We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #4 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
1 review
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I literally googled "romantic places in Vermont" for a quick getaway with my boyfriend during the holiday and Manchester popped up. All I knew about Manchester was that it was a little less than a 3 hour drive from us so we decided to go. North Shire lodge was PERFECT and I'm so glad that we didn't over spend at any of the fancy bed and breakfasts that were only a few miles down the road. The owners were so friendly and made you feel at home. The rooms were spotless and smelled fresh. The view was spectacular and there was a little table right next to the sliding doors where we opended a bottle of wine and enjoyed the view. It was so cozy and felt like a bed and breakfast without the over priced charges. The lodge has every single board game you can think of and a ton of great movies that you can sign out and bring to your room. The pub that recently opened was adorbale and had the best french dip sandwich you'll ever have! The beers were delicous and the fireplace was cozy in the pub/lounge. The village of Manchester was less than 5 miles down the road. A++++ for this lodge!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plush127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    55
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
82
194
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2010

I have stayed in plenty of places and this little lodge is the clear favorite for me and my daughter, so we've been back for the second ski season over the holidays. It is small, personal and charmingly decorated - the rooms with Norman Rockwell pictures. There are hundreds of movies for adults and kids to loan out for free, as well as plenty of games you can take to your rooms for evening fun. You can now also enjoy a simple dinner at their pub. Moreover, dont forget to ask about the discounted tickets for the Bromeley ski area!

They have a wonderful breakfast with English muffins, bagels, cereals, coffee, teas, orange juice etc. The only thing missing for me would have been a non-sugar cereal option like cheerios or grape nuts.

Kerry and Tim, the owners, are always there for friendly advice. Also, when my car batteries were dead one morning, Tim was there in a flash to get the car jump-started so we could hit the slopes on time!

So I can recommend this place for anybody looking for a homely, warm stay away from home.

M. Dawson

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manny444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I go up to Manchester every year to ski, shop, and relax. This year we tried the North Shire Lodge. I must say that it is the best place we have stayed while in Manchester! We were lucky enough to be there when the pub and bar opened. Let me tell you after a long day of skiing it was great to walk a few feet, sit relax with the fire they had going, eat and have a few beers. I had the French dip, which is called “The best French dip you will ever have!” and it was! My wife had the pub burger which she also enjoyed. I had a few beers and my wife had a cocktail since they have a fully stocked bar, and since you don't have to drive back to your room it's perfect! We WILL be back next year because this place is just amazing! The rooms are great, clean with great views!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTskiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I was here for a couple of nights for a wedding, and as a solo traveler this was a good deal. It was a quick drive into town, and had a nice, serene location with a view of the countryside and mountains.

The room itself is nothing special, and don't expect any modern amenities. But it was clean if nothing else, and quite comfortable. Which is to be expected for a "B&B" versus a big chain hotel.

The staff were super friendly, and check-in was quick and easy. You can park right in front of your little lodge, which is handy.

Overall a very nice stay - and a good value for the area during peak season.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cj_minneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I've stayed at the North Shire twice, and am looking forward to an upcoming visit in October. My first visit was in August 2008 with a friend. I enjoyed it so much that I brought my husband back in August 2009 for a weekend of rest during a very stressful time in our lives. Unfortunately, the weather that weekend was awful with record breaking rains, but the North Shire was so homey, that we didn't mind. We chatted with the innkeepers, opened a bottle of wine and got to sit down and read, and even watched some DVD's in the evening. All in all it was a great weekend (except for my speeding ticket - beware of those 25 mph towns). I'm looking forward to my return visit in a few weeks with a friend. I can taste those cinnamon rolls now, and feel so relaxed just thinking about the beautiful views of the mountains from our room, and the cool, fresh, New England air.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siennalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We'd definitely go back. What a great little place. "Motel" doesn't do it justice; it's almost like a B&B. Great views. Nice clean rooms. Wonderful, friendly, and attentive owners/managers. We really enjoyed our stay. (Especially the homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast.)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Everything about the North Shire was wonderful. We were warmly greeted. The room was large and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The view was spectacular. The rates were very good for the area. They're adding a pub. If I ever had to return to the area, I'd definitely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
6.0 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Property: North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and HRS so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing