We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very average ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one nite here mid October
Whilst it served a purpose of a roof over my head and a warm bed that was all it did .., the staff were helpful and the place was generally clean but room 5 was awful as the aircon from another room kept kickin in every thirty mins preventing any meaningful sleep
The bathroom was as big as dog kennel and about as inviting
No I wouldn't stop there again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank andydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you had a miserable stay. You booked a king room at the rate of $100 - we had two other king rooms available that evening at the rate of $130 which you declined to take upon booking with booking.com. As advertised on booking.com and as noted in numerous reviews our bathrooms are very small. We do apologize for your lack of sleep. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 403 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our first trip to New England included a stop in Manchester - the Stamford offered a reasonable rate & truly gorgeous views. Owners obviously care very much about the property - the room was nicely appointed with crown molding, plantations shutters, nice furnishings & very nice linens & towels. The room did smell musty - but that afforded us a lovely evening on the patio with the gorgeous views & fantastic weather. The bathroom is quite dated & in need of improvement but undoubtedly that will come. We struggled with their wi-fi but the owner kindly came to our room to offer assistance. Overall a good value in a beautiful location.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HappyVagabond2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. Yes we are a work in progress. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Very nice, comfortable beds and pillows; basic bathroom with a nice shower with plenty of hot water. Was disappointed that the restaurant was closed the day I was there. Waking up to the majestic views was such a great experience. Owners were very helpful and informative. If you are looking for a place to get a good night sleep and don't want to pay a fortune, try this place out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriWine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We apologize for the restaurant not be open - we have had issues deciding which meals to serve. We have always served dinner and have gone back and forth between lunch and dinner - we always advertise what our hours are. This past summer we were serving breakfast only on the weekends. I believe that will change come April. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Inn a bit outdated located at the outskirts of the town. The rooms are very basic, with bathrooms quite small. The rooms are need of refurbishment and upgrading because some solutions are now obsolete. The support of the managers is anyway ready. The owners directly manage one of the best restaurants in the area and great breakfasts and superb dinners are just a few steps from your room. Really recommended for gourmets.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbang56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

It is a work in progress as I call it and the money pit :( We are working on the rooms as fast we can - we are sorry that you were unable to have an updated room. The bathrooms however will remain small can't change the floor plan much. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Karen the owner with her husband Adam is a friendly whirling dervish cooking,cleaning the rooms ,landscaping and waiting on tables . We had a lovely stay in room 4 with two excellent meals on beautiful nights on the deck of their excellent attached restaurant. The location is close to town but quiet the room was clean and comfortable and was nice to sit outside and stare at the scenery and enjoy Karen's landscaping prowess. She gave us a great tip for a lovely walk just across the street and up Northedge road. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room4 is supposedly the best
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes room 4 has a very large bathroom with 2 full size beds. We are happy that you had a great stay and we look forward to you returning next year. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a very nice and affordable place. It has a back lawn area with chickens and vegetables that ends up in your dinner. The food is wonderful and fresh. Karen gave us great local tips and was very friendly and inviting. It felt like we are guests in someone’s home. We had the steak and hamburger plus the house salad and an omelet breakfast. Everything tasted and looked great so that we did not even look to have dinner outside. When the weather permits you can sit outside on their porch and enjoy the view. Traveling with 2 energetic girls (2 and 5) is not easy to say the least … every evening we wondered all around the place like it was ours, but it is really the owner’s home. In our view, this is an opportunity to get to know one of the locals.
One thing that bothered one of us is the mattress which is too soft for my back. We also wished we could have breakfast during the week as well. Before coming to this place we stayed in a more expensive hotel with more facilities, and a fancy restaurant. However, the Stamford motel gave us a feeling of home and we enjoyed it much more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I hope that you stay safe in your country. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there in July on the way to Maine and they were so helpful. We arrived way late and they made sure that we had access to our room. The place is so charming ,really nice retro feel.
the prices are reasonable and our room was lovely. it felt like home and I am looking forward to staying there again and exploring Vermont. The owners are very nice and work hard to maintain this place. cant wait to go back!! clean nice comfortable and reasonable!! What more could you ask for! only nice people allowed here!! Thanks Stamford!! I didnt get to try the restaurant but it looked very inviting...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

THANKS!!!! We are thrilled you enjoyed our place and we look forward to meeting you again. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#10 of 16 in Manchester
232 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#13 of 16 in Manchester
76 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $100 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing