We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and a wonderful value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for only one night on our way to the Vermont Open Snowboard and Music Festival in Stratton, but wished we'd been able to stay longer. The room was clean, updated, well-priced, and exactly what we needed after a long drive. We had a delicious breakfast on site, and Karen, the manager, was both professional and welcoming. Glad we used tripadvisor to locate a room, as the reviews we read were accurate...perfect for our needs! Will definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beacher350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

We certainly do offer value - probably the best priced motel in the area. We make sure that we are. Many thanks for staying with us and we are glad you had a pleasant stay. Thanks, Karen & Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 409 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and found the room to be very comfortable, clean and warm. The manager, Karen, couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Thoroughly recommend this motel and will definitely be staying here again when we ski at Bromley/Stratton.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

8 minutes but who is counting - hahahaha - I guess it depends which way you go:) Anyways glad you had a great weekend and glad you were happy with your accommodations. Many many thanks for staying with us. Hopefully you came back this year.

Thanks, Karen & Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a weekend at The Stamford. The room was clean and priced appropriately. Service was excellent and the on site restaurant served a great and convenient breakfast. I would absolutely stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

"EFFICIENT, CLEAN HOTEL" got to love that and may I say not over priced considering the area. Many thanks for writing the review and we are happy that you had a pleasant stay. Many many thanks for helping us out. Thanks, Karen & Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We booked two rooms, for a one night stay, on our way to Stratton. Everything from the call to make the reservation to the check out could not have been more pleasant. Our room was clean, well decorated and everything worked perfect. We had dinner on site, 4 adults and 6 children, without a reservation and we were treated like we were old friends. The food was perfect and the attention to detail was wonderful. Try the "hot" wings - they are the only true HOT wings I have ever had. You can't go wrong with this beautiful little gem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilbobeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

You guys were great. Glad to hear everything worked out with your rooms and your meals. Many thanks for staying with us and dining with us. We look forward to you returning next year. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope it wasn't so cold on the slopes. Thanks again, Karen and Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Karen was wonderful! We had to change our night because Vermont was preparing for a snowstorm. I called in a panic because I thought we would have to pay for the night because I had to cancel the reservation. She was so accommodating and just switched our reservation for 2 days later and no penalty! That is the difference between chain hotels and family owned and operated. If we ever go through Vermont again, we will definetly be booking with the Stamford!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronette1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience at both the motel and the restaurant. Many thanks for staying and dining with us and hopefully we will be lucky enough for you to return. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Stamford Motel fit our needs perfectly. Inexpensive but clean and well-appointed. No mirror in the room itself, so you may want to bring your own if you need a mirror while the bathroom is occupied. The innkeepers were very pleasant and had made a point of warming up the room for our arrival. Restaurant didn't seem to be open (we were there midweek), which seemed a little odd because the sign for Nippers Cafe is much more apparent from the road than any sign announcing a motel. Location feels rural yet you are a minute from downtown Manchester. Coffee in the room was tasty, and it was a quiet location. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We are happy that you found the Stamford Motel to fit within your budget. I look forward to your return. Most rooms offer a mirror in the bedroom - we will work on this for all rooms. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My entire family love the motel. It was easy to locate the Motel. The room was huge, super clean and very cozy. The beds were big. The room was provided with clean towels. The room was recently remodeled. The room smell super clean. We really love it. It was affordable consider how close it was to the Stratton Mountain. The motel is located in a main road which it made very to drive. The owner were friendly and provide us with tips regarding sk. i Thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Contact them directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudarima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Your words were very kind and we appreciate the fact that you took the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and dine with us. Many thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 17 in Manchester
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#13 of 17 in Manchester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 17 in Manchester
372 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 17 in Manchester
278 reviews
1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#9 of 17 in Manchester
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing