We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Manchester View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester View
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ogdensburg, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the first time we have stayed at the Manchester View and loved it. We were in town for the Vermont Summer Festival horse show and the location of this hotel was ideal for us. Very quiet and clean place to stay. The staff is very professional and accommodating. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMP957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for giving us here at The Manchester View the opportunity to host your stay while you were in town. We're so happy to hear you loved your visit; your words of praise for our staff and rooms are much appreciated. We look forward to your visit next year, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    174
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
181
286
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at the Manchester View when my daughter rode in the Vermont Summer Horse Festival. We stayed in the Norman Rockwell suite. The main bedroom was large and the king size bed was firm (the way I like them). My son and daughter each had a pull out sofa that turned into a full sized bed. The both slept soundly. The property is beautiful and the view from our deck was perfect. There is a $3 breakfast at the hotel... but there are so many great places for breakfast in Manchester, we never ate at the hotel. The location was perfect... close to the fair grounds, close to downtown Manchester, close to the marble quarry, close to everything we wanted to do. My only regret is that I didn't get a chance to use to jacuzzi tub! We would definitely stay there again if we don't rent a house next time out.

Room Tip: The "named" rooms as the more expensive rooms but they are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CStBBigDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your kind words about The Manchester View. The Norman Rockwell is a super room, great for a family with children because of the twin sofa beds, or for a couple looking for spacious luxury. We offer other superb suites and specialty rooms, as well as queen and king rooms that accommodate from one to six guests. As you mentioned, our location is excellent, being within minutes of all attractions, restaurants and shopping. As for missing out on the spa tub, you’ll just have to come back! We’d love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Manchester View 3 years in a row now for the Vermont Summer Festival horse show. The rooms are very clean, the bathrooms are clean and updated, and the air conditioning works great. The views are stunning from the balconies. The hotel is conveniently located to both the horse show and town - only 6 minutes from each place. I barely saw the staff because we had no issues. The ice machine works great. They serve a cute little continental breakfast Friday through Sunday, but otherwise, there is a college-dorm size refrigerator and a Keurig coffee machine in the room, so you can really make your own breakfast. We stayed there for 11 consecutive nights and it was great. It was so quiet, we slept like rocks every night. The walls are surprisingly sound-proof. It is one of the nicer places in Manchester from what I have heard. It doesn't have a fancy spa and health club or restaurant, but the fairly priced rooms reflect this. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the lower level suites because you can hear people walking above you. The King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We’re so pleased to hear that you’ve returned to stay with us at The Manchester View. We get many return guests who attend The Vermont Summer Festival Horse Show, and we truly appreciate it. Thank you for your accurate description of the amenities guests enjoy in our rooms – all rooms have a Keurig coffee maker and a refirgerator, as well as the wonderful peace and quiet. We hope you had time to soak up some sun by and in the pool. We thank you for making our “home” yours and look forward to seeing you again next summer, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORNING, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We add an extra day to the end of our vacation each year just to relax and spend "us" time at The Manchester View. After spending a fun week with family, my husband and I drive the extra miles off our designated route to enjoy the quiet and the magnificent views from the balcony of our luxurious room. Seating by the fireplace; a king-sized bed in a beautifully decorated room; a shower made for couples and a jacuzzi for two! Now that's the way to end a vacation! Thanks to the staff for a great restaurant recommendation and for accommodating a late check out! We'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himandmebeaverdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for returning to The Manchester View and for going out–of-the-way to do so! We’re delighted you enjoy our serene setting and gorgeous views. All rooms have balconies or patios from which to appreciate the scenery. Many have indulgent one or two-person spa tubs and in-season fireplaces like you enjoyed in your room. We look forward to your next visit and hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We returned to Manchester VT after a nine year absence to visit the town where we once owned a home. We stayed at the Manchester View the night before we closed on our property in 1989.
Our kids and I all missed the place, so we returned for a "nostalgia weekend" and decided to stay at Manchester View again.
The staff was more than accommodating, we had three rooms booked right near each other, even though this was a last minute trip. Everyone was very friendly, informative and we felt comfortable back in the old surroundings very quickly.
After a beautiful day hanging out with the locals and swimming at the quarry, we went to dinner in town and just marveled at how much had stayed the same.
There are a wide range of beautifully decorated rooms, with standard rooms all the way to two room suites with jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. The view from some of the rooms cannot be compared.
We returned to CT with a sense of peace and calm after our weekend in VT. My kids are planning on returning next weekend for their anniversary!

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Welcome back! It was a pleasure to see you again! So glad we were able to put your family in rooms that were close together. Although The View has 36 spacious rooms, the property is quaint, with nothing too far away, such as the pool, breakfast room and office.

By now your kids have returned to The View and we trust they had an equally special visit. Our best Happy Anniversary wishes to them! We hope to see you all again soon, well before nine more years passed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry,NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting Hildene. Great place. Wonderful grounds and views! Near to town restaurants and Hildene. Told people at front desk we were going to Hildene the next day and we were able to buy admission tickets right at the front desk for half price. Nice surprise. Rooms were perfect. We had a room with one double bed which was perfect for my husband and I. Rooms quaint and inviting. Nice shared deck looking out to mountains and extensive lawn area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimisal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. We’re so glad you found us, too! Located on the corner of Route 7A & High Meadows Way on a lovely hill, with a mountain view, we’re quite near all the restaurants and attractions such as Hildene, Bromley, The Southern Vermont Arts Center and shopping, just to name a few.

We’re glad to hear our desk staff was able to surprise you with discounted tickets to Hildene; they always aim to please! And we’re delighted that you enjoyed your Queen Standard room (all rooms have Queen or King beds) and our relaxing view. Please join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We live 100 miles away, and my wife and I decided we needed a night out of town. We traveled up with no reservations, stopped by as it was recommended by a person in town, and it was all good. Met by a charming lady, she hooked us up with a nice queen bed room which was totally comfortable. We left our bag, went into town for a nice little supper, walked the streets then returned back for a good nights sleep. The next morning, we looked around outside and the view is quite incredible which added to the comfort feel. The price was right, the facilities clean and friendly employees all will lead to us going back again......perhaps soon!

Room Tip: They offered to let us see the room. I said would you stay here? the lady replied yes. Good enough I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManchesterView, Owner at Manchester View, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Manchester View for your night’s stay. We always welcome and try to accommodate guests without prior reservations. Manchester is a great town, for just a night, or for longer stays, as well. Our setting is perfect for peace and quiet, so we’re not surprised you had a good night’s sleep! Please come back again, the sooner the better, for one night or more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
312 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#6 of 16 in Manchester
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester View

Property: Manchester View
Address: 77 High Meadow Way, P.O. Box 1268, Manchester, VT 05255-6401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manchester
#2 Green Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manchester View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manchester View is a 3-Diamond AAA Vermont destination for both family vacations and romantic getaways. There are 36 rooms and suites set on 10 landscaped acres with 360-degree views of the Green Mtns. including 1 and 2 bedroom suites, fireplaces, 2 person spa tubs, all with individual decorated themes. Every room or suite has a balcony or deck to enjoy one of the best views in Southern Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester View Hotel Manchester
Hotel Manchester Center
Manchester Center View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing