We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
496
197
40
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
197
40
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand suiterobert frost roommountain roomprivate deckcontinental breakfastroom was cleanspa tubmountain viewsliding doorwood fireplacesurrounding mountainsrestaurants and shoppingclose to townbagelsenjoy the viewnice poolshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 755 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Was there for peak leaf season. $300 a night was way overpriced for the room. Cheap furniture, $3 charge for continental breakfast, not enough soap or towels, but fireplace was nice. View is blocked by trees. I expected much more for the price....

Room Tip: Look for other lower priced motels in the area. There are some very nice ones. Or stay at an Inn for the same money....
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your input from your recent stay. Our views are superb – trees during leaf-peeping season are a part of the Vermont experience in autumn. The rates for our rooms are in-step with other area hotels. The rate of $300 would have been for one of our specialty rooms or suites during peak season. The Green Mountain Room is a gorgeous specialty room with a king bed, wood-burning fireplace and 2-person spa tub. The Norman Rockwell Room is an amazing suite with a king bed, gas fireplace and 2-person spa tub. The Grand Suite is grand with a king bedroom, living room with gas fireplace, TV in each rooms, 2-person spa tub, and one and ½ baths. All three offer our guests the best luxury experience.

Yes, we do charge $3 for the breakfast that includes blueberry muffins, oatmeal, bagels with cream cheese, Green Mountain coffee, tea and juice. There are several restaurants in town serving breakfast, and we suggest those when a guest wants more than the continental breakfast. On the other hand, many of our guests enjoy our breakfast and appreciate the very fair price.

Lastly, although we make sure to place enough amenities in each room, if a guest asks for more, we are happy to oblige.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We very much enjoyed our recent visit to Manchester View. Arriving just after dark on the heels of a rather stressful drive, we were welcomed very pleasantly by 2 staff who encouraged us to take extra K-cups for our Keurig coffee machine (which we did!). It was really nice to have decent in-room coffee for a change.

Our room was the Robert Frost which has a nice deck, gas fireplace, cathedral ceiling, and soaking tub in the large bathroom. Several of his poems are framed and hung throughout the room. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a separate shower and refrigerator tucked in behind the door.

The bed was a queen - comfortable and cozy. It was great to lay in bed and turn on the fireplace with the remote control! Although there was a tv, we barely glanced at it.

My only real reasons for knocking one star off were fairly minor but added up for me - you decide if they matter. If not? then this property would rate 5-stars easily!

Our concerns: the 2 easy chairs in the room were very rickety - one was actually leaning to the side. We brought in one of the deck chairs to sit in. We did tell the staff upon leaving about the problem and they were appreciative.

Another issue were the curtains - due to rust or some other malfunction, they were difficult to operate.

One last concern were the pillows - there were only one kind, the dense foam type which is unfortunately the type we hate. One suggestion would be to have a couple of softer feather pillows in the closet for an option.

But like I said, ultimately, these are minor issues and did not affect our enjoyment of the Manchester View. The grounds (and our room) were lovely and the staff were warm and welcoming. Thank you for our wonderful stay!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend choosing a room with a fireplace. Especially in the cooler months, it lends a wonderful ambiance to the room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gala62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We’re so happy to hear you had a lovely stay! It is our pleasure to greet our guests with warmth and welcome them to their home while in Manchester.

So glad you enjoyed The Robert Frost Room. The gas fireplace, which a number of our rooms have, is fantastic, especially with the remote control! For those who like wood-burning fireplaces, we have those, as well.

Although we are disappointed to get a four rating, we understand and appreciate your constructive criticisms. We remedied the chair and curtain situations immediately. Since we’ve had a number of guests allergic to feathers, we opted for the foam pillows. Thanks for letting us know how you feel! We’re certainly glad to know these issues didn’t affect your enjoyment. We hope you'll return for a future stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Rooms are large, casual Vermont style, fireplace is great, balcony and views are awesome..Very comfortable and relaxing place to be...staff is friendly and accomodating...Will be back for longer next time!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countrygirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for your review! We appreciate your positive comments, and are very glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our third stay at this very nice motel which from the road may look ordinary. The rooms, some with fireplace and jacuzzi tub, are comfortable and spacious. My husband, who has played golf all over the world, likes the Manchester Country Club next door. We used to spend our anniversary week-end at the Equinox but we moved here and haven't looked back. Did I mention the view of the mountains from each room is outstanding?

Room Tip: Calvin Coolidge room is a real hidden treasure. The view from the deck is wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiffanyoblivious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thanks so much for staying with us again! We love to see return guests because we know we must be doing something right. Although we think our property look fabulous from the outside, you can’t see what’s on the inside until you’ve been in the rooms. We have a range of different types of rooms from standard queens to Grand Suites and Specialty Rooms with spa tubs and fireplaces. As you mentioned, all the rooms are comfortable and roomy. The Calvin Coolidge is a treasure with its cathedral ceiling, king bed, gas fireplace, comfy sofa and chairs, as well as the private deck and spectacular view. Each of our many rooms has their own charms. And they all have wonderful views!

We are very close to several golf courses including the Manchester Country Club where we have privileges. Our desk staff will set up tee times for guests by request.

We look forward to your fourth visit as soon as you can make it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked a number of rooms for my daughters wedding and found the accomodations and staff friendliness excellent. It is a place that I would go back to for a personal trip. They accomodated us by placing us in a specific section of the hotel permitting us to socialize without disturbing others. Great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigPap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

We are so pleased to read your review. It is a pleasure to know our staff lived up to our high expectations, and that you found the accommodations to be excellent. We do try to place groups together, wherever possible, and we were happy to be able to do this for your daughter’s wedding party. We look forward to hosting you on a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews