We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveler rating
494
196
40
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
196
40
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand suiterobert frost roommountain roomprivate deckcontinental breakfastroom was cleanmountain viewspa tubsliding doorwood fireplacesurrounding mountainsrestaurants and shoppingclose to townbagelsenjoy the viewnice poolshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 752 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had read a less than enthusiastic review on the Manchester View when I was online choosing a place for my family to stay in Manchester. It concerned me a bit, but since I also read many wonderful reviews, I decided to take a chance on the Manchester View.

I'm so glad I did! My family really enjoyed staying here. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. There was nothing outdated about our room. The air conditioner worked well and wasn't very noisy at all. We had a lovely balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. My daughters loved swimming in the pool which was maintained well, very clean and heated to the perfect temperature. The patio surrounding the pool offered tables and chairs and beautiful potted flowers. The grounds were very well maintained and tranquil. We absolutely loved it!

Lastly, the price for all of this was very reasonable and comparable to other places I looked at. We will come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Meg,

It’s so refreshing to hear about your wonderful stay at The Manchester View. We enjoyed having you here! Not a complaint to be heard because we strive to make each guests’ stay the best it can be and you appreciated it! We’re glad you made the most of our property, swimming in the pool and relaxing on your balcony. We love to hear compliments about our grounds as we, the owners, and our staff, are constantly maintaining the entire environment. Please come back again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a nice stay in our king premium room with a northern view. The room was clean, comfortable, and relatively quiet. The room also had a wood burning fireplace (locked off from use in the summer), flat screen with minimal Vermont reception (Saratoga was cabled in ?), and a single person Jacuzzi. A last minute choice to arrive on a Sunday afternoon yielded a good value compared with the rack rate.
PLUSSES: Discounted rate, location, view, comfort and cleanliness.
MINUSES: Mini-fridge with its' own shut off switch (needed because it seems to run
constantly?) Nice pool needs some maintenance, through the wall AC units, some
noise from 7A.

Room Tip: My preference would be for a northern view. While the evening was not cool enough for use of the fireplace - why chose/pay for a room with a locked off feature?
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ev0lution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in our Premium King with Fireplace room, located in the northern-most building with an unobstructed view of The Green Mountains.

The Manchester View is located up a hill on High Meadow Way, off Route 7A, free from main road noise.

Thanks for noticing the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We take pride in our housekeeping staff; they go above and beyond, making sure each room is as clean and comfortable as can be.

From mid-April to approximately September 20, our fireplaces are not available for use; our rates reflect that fact. You did not pay for the use of the fireplace since you got the off-season rate. Guests get value for their buck since they get all that the suites and specialty rooms have to offer (except for the fireplaces which aren’t needed during the late spring through the summer months), but for a special rate. We’ve never heard a complaint about that before! And as you mentioned, you got an even lower rate by coming in on a non-weekend night.

As for television, we offer 24 stations from the surrounding areas. Vermont has only one station of its own. Saratoga is one nearby area that cable gives to the Southern Vermont viewers.

Lastly, the refrigerators are shut off and left open when guests are not occupying rooms to be energy and cost-efficient. A switch is required to shut off the appliance. We’re not sure why that was a negative issue for you. If there’s something more about that we should know, please email us directly. Thanks again for your input! We hope to see you again at The Manchester View!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived midweek and we're pleasantly surprised by the large suite including a living room a large king size bed and fabulous jacuzzi. The room was a great value and the staff kept the room very neat and clean daily. The property was beautiful with great views of the mountains. We were able to use the in-ground pool and watch a sunset while sitting near the manicured gardens. We were told in advanced that breakfast was not available during the week and found it not to be a problem. We ate at several great places in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to give The Manchester View your good review. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in the cleaning of each and every room. Many of our rooms are quite large and offer spa tubs, seasonal gas and wood-burning fireplaces, and private decks or patios. All rooms have Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators, TV’s and DVD players. Our beautifully landscaped property offers fantastic views and lovely grounds to enjoy. We’re glad you took advantage of the great restaurants in town; there are so many to choose from! We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm not sure about the older reviews but everything seems to have been upgraded in the past few years. We stumbled on the Manchester View after we walked out of a "disgusting" place that was falsely advertised down the road (stay away from Stone's Lodge at the bottom of Stratton Mountain at any cost). The wonderful staff was able to accommodate us last minute and we were very happy with the spacious room. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have been back twice in the past 2 months. The Manchester View is the perfect romantic getaway and a great place to take the kids too! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback! We work hard all year-long to upgrade and update inside and out. We have a fantastic staff that spares no effort to accommodate our guests; we’re glad they were able to make you happy! And we appreciate that you’ve become repeat guests! We agree - The Manchester View is the perfect romantic getaway and a great place for the whole family! We look forward to seeing you again really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was okay. It had a nice view being on the mountain, but the room was small and a bit dated, There was a funny chemical smell in our room. We didn't realize that high season only started after July 4th, and the daily breakfast wasn't available (except on weekends) until then, and we were there on a Wednesay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinneOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give a review of The Manchester View.

The Queen Standard room that you chose to stay in is a quaint room, with a queen bed, easy chair, desk, tv, dvd, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, private bathroom, and deck. We offer a full array of types and sizes of rooms from Queen Standards to Two-Bedroom and Grand Suites, all with a view.

Our rooms have been updated with new carpet, bedding, furniture and décor. Breakfast is offered on weekends since our guests usually aren't interested in breakfast during the week. We're sorry these issues took away from your experience. We hope that, if you return to Manchester, you give The Manchester View another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews