INLUVWITHVT, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful evening at our historic tavern I hope that the rest of your stay in Vermont was as nice. Please tell all of your friends about us. Thank you for dining with us. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 968 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have been several times and are always very happy. The food is fabulous and the service is outstanding. Everyone is friendly and anxious to please. This has become our favorite restaurant in Manchester.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeeinVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INLUVWITHVT, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

It is wonderful to hear of your great evening at the Tavern. Next time you dine with us, please introduce yourself. I look forward having you dine with us again. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The food was amazing. They start you off with cranberry fritters and amazing maple butter, the warm bread that follows was equally delicious. I had the chicken pot pie and my husband had the filet, both cooked perfectly. This is a must go to restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VirginiaTravelinMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INLUVWITHVT, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you very much for the kind words. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful evening. Please tell all your friends about us and I look forward to having you dine with us again. Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Which if you knew my husband, he hates cooked carrots. We went to this restaurant on a friend's recommendation. The cranberry fritters with maple butter were delightful. I had the lobster bisque and my husband had the seafood cakes for appetizers. I won the entree contest with the walnut uncrusted pork tenderloin with maple buttercream glaze. He had the steak which was also excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank siodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INLUVWITHVT, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2011

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for dining at the Ye Olde Tavern. We look forward to having you dine with us again. Once again thanks. Michael Brandt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Ye Olde Tavern is a truly charming restaurant in a wonderful old inn house. They have a fabulous "early bird" menu from 5 to 6, but the entire menu is enticing and reasonable. Service is great and the food is delicious, from the breads and salads through the entrees and deserts. They serve old favorites like pot roast and chicken pot pie, but many contemporary dishes as well. My wife and I loved it. If you are in the Manchester area, give this place a try and you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CalcuttaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YE OLDE TAVERN also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to YE OLDE TAVERN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing