We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great French Toast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Up For Breakfast

Up For Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great French Toast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went on a weekday so didn't have to worry about a wait. I found the waitstaff to be fast and friendly. The french toast with pecans, roasted bananas and chocolate chips was so yummy...definitely couldn't finish the whole portion. The maple cinnamon coffee was really good as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank minnowhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    170
    72
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great New England Diner Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Quintessential New England Diner offering classic family food at a reasonable price with smile. We were a group of 7 sport motorcyclist who needed a hardy breakfast and a hot cup of coffee- and we were not disappointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprilia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
164 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food was OK. Price tag was not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have to agree with some reviewers below, nothing was bad except the check. But nothing was really a "wow" either. Some items sounded intriguing: ordered a rabbit sausage side which was lovely, but it was just one, thumb-sized, split sausage for $4.00. I'll sell you 10 bunnies for less. Many of the breakfasts were upward of $10.00. For eggs?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tasty, but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place had a lot of great reviews on Yelp, so we were excited to try it on our way out of town. We were not disappointed, but it did WOW us, either. It was a bit cramped when we came in, though we were happy to wait for a table because it made us feel like it would probably be a good spot. The staff seemed a bit disorganized and chaotic, though they were friendly.
I ordered the Cajun frittata, which was described as an open-faced omelet. It came with an English muffin on the side, I was not given a choice on that. The frittata was topped with artichoke, andouille sausage, cherry tomatoes and provolone cheese. These toppings were delicious, and the cheese was melted just right on most of it, though on one side, it was way overdone to the point of being inedible. The egg underneath the toppings was ok, but not delicious - it just seemed stringy, rather than fluffy. The English muffin was ok, but had been topped with so much butter I had to let it drip off before I could eat it (and believe me, I love butter and am not afraid to eat it in pretty large quantities, but this was too much even for me).
My husband ordered the Eggs Benedict, which apparently was a better choice. I did try the Hollandaise it came with and I was again not blown away - though it was certainly adequate.
Overall, I would rate this as average - not a "must see" but definitely a place to stop if you are in want of breakfast in the Manchester area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ph1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I passed this place several times while visiting the area and finally decided I needed to go there one morning for breakfast. As soon as I climbed the stairs and went inside, I knew that I'd love this place! I tried the maple latte, had a morning glory muffin, which was to die for, then ordered the Greek yogurt and slathered it with honey and had a side of maple-cured sausage. The atmosphere was great! Small-town friendliness and rubbing elbows with the locals while sitting at the counter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank agmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up For Breakfast also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Up For Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing