We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for Us!”
Review of The Chalet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chalet Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here in May with my elderly mother. Very large rooms, excellent cross ventilation, table, microwave, "kitchen" sink, OK bathroom. A refrigerator was supplied upon our request. Walls are a bit thin and had a problem with late night loud TV next door, but they turned it off upon first request. Price was right. Not fancy, but I would happily stay here again. Where is that elusive ice maker???

Room Tip: We were in the "annex." Don't know if that makes a difference.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anotherhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Chalet Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 76 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Chalet is one of those funky family owned roadside motels. It's not fancy, and the carpet and furnishings are a little worn and dated, but it's clean. The bathroom was fairly up to date, and the wireless worked well (always a plus in the mountains). There was a refrigerator in the room. The little inground pool was sparkling, and it was quiet at night, despite being right off Route 30 and 7A. It's very convenient to town and the horse show grounds, and at $130 a night the price was right. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank island138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Items were stolen from the room while I was out during the day. The only people with access to the room were the maids and managers. I was gone for a seven hour period and did not leave any of the items in the open, all were put away in closed bags. When I approached management, they did nothing to help me whatsoever, and were in fact rude. It has since become a police matter. In addition, I asked the management about any form of a hotel liability policy, and they said they had none. Furthermore, they refused to refund my hotel room for the next night (the night after the item had been stolen).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floydman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised. We needed a room for one night at the last second. The room was very large with two queens and a pullout couch. Separate area had coffee maker and fridge. We got the AAA rate which made it reasonable. Very close drive into Manchester. Only complaint was they forgot to refill the coffee and shampoo after the previous guests had left.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at The Chalet Motel during the President's holiday weekend to ski. Not only did they allow a 2 night stay, they even offered a 15% discount. It's about 25 min away from Stratton; closer to Bromley; and minutes from downtown Manchester. Sure, the furnishings can use some updating, but then, the prices will increase! We will surely be going back to The Chalet Motel.

Room Tip: Online reservation allows you to choose room #, based on availability. Go to the 300 building since...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilaijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Been going to Manchester for 40 years always stayed at the hotel next door. when they closed I went to the chalet I wish I stayed there for the 40 years. bigger rooms cleaner better service better price.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psrees1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have been staying at the Chalet almost every early fall for about 25 years with several other couples to play golf and enjoy the local restaurants, sight seeing and shopping. In addition, female members of our group regularly stay here in the late spring for a local golf tournament. We chose the Chalet for its location, spacious rooms and access to the private Manchester Country Club, which is the primary reason we have stayed there. We know from prior experience to book the larger rooms in the Annex away from the road for quiet and privacy. Price has been a factor but not a major consideration.

Four couples stayed at the Chalet this past Friday and Saturday evening. It was our last stay and the girls will not be returing in the sping. We had very unpleasant encounter with the owner and the place is in serious need of an update. The check-in process is entirely manual and laborious even with some of the paperwork completed in advance of our arrival. Physical keys are still used rather than electronic key cards and the rooms we prefer have no access to the limited Wi-Fi.

Saturday afternoon eight of us attempted to watch the Ryder Cup on a small CRT TV with about a 19 inch screen and very poor color. These are TVs that if one placed them at the curb with a "Free" sign on them would still be sitting there days later! The picture in the TV in our room, which is where we camped out with our snacks and drinks, was mostly purple. We tried to move to the adjoining room but discovered the TV was inoperable. The owner stopped by to see if he could fix the problem. It turned out the maid had inadvertently unplugged the TV. (It was just as bad as the one we were watching.) We inquired as to his plans to update the TVs. His response was that a flat screen won't fit inside the cabinet and that if we wanted to pay more money maybe he could do something. We indicated that we'd be willing to pay a higher rate if he updated the place. We suggested that the cabinets weren't realy needed since the dressers had plenty of drawer space and that the dresser could easily accommodate a larger flat screen TV or he could hang it on the wall. His response to that was the if we didn't like it we could stay somewhere else! We plan on doing just that (all eight of us and others who would normally return in the spring). We suggest all of you out there take this owners advise and "stay somewhere else"!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
1.9 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
328 reviews
3.7 mi away
Weathervane Motel
Weathervane Motel
#14 of 16 in Manchester
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Motel

Address: 1875 Depot St, Manchester, VT 05255-9673
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $92 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalet Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Chalet Motel, where you will find affordable, friendly, family oriented lodging right in the heart of Vermont's beautiful Green Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chalet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing