We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always WONDERFUL!”

Mistral's at Toll Gate
Ranked #28 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Berkshire, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have been dining at Mistral's for almost 20 years and it has always been a wonderful experience. The food is simply delicious and Dana provides a fabulous gormet menu with daily specials. His lovely wife Cheryl is the hostess and manages the restaurant with elegance and grace. Cheryl and her staff treat every customer as if they have known them forever, and the food is always worth the drive from the Berkshires. Mistral's has been my family's favorite dining establishment for almost 20 years and counting...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    32
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Intimate Dining”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is not a family restaurant, so leave the kiddies home and enjoy a romantic dinner with your significant other. The ambiance in the first room with the waiting bar is the most intimate dining experience in southern VT with excellent and professional service, innovative and fresh menu. This is a very special place for sure with a great view of the river in the rear of the building.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, VT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A special place.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Mistral's has been one of our special occasion choices for many years and we always wonder why we don't go more often. The setting is romantic next to a beautiful mountain stream and the food is always fabulous. Don't miss the coffee ice cream dessert - has been the same for 20 years, but it's always, always amazing.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank VTfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey but Very Good”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

NYC pricey but very good food and service. We had a table overlooking the stream and the windows were open......very Vermonty. Nicely decorated and well maintained.

I'd rate this place a tad below Bistro Henry mainly because of the prices but can't beat the setting!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great location”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

While it's a bit out of the way as restaurants go, the location is actually quite incredible. You feel like you're in the middle of the woods. So the atmosphere is really unique.

What makes it even better is the fact that the food is truly fantastic. At least mine and my wife's meals were. The duck was one of the best I've ever had...truly. I could not have been happier with my meal. Perfectly cooked, incredible flavor, just the right portion. My wife's meal, the veal, was equally great. I was very impressed with our meals.

The wine list is excellent, awarded as well. A great selection to complement any meal. And some unique selections that you don't normally see by the glass. Desserts were excellent as well...and well worth saving room for.

Service was great, though it was a quiet night so I can't speak to what it's like on a busy night. But we felt very well taken care of.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistral's at Toll Gate also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
East Dorset, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Mistral's at Toll Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing