We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay.”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was okay. It had a nice view being on the mountain, but the room was small and a bit dated, There was a funny chemical smell in our room. We didn't realize that high season only started after July 4th, and the daily breakfast wasn't available (except on weekends) until then, and we were there on a Wednesay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorinneOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give a review of The Manchester View.

The Queen Standard room that you chose to stay in is a quaint room, with a queen bed, easy chair, desk, tv, dvd, refrigerator, Keurig coffee maker, private bathroom, and deck. We offer a full array of types and sizes of rooms from Queen Standards to Two-Bedroom and Grand Suites, all with a view.

Our rooms have been updated with new carpet, bedding, furniture and décor. Breakfast is offered on weekends since our guests usually aren't interested in breakfast during the week. We're sorry these issues took away from your experience. We hope that, if you return to Manchester, you give The Manchester View another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Manchester View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 644 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Booked via Internet. Was familiar with town, wanted Equinox but it was fully booked. Stayed in grand suite, king and sofa bed.

Pros: Beautiful grounds, most rooms have lovely mountain views, near Manchester, quiet, nice registration personnel, safe area, non-smoking, extra 1/2 bath was helpful.

Negatives: Need to amend the marketing. This is NOT what we consider "luxury". Where to start: Dated furniture/decor Uncomfortable bed. Even a foam topper would help. Uncomfortable sofa (granted, it was a sleeper). Pillows on king bed were nice (only 3 for 2 people) but if you need extras, the ones in the room intended for use by the sofa bed guests are like cardboard. Gym-like shower with cracked tiles and ants roaming. No microwave. Not enough outlets. We had to set electronics on the hallway floor to charge them. A surge supressor at the desk would help. NOISY AC units and very hard to regulate room temp. TV had several channels with no sound. No ability to order movies. No restaurant. Crazy Kuerig coffemaker with ONE pod per person for morning coffee. No tea bags offered. No reserved parking for any units so whenever we went out during the day, cars full of pool-goers would park in front of our strip of rooms, blocking room access. I'm not even sure they were registered guests. We'd have to park away from our room, wait for the pool people to leave and then move the car back near our room. MV needs either designated pool parking or reserved spaces for each unit.

It's a place to lay your head, but at 250/night, it seems overpriced for the area.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to give your review. It is true - our beautifully landscaped grounds and marvelous view are priceless!
Sorry to hear Vermont luxury did not live up to your standards. We are sure you didn’t talk to our front desk about the issues you address here because the staff would have gone out of their way to make you happy!

The furniture, carpeting, bedding and décor are new. There are extra pillows in the closets in The Grand Suite where you stayed. Additional pillows and towels, the use of a microwave and additional coffee/tea service are all available for the asking. All parking is assigned; we ask for car information such as make, model and license plate so that, if an unassigned car is parked, we can have it moved. Only Manchester View guests use our pool; we monitor its use so that non-guests do not come onto the property without permission. Our rates are competitive with those in the Manchester area.

We hope your next trip lives up to your expectations. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Manchester View June 28-30 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had an extremely spacious suite called the Grand Suite. Very clean and comfortable, an enormous bathroom with a Jacuzzi and a huge shower stall. There was also a powder room near the entry.
Staff was very helpful, the grounds are beautiful and immaculate.
Myra and Jerry
Montreal

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank jerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Grand Suite. We take pride in keeping all of our 36 rooms and suites clean and comfortable, our landscaping beautiful, and that our staff was very helpful. We hope you come back again as you were a pleasure to host!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are your typical well-traveled couple with 13-year old son. My husband travels frequently for business and is very particular. Every year we do a different "family bike ride" of approximately 275 miles with 2 other small families- 11 of us from multiple 45-50+ to multiple 13-15 year olds . This year, our southern Vermont tour took us through Manchester. It is a challenge to make everybody happy- Manchester View is a gem. Very reasonably priced (Manchester can be a bit "high") , very clean, MAGNIFICENT view, nice pool, refrig in room. It is a motel with a very nice "Inn-feel" . Book it.

Room Tip: we had a jaccuzzi in a Grand suite
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thanks so much for making us your PLACE TO STAY in Manchester!

Our hats off to you for undertaking the "family bike ride!" We're happy this year's trek took you through Manchester. You were excellent guests and we appreciate your kind words about The Manchester View. We try to make everyone happy with our competitive rates, clean and well-appointed rooms, and warm and sunny pool. The Manchester View is the INN place to stay! We hope your bike ride brings you our way again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We picked this place based on other tripadviser reviews. Overall, we were not disappointed. The place was just outside Manchester center. We booked it last minute and the price was better than what was quoted online. We stayed in the Calvin Coolidge room which was very nice. We had a private balcony and the views of the green mountains were breathtaking. The only disappointment that we had were the mattress which was very uncomfortable and the continental breakfast was not much of a continental breakfast. Granted I was only $3 a person, there was coffee, orange juice, milk, mini bagels, muffins and cereal. I would have liked a real continental breakfast with fruits, yogurts, and real fresh bagels.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wsayejmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We’re so pleased you weren’t disappointed by your stay. Our Calvin Coolidge room is well-appointed and very comfortable, as our all of our standard rooms, specialty rooms and suites. In addition to new mattresses, pillows and decorating, the rooms have decks with breathtaking views.

We’re sorry the breakfast wasn't what you would have liked. We provide a continental breakfast for $3 per person for the convenience of our guests and it includes all that you mention: coffee, tea, orange juice, milk, mini bagels, cream cheese, blueberry muffins and cereal (oatmeal in autumn). We do recommend local restaurants for a larger breakfast.

We hope you come our way again and stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Manchester View and loved every minute of it. Beautiful, comfortable rooms with lovely balconies and magnificent views of the mountains. The beds are like falling asleep on a cloud! So incredibly comfortable! The staff members are so helpful and friendly and the housekeeping ladies do a fantastic job. Everything is spotlessly clean and well appointed.Treat yourself to a wine and cheese basket! Best way to spend a rainy Friday evening is watching the storm from the comfort of a warm, cozy room and snacking on Vermont cheddar and a great Merlot!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We're so glad you and your friends enjoyed your Manchester View weekend! Thank you for your compliments about our lovely rooms and extraordinary views. The new mattresses are comfy, and so are the pillows! We're very proud of our staff - from front desk reception and reservations to housekeeping and maintenance - we have the best!

Besides the Vermont Welcome Baskets with wine or other beverage, we offer Champagne & Chocolates with keepsake glasses, Artisan Cheese Boards, flowers, balloons, and locally baked cakes. All to be enjoyed on any day in all seasons - rain or shine!

Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Manchester View is perfect for anyone travelling in Southern Vermont, any season. Suites are spacious, clean, complete amenities. Great for both couples and families. Views are breathtaking, location great for skiers, hikers, outlet shoppers, etc. Near so many historic and natural attractions. Management prompt and attentive. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Suites are great for families with young or older kids. Even suites near pool are quiet! Full rang...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give The Manchester View a top rating, and for your high recommendation! We are so glad you had a comfortable and perfect stay. Our location and views are wonderful any time - in the Spring & summer, our gardens blossom with lovely flowers; in autumn, the leaves are full of color; and winter brings a snowy wonderland. Our staff keeps all of our rooms - from Standard Queens to Specialty Rooms and Suites - especially clean and well-stocked. We have recently upgraded rooms with new carpet and furniture. We are proud to hear from you, and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#7 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $98 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing