We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Perfect Wife

The Perfect Wife
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Amy's creative approach to combining ingredients results in an intriguing and delicious menu. Enjoy a memorable fine dining experience while relaxing in our rustic cobblestone walled restaurant and greenhouse garden room. Our broad wine list and extensive selection of spirits will provide just the right accompaniment for your meal. And as a reward for eating all your veggies, you should treat yourself to a delicious homemade dessert. Afterwards, feel free to stop in at our spirited local tavern for an after dinner drink or a game of darts, with live music in the tavern on most Friday evenings.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were told positive things about this restaurant. A reservation was made for a simple Birthday gathering. We were warmly greeted, nice beverage slections. We ordered 2 Apps and the Chef offered a 3rd realizing this was a special occasion. All three were great. 4 different entrees were ordered, 2 seafood, a Chicken and Lamb Special. The presentations were right out of Culinary Digest, including an edible flower on on a Seafood Dish. We started sharing because all the entrees looked so good. We were later presented a large Chocolate deseert, with candle and 4 spoons. It was devoured. The evening was topped off by Chef/Owner Amy introducing herself and thanking us for coming in. This compares closely with my my only other "Most Favorite Dining Experience" at NOLA's by Emeril in New Orleans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    114
    61
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The place to be in Manchester on a Friday Night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This place is a shining star in a town that seems to go to bed with the sunset. They have both a fine dining restaurant and a pub that offers the option for grabbing something simple or going the distance! Best of all, they bring in live music very regularly (something sorely missing from Manchester VT in my opinion). Word of warning...being so great has it's pitfalls as sometimes there are long waits, but they have a full bar and friendly staff so we always end up hanging out and waiting because, lets be honest: where else are we going to go that is as great as this place?! :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beer selection, friendly staff, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by the receptionist/concierge at our hotel. This place was filled with character and charm. We sat outside in a beautiful evening breeze. They have a restaurant and a tavern that hare the same kitchen. Big price difference. The tavern food was excellent and reasonably priced. The bartender and waitress were super cool and friendly. I would definitely go back again especially for the beers and the BBQ brisket sandwich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wsayejmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“actually went to the Other Woman ~ the tavern ~ fun place, great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great experience. We had to sit at the bar for a few minutes for a table and while there we enjoyed conversation with our bartender.
So many options to pick from, especially for a salad lover. My friend had the fish taco, I had the Bisto grilled chicken breast on a toasted ciabatta bun...delish...especially the herbed aioli, and crispy fried onions.
They have music some nights - but we didn't get a chance to stay!
Great experience!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I were visiting friends in Manchester and we were looking for a nice comfortable relaxing place for dinner for the four of us. I had heard good things about this restaurant so we decided to try it. We were seated in what looks like an atrium with a nice view of the back yard. Our waitress was very friendly and very attentive. We loved how the menu had different fare from what you'd fine in most restaurants. I had the Peking duck and pancakes and salmon for an entree. My wife had the spinach salad and the turkey for her entrée. Both were extremely delicious. Our friends enjoyed their meals too. Other than the drinks being a little pricey everything was perfect. My wife wants to return for our next anniversary. I couldn't agree with her more

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Perfect Wife also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to The Perfect Wife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing