We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a weekend getaway!”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Schenectady, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh what a weekend getaway!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to the Manchester View to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary, we had a fabulous time, The room was so fabulous, that is where we spent most of our time. My husband and I were able to enjoy spending time with each other for the entire time, relaxing, talking listening to music, not talking etc... We will definitely return. We loved Vermont and The Manchester View.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Happy 26th anniversary! We’re so glad you chose to spend it at The Manchester View and had a fabulous time! Thank you for your kind words. We hope you come back to celebrate number 27!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    176
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
182
290
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I decided last minute to go up to Manchester Vermont with my family and I initially chose the Equinox, however it was sold out. After reading reviews I chose the Manchester View. I called the hotel and spoke to the reservationist and I asked for a room with a view and I was told the room has a fantastic views of the mountains. She told me she worked at the Equinox for years and promised i would love the resort. I arrived late and a key was left at the door of of the office, no staff. The air conditioner was very loud, there was a noticeable odor and the decor was similar to Residence Inn from the 1990's. The next morning we looked out at the windows and there was no view, just a row of trees right outside the window. The TV in the main room had poor reception and sound. I went to the front desk in the morning and asked for another room and they said they were sold out. i told them i was checking out and they told me i still had to pay for the next night. I asked why the individual said there was a view of the mountains and they said if you step out of the room and look to your right you can see the mountains. She then said, next time book earlier. I told her the air conditioner was very loud and she said they all are. I still checked out even thought they were going to charge me $250 for the night. I went to the Wilburton Inn and had house with an unbelievable view, deck, updated furniture and TV. On a positive note, we went to Bromley and my sons and i went on a zip line, and went through the adventure aerial adventure park. The Manchester View staff lacked training and had very poor customer service and to say the least was disingenuous. The hotel is very dated.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts about The Manchester View from your visit a month ago. We are quite surprised to hear now that our professional staff treated you with anything but the utmost respect, and we apologize that you didn’t enjoy your stay.

There was no staff upon your late arrival since our office is open from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. This is clearly stated in our confirmation letters. Our letter also requests guests call us if they will be arriving after hours, but we did not receive a call from you. As we do in such situations, for your convenience, we thoughtfully placed your key with a map of the property showing the location of your room, with a welcome letter, in an envelope with your last name on it just outside the office door.

We appreciate learning that the air conditioner in your room was noisy. Although the air conditioners cool the rooms very well, we have it in our fiscal plan to replace them with newer models before next summer.

If we hadn’t been full, we would have been able to accommodate a move to another room. The Manchester View can and does fill up to capacity often. Our Grand Suites, the same type of room you stayed in, especially go fast. They are large and comfortable, and receive rave reviews (see the previous review titled “Our go-to in Manchester” as well as other earlier reviews).

We take pride in the fact that we update and upgrade the interiors and exteriors of the entire facility all year long. No, we are not brand-new or just-opened nor do we claim to be; we’ve been open continuously and in business successfully for 36 years under the same management. The Manchester View fits in perfectly in the rural atmosphere of The Green Mountains of Vermont.

We’re glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip and hope you return to Manchester again in the future. Thanks again for your constructive criticism; it’s much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Manchester View is our favorite motel in The Manchester Vermont area! We find the location convenient to restaurants and shopping, yet far enough away to make you feel like your in Vermont....with beautiful grounds and gorgeous views! Over the years we have stayed in various of its rooms and suites. The rooms/suites are all well maintained, spacious and clean, with comfortable beds and bedding. When our children were younger, we often stayed in the 2 bedroom suites which are very spacious and easily accommodate a family of four (our kids...a boy and girl...would alternate who got the second bedroom and who got the sofa bed). I do wish a 2 bedroom suite with twin beds were offered. Our last stay (over this past Labor Day weekend 2012) was in the Grand Suite, which is a one Bedroom suite. It has a spacious living room area with a desk and refrigerator. Sliding doors lead out to a private deck with lovely views. Off the bedroom are pocket doors leading to a two person whirlpool bath and a very large vanity area. A separate door leads into the toilet/shower room...the shower is a large walk-in! I have only a few reasons that I don't give this lodging 5 stars. We do wish they offered a wider array of television channels. They offer a very limited breakfast...cereal or toasted Engish Muffin (it would be nice not to have to go to the busy breakfast spots in town each day). The air conditioners in the Grand Suite are older through the wall unit models...and somewhat noisy. This is not a four or five diamond hotel which you would find in a big city (we come from Long Island, NY and have travelled in the US and Europe) and it is not a quaint B&B, but it is four diamond lodging for this area...very comfortable, spacious and accommodating. The staff are all friendly and efficient as well! Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZ4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so very much for making us your “go to” in Manchester! We are honored! We value your opinion since you’ve been coming for so many years, and that you’ve tried different rooms, and have liked them all.

We appreciate your comments about adding TV channels and upgrading the breakfast; these are some of the amenities we think about often, and it’s good to hear what our guests want.

Fall is just around the corner; please come visit us again to enjoy our colorful autumn views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This property is very comfortable and the views are spectacular. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Traveling with a friend, we booked a two-bedroom suite for 5 days. The first night, we had to stay in a one-bedroom suite (The Grandma Moses Suite). When we entered the suite, there is a noticeable smell - not sure but kind of a mildewy smell. Knowing what we were paying for the room, I was pretty surprised.

The next day, we moved into the two-bedroom suite and were happy that this room had no smell and was much nicer. The beds were very comfortable, as was the common area. While we were there, the hotel staff had arranged to swap out the couch and chair for new pieces.

We spent one afternoon at the pool, which was nice. The pool area needs some repair work. The carpeting and hallways definitely need to be replaced and refurbished.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gms9855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for your kind words describing your comfortable stay and great views at The Manchester View.

We’re sorry to learn of your experience with The Grandma Moses Suite. We assume you reserved the suite for the first night because the Two-Bedroom Suites were unavailable. The suite hadn’t been occupied for a couple of days, and we’re sorry we didn’t ventilate it prior to your arrival.

We’re glad your stay in the Two-Bedroom Suite was to your liking and that you got to enjoy the pool. We appreciate your input regarding improvements, and take constructive criticism seriously.

Our views are spectacular, with the Green Mountains as the backdrop. Every season of the year brings more and more spectacular landscape to admire. We hope you will return in autumn for the beautiful leaf changing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The GPS directed us to the Manchester View the back way where there is no sign. My heart sank when I saw the series of older style motel buildings and shabby office. We were uplifted when we opened the door to our room. Although the building is old, the 2-queen premium room was spacious. The bedding appeared new and the mattresses were comfortable. The view is outstanding, but I felt the $200 price was a little steep for this establishment. The nearest restaurant is five miles away and there is no food available on the premises.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify "top" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cms41762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to The Manchester View. Although we have no control over the directions from GPS, we do empathize with your experience. We are actually well-located just off the main road of Route 7A, 1 3/4 miles north from the center of town. Our large signs are on the main road.

We are surprised and disappointed your initial impression of the exterior of The Manchester View was not favorable. We take pride in the constant upkeep of the buildings and grounds. While ours is not brand-new construction, we upgrade and update all year long. As you mentioned, the room was spacious and the bedding and mattress were new. We're glad you enjoyed your room.

Our desk staff could have directed you to restaurants close-by. The closest restaurant to The Manchester View is Nipper's Cafe. It is highly rated on tripadvisor.com, is just a minute down the road, and serves breakfast and dinner. The next closest restaurant is also highly rated - Ye Olde Tavern - and is about a mile down the road towards the center of town. There are other numerous and varied restaurants located within 5 minutes, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the first time we have stayed at the Manchester View and loved it. We were in town for the Vermont Summer Festival horse show and the location of this hotel was ideal for us. Very quiet and clean place to stay. The staff is very professional and accommodating. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMP957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for giving us here at The Manchester View the opportunity to host your stay while you were in town. We're so happy to hear you loved your visit; your words of praise for our staff and rooms are much appreciated. We look forward to your visit next year, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Manchester View when my daughter rode in the Vermont Summer Horse Festival. We stayed in the Norman Rockwell suite. The main bedroom was large and the king size bed was firm (the way I like them). My son and daughter each had a pull out sofa that turned into a full sized bed. The both slept soundly. The property is beautiful and the view from our deck was perfect. There is a $3 breakfast at the hotel... but there are so many great places for breakfast in Manchester, we never ate at the hotel. The location was perfect... close to the fair grounds, close to downtown Manchester, close to the marble quarry, close to everything we wanted to do. My only regret is that I didn't get a chance to use to jacuzzi tub! We would definitely stay there again if we don't rent a house next time out.

Room Tip: The "named" rooms as the more expensive rooms but they are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CStBBigDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your kind words about The Manchester View. The Norman Rockwell is a super room, great for a family with children because of the twin sofa beds, or for a couple looking for spacious luxury. We offer other superb suites and specialty rooms, as well as queen and king rooms that accommodate from one to six guests. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, being within minutes of all attractions, restaurants and shopping. As for missing out on the spa tub, you’ll just have to come back! We’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
314 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Four Winds Country Motel
Four Winds Country Motel
#10 of 16 in Manchester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Property: Manchester View
Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing