We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I've stayed in a few places around the Manchester area. I was working a project in the area for 3-4 months. I come to the area weekly for three nights and where I stay is critically important to me. In the 3 years I have been doing this type of work, I can honestly say that The Stamford Motel is without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed in. You might find that unusual because it's not "The Ritz" or "The Equinox", I've stayed in both. The way I rate a hotel is in this order; first comfort (bed and pillows), second cleanliness and third service.

Karen and Adam excel in all of these subject areas. Even though the rooms are a little outdated who cares. The beds/mattresses were great with real pillows not foam. They have a nice quilt on the beds. The rooms were clean and the staff is real accommodating. To top it off they have by far the best restaurant in town. Good food at a reasonable price.

I would highly recommend the Stamford. It's run by great people who go out of their way to make their guest's stay enjoyable. If you're looking for a fancy place that will wine and dine you, charge you outrageous prices there are plenty of resort hotels and B & B's in the area. Take your pick ... but if you're traveling with your family and friends you can't beat the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you with us for as long as we did. Thank you for the business and the converstations. Next time in VT please look us up hopefully the motel will be further along. Thanks for finding the time to write a review - we realize that you are very busy.

Thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been coming to Manchester in the winter for many years now and have stayed at several other hotels in a similar or even lower price range to the Stamford, and this one has been the worst experience by far. There was mold in the shower, bugs in the bathroom, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls....overall it was just bad. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aprilm512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

same as january 2nd review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned home from a 4 day ski trip up to Stratton, Mount Snow & Bromely. Based on previous tripadvisor reviews, and the motel's website, my boyfriend & I decided to try staying at the Stamford Motel for our trip. We selected Room #10, a Queen Room and found the Stamford to be exactly what we were looking for. The room was affordable, clean, quaint, warm, cozy & the bed was very comfy. It was the perfect place to call home after a long day of being out on the mountain. The owners of the Stamford were very welcoming and provided us with great tips on the local ski mountains. We had breakfast at the onsite restaurant -"Nipper's" - one morning and it was also great. I would highly recommend the Stamford Motel to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay in the Manchester area. The Motel is close to 4 great Mountains (Stratton, Bromley, Magic & Snow) & its just minutes away from great dining & shopping in Manchester. I cannot wait to return to the Stamford for my next Ski trip and plan on taking advantage of one of their great Ski & Stay package deals. (details are on their website).

Room Tip: Room #10 Queen Room was great, its an end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripFantastic56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

These reviews mean the most when it comes from a well established contributor. Wow!!! thanks for the awesome review and staying with us. We are so happy that we lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was visiting the Manchester area to spend the holidays with family. Many members of my family stayed at the Stamford as well. Our first night, the heat in the room was not working well and the staff quickly moved us to another room. We ate dinner one night at Nippers and enjoyed ourselves. We definitely got a sense that this was a great family business which is the type we aim to support when traveling. If you are in the area, I recommend this motel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank adicorleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Yes things will go wrong, but we will correct them as quickly as possible in order to make sure you have a great stay while you are with us. Thanks so much for dining with us - we are happhy that you had a good meal. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and being completely honest about your stay. Thanks and we look forward to a return trip next year for the family reunion. Thanks!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family loves this little place -- simple setting, great breakfast and dinner at the cafe, and so easy to get to ski mountain and town. If you plan on spending all day in your room, then go to one of the luxury resorts. But if you want a comfortable spot to kick off your VT adventure, then this is excellent. We are headed back this ski season!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Yes we are not a four or five star resort, but we certainly don't try to be. We offer nice, neat, clean rooms at an affordable price for Manchester, VT. If that is what you are looking for we are happy to help. Thanks so much for returning - we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for my parents last summer and for my brother this past month. They all said the hotel was extremely comfortable, quiet, clean and friendly. In addition, the restaurant serves fabulous food and the staff are genuinely nice people. Kids had fun in the pool during the summer too. This is now our go-to property in Manchester!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJK949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Your family is awesome. Thanks so much for booking all of them with us - since Manchester does offer some really nice places and plenty of spots; we look forward to your parents returning this summer. Thanks for finding a time to write the review - I know being a doctor it can be tough:) to find extra time to help someone out. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I enjoy skiing in Vermont. We needed a quick place to stay that was easy access to Bromley. The Stamford Motel was clean, comfortable and affordable. Close to shopping and mountains. Having the restaurant Nipper's right there was a bonus.

Room Tip: If you have a larger group of friends or family there's an upstairs that would accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayamcnulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks for the stellar reviews - it is always a pleasure to serve you and your family. Enjoyed New Year's and we are looking forward to doing it again next year. Thanks!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
1 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $88 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing