We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have stayed at this motel several times over the past dozen years while visiting family during the Thanksgiving holiday. The past few times we have stayed in Room #10, which has had a full renovation. Nice paint colors, new carpeting,comfy Queen bed, a small frig, coffeemaker, plantation shutters,etc. Bathroom is older style but perfectly functional. Adam, the co-owner, was very helpful when we checked in and, upon request, brought me some real milk for my coffee the next morning. Great service!

For the area, this is a very reasonaly priced motel. Will stay there again, we're sure.

Room Tip: #10 is also an end room, and is closest to the office and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puddles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks for staying with us again. We strive to be reasonably priced and offer nice, neat, clean accomodations. We appreciate the fact that you understand and know what we have to offer and that you enjoyed another stay with us. We look forward to your return trip next year. Thanks, Karen and Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Stamford Motel for a couple of nights on our recent two week holiday in New England.

Good value is difficult to find in this area- but the Stamford Motel is a good option if you wish to stay in Manchester. Our room was more basic than the others we stayed at on our trip and probably in need of a bit of updating and TLC- the front door particularly took some opening. Its about a mile out of the town centre.

It is however good value if you set your expectations right.

We ate at Nippers for breakfast one morning and had booked to eat there on our final night. Due to a short-notice emergency the restaurant/reception was closed for the night. Think we may have been the only people staying that night so did feel like we'd been somewhat. Thankfully didn't need anyone.

Manchester is a pleasant town in Vermont with a huge shopping complex- Dorset is really attractive and well worth visiting. We did struggle to find good reasonably priced restaurants in town- but if you are visiting and you want a good value traditional old-fashioned motel- then the Stamford Motel isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BinfieldTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are happy that you were comfortable with your accommodations. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review. The improvements will continue :) Sorry the restaurant was closed. We close two nights every week in the winter starting - Late October - June. Once again we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Living and working in Rutland Vermont, I was looking for a nice place to just chill and relax at a reasonable price. With only two days I did not want to commit too many hours to the commute... A friend recommended this hotel and I was really happy she did. Only 30 mins drive from downtown Rutland it was perfect. Thank you Karen and Adam for a wonderful experience, I will def be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazycraz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

It was great to have you stay with us. Glad that the two of you had an enjoyable weekend away from the kids. We look forward to you guys joining us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We chose the Stamford Motel for our very first Vermont weekend - and liked it! The hosts were very welcoming and nice, the location is great to explore the area, quiet, but still close to Manchester with its restaurants and shops.
The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, with fridge, TV and coffee maker, as well as (free) wireless internet. Yes, the bathrooms aren't exactly super modern and there aren't fancy AC units in the rooms but radiators (they still work pretty effectively!), but you need to consider that the motel doesn't charge a fortune as other places would, so you will get a decent deal here. Besides, the owners are well aware of that and are working on it. Renovation of an entire motel doesn't happen over night!
While we didn't have dinner in the restaurant, we had breakfast there - which was awesome and much more than we could eat. And again, the owners came around for a chat, we enjoyed a hot pot of coffee, flap jacks, egg...
Bottom line: great Vermont deal!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanMel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thank you so very much for realizing what we are before you joined us and we are so very happy that we lived up to your standards. We strive to be reasonbaly priced for the average consumer and offer nice, neat, clean accomodations. We look forward to you staying with us again. Many thanks for finding the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Vermont and my biggest disappointment was we planned to stay only one night. I never had been to Vermont before and was a little nervous about there not being any standard chain hotels to pick from and having to pick a place based on reviews alone. We got to the motel a bit late because of traffic, and they were able to keep the dining room open so the kids and I could eat dinner. Both dinner and breakfast were wonderful, and the kids were able to play outside (where I could watch them) while I finished breakfast. The room was nice (I didn't know what to expect!) and I loved the area too! This was planned as just a quick stop on the way to Bromley Mountain for the day, but I would love to come back and visit for more than just one night! I also had to find a mechanic the next morning and Karen was great about giving me advice on where to go and not get ripped off. =)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, General Manager at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We are so happy that you stayed with us and that you had a nice stay. Always willing to suggest a good mechanic:) or not :) Glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to you returning in the not so distant future. Thanks, Karen and Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The motel is great value for money. It cost $110 for the night (didnt include breakfast though) but the room was great (clean and tidy with a big bed) and the internet was free. It was a short trip to town (say 2-3mins in the car). The bed was fairly comfortable, the shower was on the small side, but overall we couldnt fault this motel. We would recommend it and would stay here again should we come back through town.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

It was a pleasure to meet you guys and glad that you had a great weekend. So happy that you found it to be a great deal for the dollar. The showers are on the small size - sorry it was built in the 1950's - literally impossible to make any of them any larger. If we could we would try:) FREE FREE FREE internet - people love that. Since bigger motels are beginning to charge for all of the extra's. Look forward to you traveling up North again. Thanks so very much for finding the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a family run motel that offers very good value. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We ate breakfast at the onsite cafe; the food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The hard-working owners are friendly and happy to share information about the local area. We stayed one night and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #10 (end closest to the cafe) and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for appreciating what we are "CLEAN, COMFORTABLE AND QUIET." Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed the cafe and found it to be priced reasonable as well. We look forward to your return and hope that we continue to live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#13 of 16 in Manchester
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Chalet Motel
The Chalet Motel
#12 of 16 in Manchester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $96 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing