We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Comfortable and Spotless”
Review of Toll Road Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toll Road Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Manchester B&B and Inns
vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable and Spotless”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I were here last night and we LOVED this motel. A very nice couple own the place, rooms are huge and sparkling clean, and we had a lovely view. We have spent twice the money on plenty of rooms that were small, filthy and lacking amenities, so we were quite surprised when we saw how nice Toll Road Inn is. The architecture and furniture is vintage but super clean and in good shape and the newer additions such as the curtains, quilts and upholstery are beautifully selected. Also, the bathroom fixtures all looked BRAND NEW and again, were very clean.
In response to the one bad review from None33886: Our stay was very quiet and we liked it that way.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201 and the quilt was super pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katievt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The room is clean, large, nicely decorated and comes with a refrigerator. Each room has a relaxing view of a brook and mountains in the background. The Inn has all the conveniences you would expect of a modern motel at a very reasonable price. The location makes it a good place to stay because of its proximity to other points of interest in Manchester such as Todd Lincoln's former home at Hildene. The owners take pride in their establishment; they are friendly and a delight to talk to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manhassetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband and our 3 children stayed here with my parents and brother and his family. My mom loves this place and it was her suggestion to stay there. My family checked in at 6pm, gone until 8pm, were on another floor in my parents room visiting and went back to our room at 9pm. As I walked down the hall to our room, I was followed by the owner who told me to "Keep those kids quiet. Other people are sleeping." My kids are 8, 4 and 2. We were not there most of the time, were not boisterous while there and the rest of the evening was stressful as we worried over every sound our kids made. This hotel clearly gave the feeling that children were a nuisance and the husband was gruff and lacked tact in his telling us to "keep those kids quiet". That could have been handled much more politely. Instead it left a sour note to our vacation. We have never had management ever complain when we have stayed elsewhere. The wife,however, was very gracious and friendly when I had contact with her. The back yard did look nice but we did not have time to walk the grounds. Good place for couples or families whose children are much older.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank None33886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

If your traveling through Vermont or New Hampshire and looking for a quiet stay, don't miss this place. Price is very reasonable, and accommodations are roomy, comfortable, and clean. Manchester is a nice little town to visit as well so if you are near by or traveling through it is worth the stop.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RelaxingTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

After visiting and being HORRIFIED with the hotel literally right across the street, we check into this place. It was amazing! The rooms were clean, the views are great. One of the best places i have stayed in a long time! i would deffinately refer ANY person to this hotel! The only negative comment... the pool was a little cold. Top notch place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navybear2792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed here for two nights with our toddler and baby. The owners are wonderfully nice and obviously take pride in their well-kept inn and gardens.

Rooms are very large by today's standards, and come with a small fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom was recently updated, and though the decor is not particularly stylish and the exterior is circa 1962, everything was spotless.

Breakfast was simple: bagels, Tang, coffee, muffins, and cereal. Our room rate of 120$/night we thought was not bad value but not particularly inexpensive either.

Views outside of the room were to the garden and creek, and were lovely. The pool was a comfortable place, though you could hear cars going by on Depot St.

Our only complaint (though it's not really a complaint) was that we felt rather out of place as a family with young children, as all of the other guests we saw during the weekend were of the "over 60" set. We often felt that we might be disturbing others, though the owners were always very kind. Perhaps we just came on an unusual weekend.

All in all we very much enjoyed our stay and were pleasantly surprised given that we weren't quite sure what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I spent a night here on our way to Canada and almost did not want to leave. The hosts are very friendly and obviously take pride in their little resort. Flowers are everywhere, the rooms are very clean and the grounds are very well maintained. Be sure to take a walk by the brook and enjoy the sights and sounds,

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
311 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
234 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toll Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toll Road Inn

Property: Toll Road Inn
Address: 2220 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-9415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Toll Road Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Toll Road Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing