We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding service and accommodations”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Manchester VIew. I had previously stayed there earlier this year and came back for a short stay 4-7 Sept. The management and staff were super. My room overlooked the valley from the porch and balcony. Simply beautiful. the room was clean, well taken care of and maintained by the house keeping folks. Well maintained grounds and jacuzzi.Just nice to stroll around. I had a golf package and it was great as I had off season rates. Located on historic 7a, you are 5 minutes to great dining. The location of the Manchester View is very convenient to anything one would like to do (shopping, site seeing and fun things). I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. Totally relaxing, which made my stay all the more enjoyable. The cost was very reasonable. I am going to go back again next year in June and Sept. This really is an impressive place. I highly recommend the Manchester View

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you so much for hailing our service and accommodations. We take pride in both. All of the rooms, from Standard Queens to Grand Suites, have a deck or patio and a lovely view. Our convenient location makes us close enough to all Manchester and the surrounding area has to offer, yet just far enough to be peaceful and relaxing.

We’re truly glad you enjoyed your stays and look forward to seeing you again in June 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 661 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent a night here on our road trip around New England. We stayed in a Queen Deluxe with two beds and a generous bathroom. The view of the Taconic Range mountains from our balcony was just stunning. Judging by neat lawns and new pavement the property is well-kept. The reception staff was welcoming. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nijat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We would definitely welcome you back on your next road trip around New England! You were lovely guests. Your room, the Queen Deluxe, has a beautiful view of The Green Mountains from the deck. We do keep the landscaping and entire property in pristine condition. And our staff is top-notch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had read a less than enthusiastic review on the Manchester View when I was online choosing a place for my family to stay in Manchester. It concerned me a bit, but since I also read many wonderful reviews, I decided to take a chance on the Manchester View.

I'm so glad I did! My family really enjoyed staying here. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. There was nothing outdated about our room. The air conditioner worked well and wasn't very noisy at all. We had a lovely balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. My daughters loved swimming in the pool which was maintained well, very clean and heated to the perfect temperature. The patio surrounding the pool offered tables and chairs and beautiful potted flowers. The grounds were very well maintained and tranquil. We absolutely loved it!

Lastly, the price for all of this was very reasonable and comparable to other places I looked at. We will come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Meg,

It’s so refreshing to hear about your wonderful stay at The Manchester View. We enjoyed having you here! Not a complaint to be heard because we strive to make each guests’ stay the best it can be and you appreciated it! We’re glad you made the most of our property, swimming in the pool and relaxing on your balcony. We love to hear compliments about our grounds as we, the owners, and our staff, are constantly maintaining the entire environment. Please come back again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a nice stay in our king premium room with a northern view. The room was clean, comfortable, and relatively quiet. The room also had a wood burning fireplace (locked off from use in the summer), flat screen with minimal Vermont reception (Saratoga was cabled in ?), and a single person Jacuzzi. A last minute choice to arrive on a Sunday afternoon yielded a good value compared with the rack rate.
PLUSSES: Discounted rate, location, view, comfort and cleanliness.
MINUSES: Mini-fridge with its' own shut off switch (needed because it seems to run
constantly?) Nice pool needs some maintenance, through the wall AC units, some
noise from 7A.

Room Tip: My preference would be for a northern view. While the evening was not cool enough for use of the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ev0lution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in our Premium King with Fireplace room, located in the northern-most building with an unobstructed view of The Green Mountains.

The Manchester View is located up a hill on High Meadow Way, off Route 7A, free from main road noise.

Thanks for noticing the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We take pride in our housekeeping staff; they go above and beyond, making sure each room is as clean and comfortable as can be.

From mid-April to approximately September 20, our fireplaces are not available for use; our rates reflect that fact. You did not pay for the use of the fireplace since you got the off-season rate. Guests get value for their buck since they get all that the suites and specialty rooms have to offer (except for the fireplaces which aren’t needed during the late spring through the summer months), but for a special rate. We’ve never heard a complaint about that before! And as you mentioned, you got an even lower rate by coming in on a non-weekend night.

As for television, we offer 24 stations from the surrounding areas. Vermont has only one station of its own. Saratoga is one nearby area that cable gives to the Southern Vermont viewers.

Lastly, the refrigerators are shut off and left open when guests are not occupying rooms to be energy and cost-efficient. A switch is required to shut off the appliance. We’re not sure why that was a negative issue for you. If there’s something more about that we should know, please email us directly. Thanks again for your input! We hope to see you again at The Manchester View!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived midweek and we're pleasantly surprised by the large suite including a living room a large king size bed and fabulous jacuzzi. The room was a great value and the staff kept the room very neat and clean daily. The property was beautiful with great views of the mountains. We were able to use the in-ground pool and watch a sunset while sitting near the manicured gardens. We were told in advanced that breakfast was not available during the week and found it not to be a problem. We ate at several great places in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to give The Manchester View your good review. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in the cleaning of each and every room. Many of our rooms are quite large and offer spa tubs, seasonal gas and wood-burning fireplaces, and private decks or patios. All rooms have Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators, TV’s and DVD players. Our beautifully landscaped property offers fantastic views and lovely grounds to enjoy. We’re glad you took advantage of the great restaurants in town; there are so many to choose from! We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm not sure about the older reviews but everything seems to have been upgraded in the past few years. We stumbled on the Manchester View after we walked out of a "disgusting" place that was falsely advertised down the road (stay away from Stone's Lodge at the bottom of Stratton Mountain at any cost). The wonderful staff was able to accommodate us last minute and we were very happy with the spacious room. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have been back twice in the past 2 months. The Manchester View is the perfect romantic getaway and a great place to take the kids too! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback! We work hard all year-long to upgrade and update inside and out. We have a fantastic staff that spares no effort to accommodate our guests; we’re glad they were able to make you happy! And we appreciate that you’ve become repeat guests! We agree - The Manchester View is the perfect romantic getaway and a great place for the whole family! We look forward to seeing you again really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Appears to be a reworked 1950's roadside motel with outside entrance also there was an cockroach in the bed and other insects were killed in the room as well. We could not see out the window peephole. It was the week when the tempertures were in the 90's and when we arrived at dinner time the airconditioner in the room was turned off. When we explained problems at checkout the woman said she would have the owner call. I never received a call.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowmassbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

It appears this reviewer did not look at our website prior to booking their reservation. As some photos show, most rooms have an outside entrance. Our guests appreciate having their cars nearby and not having to lug their luggage far. As for being overpriced, our prices are competitive with other similar properties in and around Manchester, VT.

Why would a reviewer think other reviews are suspect unless theirs is? All our reviews are unsolicited and honest. Most are very good to excellent. There are some we're less enthused over and we strive to be better. This particular review is just not nice.

The insect referred to as a cockroach was an earwig, an innocuous part of nature of the mountains in which The Manchester View is located. We periodically treat for such insects and only when rooms are empty for a period of time. In addition, each room is thoroughly cleaned and prepared after check-outs and then again before check-ins including vacuuming, so there would not have been lots of dead insects in any room. There are no peepholes in any room. We don't leave air conditioners on all day in advance of an arrival as guests can come anytime through the night. We try to conserve energy where we can. We do, however, always turn a/c's on at the request of an incoming guest, at any time they want.

Lastly, we, the owners, are not always available. We have an excellent staff including front desk, housekeeping and maintenance, that we entrust with The Manchester View. They do all they can and more to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. There are times where guests have to make their needs known WHILE they are guests, and not wait until after they leave when it's too late for us to do anything about it. We look forward to exceeding the expectations of our guests in the near and distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
264 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $95 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing