We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful updated clean Motel in Manchester VT w/ great hosts”
Review of Weathervane Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weathervane Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Acton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful updated clean Motel in Manchester VT w/ great hosts”
Reviewed November 18, 2006

Fifteen years have past since our return to Manchester Vermont to celebrate my 50th birthday and our reservation were made at the Weathervane Motel. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very energetic Murvetta who signed us in and offered us discount passes to Hildene, historic summer home of Robert Todd Lincoln in Manchester as well as restaurant recommendations. We were delighted to see the office entrance improvements and the upgrades to the bathrooms and rooms. Our three-day stay included pool time in a very clean pool and we enjoyed great conversation with our hosts, Murvetta and Branko. The grounds have been manicured to perfection with almost enough room for a Little League Baseball game. The putting green we saw on our last trip was gone but who knows, it may return. And there little dog... what a joy, and so friendly. Overall our stay was more than enjoyable. We will return! Oh yeah, their recommendation of the restaurant "Jonathan's Table" we will return there too.
Scott & Jane Bill & Amber

  • Liked — Very close to shopping and dining
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sdv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed there last weekend. The place was fantastic and there no problems or hassles. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lazybugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

You have to remember Manchester VT has an upscale atmosphere that most of the B&B or hotels in the area match or attempt to match. This motel does not fit the pattern. It is a much restored old roadside motel, but it remains just that. My room was very clean and except for the door, everything in the room had been replaced or remodeled (carpet, ceiling, the whole bathroom , etc). I stayed three days with my kids, who think a Hampton Inn is the ultimate five star hotel, so we had a perfect time. Yes, I agree that the owners are friendly......but if you are looking for an upscale property to go on a vacation to southern VT, look somewhere else.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank urufenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staten island, new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

Our family stayed at the Weathervane for a week and it was great! We had four rooms in all and each was clean and well appointed. The rooms are decorated so much nicer than a traditional motel. The grounds are spacious and neatly maintained and there are tons of things to do nearby. We enjoyed eating breakfast with the owners, Branko and Murveta, in the dining room adjacent to the office. If that's not your thing you can bring your breakfast back to your room. Speaking of the owners, what can we say? WE LOVE THEM!!! They go out of their way to help you with any little thing that you need. One hot day, we were at the pool and Murveta brought us ice cold waters to drink. Another day, she overheard our son wishing for a bagel. The next day, and for the rest of the week we had bagels and cream cheese. We travel extensively and we put our Weathervane experience right up at the top of our list.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kandrmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

True, the owners are very friendly and helpful, so if that's your priority this place may be fine. We stayed in a deluxe room in July. The rooms, although large, are really outdated, -- as if the furnishings came from a 1980's hotel liquidator. The air conditioner was very old and noisy and the room or the air conditioner had a moldy smell to it. The room looked clean, but smelled musty. The curtains were very poorly hung -- and at the picture window we couldn't close the heavy curtains for privacy (although there were sheers that closed). I'm used to chain hotels like the Marriott, and this seemed drab in comparison. The pool was also old, with a plastic liner and white painted wood as the deck surround (instead of tile or concrete). Would not go back.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Monadnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2006

Spent 3 rainy nights here end of June. Had a 'deluxe plus' room with an added screen door in the back and a larger bath. Proprietors were accessible, responsive and friendly. Room was spacious and clean. Particularly comfortable beds. More than adequate breakfast offerings in the office/lounge in the morning. It's an older property, so there was a definite odor (musty?) upon entering the room which you no longer noticed five minutes later, til the next time you entered the room. It is set back from 7A, but there is heavy duty truck traffic on that road all day which definitely intrudes. Since the place was mostly empty during our visit, I thought the current rates (north of a hundred/day) were a little on the high side, but over-all would definitely consider a return..

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 26, 2006

My mother and I stayed at this lovely motel on our annual mother-daughter weekend. The owners were very pleasant and instantly we felt very welcome. The rooms were gorgeous-we felt like we were in a B & B with all the personal touches. Remote control fireplace, beautiful furniture. Although we weren't able to venture onto the grounds due to the pouring rain, they were quite lovely. All of the rooms have a back door that opens onto a beuatiful space that would be lovely for wedding photos! Nice landscaping and flowers. Pool that would lovely to use in warm weather and wonderful view of the mountains.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.3 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
312 reviews
4.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
234 reviews
2.9 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weathervane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Motel

Property: Weathervane Motel
Address: 2212 Main St, Manchester, VT 05255-4525
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Weathervane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set back from the road with two picture window in each of its 22 large rooms, this is a motel with class. Each air conditioned room has TV, free coffee, full, queen or king size beds, many with linens as fine as any upscale inn. Some of the rooms connect. There is a common area with Oriental carpets, antiques and an outdoor deck, overlooking the outdoor pool. Continental breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Weathervane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Motel Manchester
Weathervane Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing