We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet little secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub
Ranked #1 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed here for two nights to snowboard at Stratton mountain. The rooms were clean and the area was quiet. The owners were very nice and helpful. We had bad weather the one day and the owner cancelled ours lift tickets for us and we got refunded. Reasonable distance from the slope....about 20 min. Glad I found this place.....

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citron16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthShireVermont, owner at North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2009

Thanks for staying with us! You were a great group to have here and hope to see you back next winter. Sorry it rained when it should have snowed but at least we were able to save you from skiing in the rain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 420 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2009

I can't say enough about the great place! The rooms are very clean, and spacious, and the view is great too. You can tell that Tim and Kerry of the North Shire really care about the motel as well as the guests in a sincire way. They go out of there way to make sure everything is perfect for you, and are more than happy to answer any questions you got around the area. Also, there is alot of information provided in the lobby about the area, including menus from local resturants, which is great if you dont know where to go to eat. They also have a breakfast area and lounge at your disposal of which we did not use, but looked very nice to me also. We did use the free movie rentals, and that was a nice touch if you wanted to see a movie at night in your room. And they had a good amount of movies to choose from as well. My wife and I went to the North Shire for a couple days to go skiing at Sratton Ski Resort, and the location could not be more perfect. It is just outside of Manchester, but I think thats a good thing. It can get a little busy up there by the outlets, so it's distance keeps it much more peaceful. Besides, it's only a very short drive to get to town, mayby 5-10 minutes and about 20-25 minutes to Stratton Ski Resort. Also Bromley Ski Area is even closer than Stratton, maybe around 15 minutes away. (Didn't go there, but passed it on the way to Stratton) Also, they have GREAT skiing pakages to Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas that are a fantastic deal! So if considering to stay a couple days for a ski trip, you cant beat the deals thay got, so checkout the website (northhiremotel.com), it's much, much cheaper then getting lift tickets and lodging seperately. Bottom line, the place is a true jem in this area of the country for skiing southern vermont, outlet shopping, and I would be willing to bet the foliage in the fall in fantastic on Historic Route 7a as well. I would not hesitate to stay there again, I'd recommend it to anyone! :)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayBonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

My boyfriend and i spent a long weekend at the North Shire and were a little concerned as it was so affordable. We had a fantastic time, the rooms were large and clean and well-maintained, the service was warm and breakfast was delicious. The place was very quiet and it almost felt like our own private hotel. I would recommend this motel to anyone who was traveling to the Manchester area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I still love this place.

In the three years we have been skiing in the area, we haven't stayed anywhere else. We both figured we liked it and were more than satisfied, why go anywhere else? The rooms are still spotless and I do believe the value is fantastic. Kerry and Tim continue to be gracious and accomodating hosts. This is the place other motels should aspire to.

What to expect: Large rooms with cathedral ceilings, a thermostat, air conditioning, cable tv, mini fridge and coffee maker. The beds are very comfortable. Since you control the heat, the extra comforter we brought wasn't necessary. The view is fantastic.

Since the motel is situated on a hill just off the main road, it was quiet (in the winter anyway, gotta keep the door shut!) and pleasant.

The "big house" offers a continental breakfast and coffee, with a separate seating area and fireplace. You can relax in front of the fire and play one of the many board games they have. They also have a large video library--dvds and videos you can take back to your room. There is also a microwave--which is great because eating out in Manchester is a little expensive (to this New Yorker).

Did I mention the delicious cinnamon rolls?

As I've said, we've been coming here and stayed nowhere else for three years. I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emsmandms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Talk about good fortune, My wife and I stopped in the North Shire, to see about room availibilty, and scored with a beautiful stay. The passion that the owners have for their place, comes through the moment you meet them and get in your room. The best place to stay at in the Manchester area.....

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ralph707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This was a very nice location for exploring southern VT. The place feels more like an inn than a motel. Breakfast was continental, but the owner makes delicious cinnamon buns with maple cream! Not to be missed. The rooms are clean, although the decor could do with an update... appreciated the fridge in the room. They had videos and DVD's to borrow, as well as board games. Too cold for the pool so I can't comment on that, but it was a lovely tranquil location to base our travels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarissaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

I booked this motel on the basis of the positive reviews (and economical price compared with the overpriced "spa" type places in Manchester) for our return journey to New Jersey from Canada. We stayed two nights and were not disappointed.

Location is, yes, a bit outside Manchester center (10 min drive or so) but not a problem when you have a car. Would you walk to the shops if you stayed at the Equinox Resort? I seriously doubt it.

The location is a bit closer to civilization than the photos on the website might lead you to believe, both in terms of proximity to the road and proximity to other properties. But neither is a problem.

There is a wonderful rustic lounge in the motel, I can imagine it's very cosy on a cold winter day with the fire on. Unfortunately it's for adults only so with our young one in tow we didn't make use of it.

Breakfast was great (hot cinnamon buns were available on Friday morning, so it wasn't just weekends, cf below). Lots of choices of cereal, bagels, banana bread. Coffee is available all day, not just at brekkie time.

Wi-fi connection was 100% reliable and there was a shared computer in the common room. A very impressive DVD and VHS movie collection with surprisingly up to date titles.

I thought the views from the lower numbered rooms were a bit nicer than the higher numbered ones (2 is nearest the road, 15 furthest away, but with 2 you get to see a nicer cross section of the hills in the distance).

Sound from neighbour's room (we were on the end) was only audible when their kid was running up and down. As we have a kid of our own making her own noise, we understood and didn't find this to be a problem or disturbing. I think the sound proofing is pretty good compared with all the places I have stayed in my life.

Rooms themselves were of good quality - nice beds and bathroom.

Mrs. Innkeeper was very nice and extremely helpful.

Someone below wrote that there is not much to do in the area. Two things we enjoyed were (1) the Equinox Skyline Drive (entrance v close to the motel) and (2) the bookshop in town - I'm a history buff and found some very interesting titles and the kids area was great for our daughter.

In short, I heartily concur with all the positive reviews, and would love to come back to try a stay during the summer when the pool is open.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank MisterGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
6.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
273 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
445 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Manchester
The Inn at Manchester
#2 of 12 in Manchester
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub

Address: 97 Main Street, Historic Route 7A, Manchester, VT 05254
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $150 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality Manchester, Vermont lodge serving a wonderful bed and breakfast style hot breakfast each morning. The Mountain View Pub is a private guest amenity serving dinner in a unique setting with a massive selection of beverages. Fourteen chalet style units with sliding glass doors and stunning mountain views. Huge free video library, wireless internet, heated outdoor pool. Located in one of Manchester's most scenic and historic areas. Set in the foothills of Mt. Equinox. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Shire Lodge & Mountain View Pub Hotel Manchester
North Shire Lodge And Mountain View Pub
North Shire Hotel
North Shire Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing