We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home.”
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Our home away from home.”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stumbled on the Olympia about ten years ago and go back every year for multiple stays. While the rooms aren't fancy they are clean and comfortable. The downstairs common area is a great place to hang out after a day on the slopes. The large stone fireplace is a nice backdrop to the sitting area where we can relax and visit with other guests if we choose to. The bar and TV area is another popular area. We have gotten to know a few families that come each year during holiday weekends. The owners, Sal and Trish, are wonderful hosts and make you feel like family. They know the area and can give suggestions for dinner, shopping, or other nearby activities. I highly recommend this inn for any time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia L, Manager at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dave,
Thanks for the sparkling review!! We always look forward to your visits. Looking forward to seeing a lot more of you in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    48
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
73
81
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I just returned from a long weekend at Olympia. It was impossible to find a spot anywhere near the mountain last minute (long weekend & school vacation). A friend found Olympia and they could squeeze us in. We stayed 2 nights and were thrilled to be near all the things we love about Manchester. We have friends with a house close by so we are familiar with the restaurants and shops. Sal & Trish welcomed us and introduced us to new spots as well.
The check in was easy and being from Brooklyn, Sal enjoyed chatting us up before we went to our rooms. The lobby was still decorated for Xmas and Valentine's day but it gave the living room and its fireplace that extra charm. They have a small bar that Sal mans during the evening. We drove around to the side to enter our room #6. The rooms are immaculately clean but this is not a 4 star resort. The bathrooms and beds are all fine - what you fall in love with here are the people and the comfort of an inn.
Breakfast is included in your rate which by the way is not expensive. Sal creates delicious eggs, toast, pancakes etc. Their breakfast room is a nice little spot and they come around and announce the morning's offerings and make each breakfast to order.
At night we spent time at the bar getting to know the family. Sal & Trish live upstairs and have 3 girls who hang around and a gorgeous golden retriever. They shared funny stories and provided shortcuts, food advice and hilarious stories. If you are looking for a low cost spot with charm and a great location - Olympia is for you. With kids running around and a decent amount of families, I wouldn't stay here for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Make friends with Sal & Trish - your visit will be far superior:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepebrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal A, Owner at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hey Brie,
Thanks for the shining review!! It was great getting to know you guys; it's nIce to get alittle bit of home sometimes. We really enjoy the chit chat and storytelling at the bar, it keeps everyone laughing! (I promise not to tell anyone about the dead bolt or the toothbrush) When we get down to Brooklyn we will be stopping by your place for some new recommendations on places to eat!
Trish & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a President's weekend getaway to Vermont. This lodge is a really nice place to kick back and relax after a day's skiing. The owners Sal and Trish are warm and welcoming and make you feel at home. There is always a fire in the fireplace and a nice crowd of folks to talk to. The rooms are a bit retro, but immaculately clean and the beds are comfy. Definitely a place worth going back to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal A, Owner at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hey Mike, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! My girls miss your daughter and so do I. We are glad you guys had a good time. Our goal is to make the Olympia feel like a home away from home. See you again next Year!!

Sal & Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Clean, spacious rooms and gracious hosts made our stay at the Olympia enjoyable. We skied 2 days at Stratton, and found it a quick 20 minute ride to the mountain. Highly recommend for the value and location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sal A, Owner at Olympia Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Olympia!! We are happy that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable weekend! Hopefully, we can help you out in the future if you come back to Manchester!

Thanks,
Trish & Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This lodge is a jewel! Our room was clean and just what we needed. The lodge was beautifully decorated for the holidays! Sal makes a delicious breakfast and made us feel at home. Hope to return in the future! I did a lot of research into visiting the Manchester area and I couldn't be more pleased with our stay here!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room you would have a great stay. We were in an upstairs room at the back of the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtynurse522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I've been staying at this place since I was a little girl and Sal and Trish have definitely kept up the homey feel of the place! The rooms are clean and comfortable and it's a wonderful, quiet place to kick off your shoes at night and relax! Definitely come out of your room and mingle with the other guests in the main room in the evenings and spend some time with them! We feel like they are an extended part of our family and it wouldn't be a proper trip to Manchester Center without a stay in the Olympia! We wouldn't stay anywhere else! :)

Although you can get coffee at the hotel in the evenings, if you happen to pass the Maplefields gas station on the way back to your room, definitely stop in and get some great coffee and snacks there! If you see Deborah there, you will get some great info about the area and some wonderful conversation!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are a tad quieter since you can't hear the cars on 7a too much, and the earlyb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seraphym13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just came back from a wonderful stay at the Olympia Motor Lodge in Machester Ctr, Vt, We have been going there for the past 15 years. First with the Old owners and now with Sal and Trish. They made us feel right at home and couldn't have been more personable!!! We like staying there because it's like going to visit relatives. It's nice to sit in the lobby and talk to other guests and the breakfast was great. We will continue going there as long as we can to visit Manchester and our friends Sal and Trish.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadiaNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 7259 Main St, P.O. Box 606, Manchester, VT 05255-9312 (Formerly Olympia Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olympia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing