We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard, occasionally succeeding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 11, 2013

When we arrived in early June we received a warm welcome from the owners and the distinct impression that urgent work was underway to get the motel ready for the summer rush. A crew was doing some serious carpentry and tile work on one of the rooms, this was not conducive to afternoon naps.

The motel seems to be a work in progress, a sort of DYI project with the very best intentions and flashes of genuine taste and consideration. If you are looking for Martha Steward perfect room and a flawless finish, you had best look elsewhere. And expect to pay alot more than we did at this ccnveniently located inn. my hip daughter in law would declare it all funky. You get the idea. some nice old wooden furniture, call them Vermont antiques if you like, grace the rooms. Everything is freshly painted with interesting color schemes, including the bathroom door that sticks. The beds are comfortable, the linen clean, the towel freshr and promptly changed each day. Bathrooms are a bit tight but updated.

Our bottom line is you can't fault the very nice owners for effort, pleasantness and gumption. They are care even if at times the execution falters. Stay there for the value and pretty nice rooms.

Oh, if you hear a fan running in the middle of the quiet of the Vermont night, it may be the motor on the over sized and new frig. We unplugged it till morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPCV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We do apologize that we were under renovations while you were here but the spring is the time for us to work on the property. Many thanks for staying with us. Hopefully we are further ahead if you decide to come back. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I picked The Stamford based on other reviews and we are very glad we did! When we arrived, Karen, the owner, was there to greet us with a smile and she made sure we got checked into our room quickly after our 3 1/2 hour drive. It's obvious you are dealing with an owner who really cares about her guests as she was more than willing and happy to take the time to find out what we wanted to do during our stay and then go over where the best hikes and attractions that we were interested in were. After a long day of hiking and other activities, we opted to have dinner at Nippers right there in the Motel and were very pleasantly surprised! Adam, Karen's husband and co-owner, is also the chef and the food was excellent. The rooms have been recently renovated and ours was clean and neat and the sheets were crisp and white.. We got a King size bed which was very comfortable. As mentioned in the headline of this review, the motel is conveniently located just a couple of minutes outside Manchester Center.

I am now just a little suspicious of a couple of the oddly vindictive reviews written as I don't see how some of the things they have written could even be true.

We had a great little two night getaway and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartkiltedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

It was so kind of you to write a great review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. I really enjoyed our conversation. I hope things go well for you in Fairfield and I look forward to seeing you again. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I do not usually use trip advisor however at the request of this business's manager I would like to address a prior review made by a user which implied that a king bed was promised and they were then given a full size bed. I made the reservation for that particular user and shared the room with that indiviudal, and therefore I would like to clarify that we did originally request a king bed, but then after specifiying that we did not want to have to switch rooms for the second day (which is what we would have needed to do in order to have a king bed both nights), the manager then assigned us a room with a full size bed that would allow us to not have to switch rooms... the manager apparently advised me of this, but I must have forgotten. The manager has also contacted me in the response to the previous review (because I was the one who made the reservation) and clarified that the upstairs rooms were under partial renovations at the time of our stay, which is why they did not seem as nice as the downstairs front rooms. Because the previous review is not mine, and I cannot remove it, I figured it would be best to post something addressing the issue. The manager of this establishment clearly cares very much about the public's view and the overall reputation of this motel, as she has been in contact me consistently requesting that I remove the prevoius review (which I cannot do as it is not mine). I hope this counter-review will suffice in clarifying that the prior review's mention of the king vs. full bed was not entirely factual.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room, as some are much more updated then others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you so much we appreciate the fact that you have tried to rectify the situation to the best of your ability. We greatly appreciate your help in this matter. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Coming back from the White Mountain area in New Hampshire to New York City, we wanted to break our journey and explore the Green Mountain area of Vermont and stayed here for 2 nights.

Manchester is actually a quaint little town but unfortunately lacked wider range of lodging compare to North Conway NH. We settled for The Stamford for the "magnficent views" as seen on the motel website.

The motel is really basic and old fashion with a window unit airconditioner. The room with 2 double beds provides just enough space to sleep. The lights in the room were too dim for all purpose. The sink in the bathroom was so low that you have to bend down to brush your teeth!

The owner cum chef Adam is quite friendly and nice, recommended some of the best eateries in the area despite the fact that they run a cafe themselve.

Generally I find the lodging in the area overpriced compare to many other destination in New England. I guess the supply is limited and also learnt that most out-of-town visitors own a vacation home here and hence services seem to cater more to these wealthies.

Also the requirement for an advanced deposit with 14 to 30 days cancellation policy imposed by the motels in the area is undesirable for tourists as plan do change sometime.

Overall our visit to the Green Mountain region was quite a disappointment, and probably won't return again unless there are some improvement in the facilities for tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Yes, we are a two star motel and yes we have a strict cancellation policy. We don't claim to have large rooms but we are cheap in comparison to motels in the area and that is why the rooms are a bit smaller. We apologize that you were not thrilled with your stay. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at the Stamford Motel was really nice. We enjoyed the country setting and the beautiful gardens just outside our room. Karen was most accommodating in seeing to our needs and making us feel at home. It's a good place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 332FrankandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thanks so much for finding the time to write a review we greatly appreciate it. We realize that everyone these days have very filled schedules. We are very happy that you were happy with your stay. We look forward to your return. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Stamford Motel, in Manchester Vermont, six times. The rooms are always clean, and fresh. The beds are comfortable, and the price is quite reasonable The innkeepers, Karen and Adam are just about the nicest and most accommodating people you'd ever want to meet.
My daughter lives in the Manchester area, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting her.
If you are looking for a nice place to stay in the Manchester area, I recommend the Stamford Motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. We are happy to hear that you had a delightful stay. Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a great time, free upgrade of a room without even asking, so cozy and close to Manchester downtown. The restaurant attached is great and convenient and all the animals on the property are so charming. GO HERE!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2015

Not sure how I missed this one. Glad you had an enjoyable time. Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Many thanks, Karen & Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $88 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing