We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute spacious motel in easy driving distance to skiing!”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The motel was perfect for a last minute ski weekend in Vermont. It was close (20 min) drive to Stratton, the room was spacious, and it had a keurig machine and fireplace in our two-bedroom room! It was perfect for two couples. That was awesome. That said, website said they had a hot tub -- not the case. Also, the first bedroom in room 227 is incredibly incredibly unventilated and gets HOT. They have a air filtering machine in there but it's not enough to combat heat! Overall stay was really great but be warned re that particular room. You will need to sleep w light clothes!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

We do appreciate you taking the time to go on tripadvisor.com, but you may have reviewed the wrong lodging property. Our website does not state we have a hot tub, although many rooms have a one or two-person spa tub. In addition, we do not have a Room 227! All of our rooms have their own thermostat each guest can control, so too much heat is never a problem. You may want to edit your review to give the correct location.

Our property, The Manchester View, is also 20 minutes from Stratton Mountain and 10 minutes from Bromley. We’re less than 2 miles from all that Manchester has to offer including fine dining, and designer and local shopping. We’re close to Hildene, Robert Todd Lincoln’s estate and The Southern Vermont Arts Center. We invite you to stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Manchester View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 640 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is long overdue! We stayed here back in February over Valentine's Day weekend for some skiing. It was our first time in Vermont and what a great time we had! The hotel was so quaint, comfortable and inviting and the staff even more-so. We loved the fireplace and porch and had plenty of room! The wood was replaced daily for the fireplace which was also nice.

Located right around the way from the center of town, it was perfect for a few moments travel to and from! We hope to return in the future and would like to thank the staff for taking great care of us and making our trip a great one!

-LM

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking time to review The Manchester View! We’re so glad you had a great time and that our property and staff helped to make it so. The staff appreciates your comments, and we all look forward to your return visit – soon, we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Manchester view made our weekend vacation a huge success. It was four adults and two small dogs, and the room we had was amazing. Clean, comfortable, mid size fridge, dining table, jacuzzi tube (which after a day of skiing at the very near by Bromley mountain felt great), fireplace- which they have set up to ignite with just one match! Everything about this place was just amazing, including the price! The staff at the office was really nice and very accommodating. Many local shops and restaurants just a mile or two away, yet when you pulled in here you felt like you were no where near civilization. We have driven the extra 2 hours to Burlington, and even further to stay and ski, but never again. Between the Manchester view and Bromley ski area, no need to go one step further. We will return here again and again..just loved it!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with 4 or more, the suites are a must. So much room. Pull out beds for the kids...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at The Manchester View. It was a pleasure hosting all of you, including the dogs!

You are so right; our suites are perfect for a group up to 6. They’re large and have all the great amenities you mentioned. We also have other types of rooms, most of which have one or two-person spa tubs and gas or wood-burning fireplaces. All have Keurig coffeemakers and refrigerators. Our location is superb for the winter sports enthusiast and designer shopper, for visitors looking for fine dining or local eateries, or even for those looking to get away from it all and relax.

We look forward your next visit; soon we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Manchester View is the best. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and cozy with many of them having fireplaces. We love the fireplaces and look forward to being in the room after dinner to enjoy it. The mountain views are spectacular. If you are lucky it may even snow while you are there. The staff is pleasant and accommodating. The Inn is located near some very fine restaurants; Mulligans, Ye Olde Tavern and Johnny Seesaws. Breakfast at Bob's diner is a great experience and they offer locally grown foods. We go there at least two weekends a winter...If it was a time share I would buy into it...

Room Tip: Any of the specialty rooms are enjoyable. The staff are pleasant and this makes for a very relaxing...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Manchester View. We appreciate your glowing comments!

You didn’t have to be lucky to find snow in Manchester this year! This winter has been a skiers dream. Our rooms and suites with fireplaces were greatly in demand this year!

We look forward to seeing you again. Maybe this Spring, summer or Fall? You can enjoy your private deck in the warmer weather, overlooking the fields, mountains and landscaping. And some of the local restaurants offer outdoor dining.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Let me start by saying that my wife and I have been coming to Manchester for more than ten years. When it was just us, we'd stay in bed and breakfasts or romantic inns. But with two children -- ages 5 and 3 -- our lives have changed, and so have our priorities in lodging. We were looking for a comfortable place to stay with the kids, and the Manchester View fit the bill nicely.

We intended to stay for two nights over President's Day weekend. But our plans changed at the last minute, and the innkeepers and their staff were very accommodating. Initially, we had booked for a Sunday and a Monday, but our plans changed at the last minute and we needed to be home on Monday. The staff tried hard to accommodate us on Saturday and Sunday, which was my first preference, but when that didn't work out, they allowed us to keep the one-night reservation for Sunday night without penalizing us for cancelling the second night at the last minute. That level of service alone will bring us back.

(We were able to find another hotel to take us last minute for a single night for Saturday. It was $30 more than the Manchester View and the accommodations weren't as good.)

As for the inn itself, it was much nicer than I expected. The room was spacious, if not huge, and perfect for my wife and I and our two children ages 5 and 3. The furnishings were definitely an upgrade from what you'd usually find in this price range. My only complaint was that the Keurig coffee maker (which we were happy to see when we checked in) wasn't working in our room. That's an easy fix, and one that won't dissuade me from returning the Manchester View on our next trip to Vermont.

Bottom line: We are regular visitors to the Manchester area and after staying at the Manchester View, we decided that it will be our choice on future trips to Vermont.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Court H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you so much for the 5-star rating! We’re so glad our excellent staff was accommodating in permitting the Sunday-only stay. We only wish we could have allowed the Saturday, as well, but we were completely booked up.

Sorry about the Keurig coffee maker; we hope you let our front desk know and we replaced it for you.

We do look forward to future visits from you and your delightful family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Perfectly located for skiing, shops and restaurants too. Very nice accomodations, cozy fireplace, plenty of room, jacuzzi was a huge plus! Really great trip for the whole family....will come again soon!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Maryhrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thanks for the 5-star rating! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Manchester View. You are so right - we are perfectly located for skiing, shops and dining. And you'll enjoy your experience with us in any season. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I recently visited this fabulous inn for a ski weekend with my husband and 2 kids. Having never been to Vermont before I was looking for a real Vermont experience...and I found it here. From the breathtaking view of the mountains to the wood fireplace in our room. Everything about this inn was perfect for a family getaway. Located near both Stratton and Bromley I was able to drop off my son and husband to ski while my daughter and I hit the quaint town of Manchester. The inn was clean and very comfortable beds. This place is an absolute winner!

Room Tip: The room with the 2 queen beds and fireplace has a great view!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thanks so much for the compliments! We’re so happy to hear we were able to fulfill your Vermont vacation experience expectations. Our rooms are always comfortable and clean. And our location is ideal – from being less than 2 miles from the center of town and all Manchester has to offer to around 20 minutes from the ski slopes.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! The Manchester View is wonderful all year long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $106 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing