We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gardens, friendly staff - wonderful get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a peaceful, quiet spot to relax and recharge yet still close to good restaurants and activities. This motel met all of our needs. The rooms were well appointed, spotless, comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. The pool and gardens were an added bonus!
We will return in the winter to ski as it's an ideal location for that, too!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imtamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

"AMAZING GARDENS" they are my pride and joy. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2010

I travel from Keene, NH for business in Manchester and have stayed at the Stamford due to the fabulous personal touch the owners extend. The grounds with beautiful flowers in July as well as the nice renovations to the rooms with good rates keep my return. It is also only 2 minutes to Manchester Country Club! Its rare to find a nice family owned relaxed atmosphere in the bussle of Manchester.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHteacher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

"BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS" over 1500 perennials planted. I will say it is exceptional July and August. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review. Hope the seeds grew for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The Stamford motel bent over backwards to help the and my friend out. Recommended for any AT through Hiker. i will be staying here again when if i pass through.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKFMW1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

HIKERS - we don't get many staying with us but I use to hike a ton in my twenties so I have a deep appreciaition for going a little over board - you guys were really nice. Thanks for writing the review - pay back :) Hope you finished your journey to Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Great rates. Friendly, helpful staff/owner. Incrediable views.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acorn30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

"GREAT RATES" we are trying many thanks for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

After years of coming to Vermont for the Horse Show, this was the first time we stayed at the Stamford Motel.

The motel's rooms are charming and clean with wifi, air conditioning, and comfortable beds. The gardens are beautiful and well-maintained. There is a small pool on the grounds as well.

The owners are friendly and personable and are extremely eager to make your stay enjoyable and for the price you can't beat it.

I intend to stay here again on our next visit to Manchester and would recommend the Stamford.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi222_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

"CHARMING AND CLEAN" and it was prob $80 - what morecould you want when visiting for the horse show other than a bigger room. Glad everything worked out and hopefully you will continue to stay every July while riding horses - many thanks for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Everything was great. Host was so nice and polite with us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rade_tanaskovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

"EVERYTHING WAS GREAT" - it was great because you understood before arriving that we are reasonably priced, nice, neat and clean. Nothing fancy - glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We were going to be getting in late, the key was in the door as Karen said it would be. The rooms were clean and warm (very important to me!). Everything worked properly, we had more than enough towels (teenagers!), more than enough hot water, toilet paper, etc. I would highly recommend The Stamford Motel to anyone visiting the Manchester Vermont area. Very easy to find in Manchester!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Thanks so much for staying with us and making us aware of the late check-in. Yes we can just leave the key in the door in the state of VT hopefully that lasts a while. You were a great family and extras were easy to supply you with. Glad it was a great trip. Many thanks for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $96 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing