We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reunion Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sabattus, Maine, United States
1 review
“Reunion Weekend”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well situated just outside of town away from noise but so close to local attractions with wonderful views of Mt. Equinox and the Taconic Range. The rooms were very clean and cozy with a very user friendly walk in shower. The restaurant is well laid out and offered very good food at very good prices as Manchester can be a bit price.y We would eat there for a nice change even if I wasn't staying there but a huge bonus if you were. The front desk will greet you with friendly owners and staff and would be sure you felt at home. I would recommend the Stamford Motel to anyone who was going to be staying in the Manchester, Dorset area and will be back there again.

Room Tip: There are really no bad rooms or any that I would not recomend, personally they are all really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
LOVE LOVE THE PICTURES. Thanks so very much for sharing and many thanks for writing the review. Hopefully you guys can do it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
107
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We found the Stamford Motel browsing tripadvisor. We did not have reservations and arrived about 7 pm. There was a little mixup with the initial room assignment. The first room we went to had not been cleaned from the last guest, but the owner was quick to apologize and get us another room. We stayed in room 6. It was a cute little room, well decorated and very clean. The shower was great, lots of hot water and great water pressure. We had dinner at their restaurant right next door. Very good! We also had breakfast there the next morning. The flapjacks were wonderful. We should have listened to Karen, the half stack would have been plenty. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klquarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you guys and have you stay with us. Sorry for the confusion but you ended up in a better room:) Many thanks for taking the time to write the review - it helps us a bunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found the Stamford on line while traveling home from Mass. and we wanted to make a stop in Vermont. It' s a gem and will be even better when they re-do the bathrooms ( which were very clean and had awesome water pressure but were older). We had an idea of what to expect by reading other reviews and decided to give it a try. My only regret was the price as the place was not totally updated yet. We had been on the road for a while so having the restaurant on site was great. We didn't have to get back in the car and look for food in town. We had a coctail out on the deck before dinner and enjoyed the end of our day with a beautiful view of the mountains. Dinner was delicious ( i had the crab cakes) and i wish we could have come back for breakfast but my husband wanted to get on the road. The Stamford is a wonderful work in progress, wish we could have stayed longer !!! Good luck Karen and Adam, you run a great little place and we shall return ! Vermont is one of my favorite fall destinations !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Nancy - it was a pleasure to have you guys stay with us. It is a work in progress. We certainly don't have millions to dump into this business but every dollar we get we pretty much re-invest. Can't wait until we are done. The bad news will be the prices will be much higher. Thanks a bunch for writing a good honest review. Everyone helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when we traveled to Manchester for a wedding. Our room had a comfortable king sized bed and the bathroom was very clean. The room had Wi-fi, TV and a small refrigerator. The motel has a great view of the mountains and you can sit outside your room on comfortable chairs and enjoy it. The restaurant also has a view and very good food. The owner was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for activities in the area. I would definitely choose the Stamford Motel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Joan - thanks a bunch for staying with us. Weddings weddings weddings - what a beautiful place to come. So many options and we honestly try to help our guest in where to go and what to do. We are happy that you had a great weekend and found that our place lived up to your standards. Many many thanks for writing the review we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was looking for a nice place to stay for one night in July 2012 while on a road trip in New England. It was a little farther from town then I thought it would be when I booked it on line, but with the restaurant right there on the grounds we didn't have to go anywhere else to find dinner. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with perennial gardens. I would stay here again and easily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
The gardens are going. Thanks for enjoying them - but I am not so impressed I will be doing a big clean up this spring. Glad you were able to join us for dinner - the food it quite good and with an exceptional view how can you go wrong. Many thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I found the stamford motel on line after reading the comments on trip adviser and booked it for three nights. I was a little disappointed when I saw our room as the wallpaper is old and torn in some places and the door was hard to close. However, the bed and room were big and the price was great so I decided to be patient and give it a try. The windows in the room were all new with nice shutters however. Well to find out, our room is the last to be renovated and the owners have done an amazing amount of work on the place. We ate dinner the first evening at the Nippers which is owned and operated by the owners of the hotel. Karen runs the dining room and hotel and her husband cooks. We decided on chicken wings and a goat cheese salad as we were not that hungry, it was all delicious. They have a wonderful vegetable garden so the salad had nice fresh peppers and tomatoes, along with the greens and goat cheese. Since they used to own a bar, they were experts on great chicken wings. What was real nice also was Karen's daughters were there doing homework and visiting. It was like being at home. The restaurant got quite busy and the special that evening was a chicken paella which I was sorry I didnt try. This morning for breakfast we had the eggs Benedict and bacon and eggs. Once again everything was fabulous and this time we got to meet the family cat who was waiting to come in for her breakfast also. Since we are cat lovers, we felt right at home. When we got back today from hiking, we found a new coffee pot and microwave in the room. This is a family run hotel and it is very obvious that they love what they do and want their customers satisfied. So we are once again getting ready to have dinner at Nippers, after meeting these people and eating here, we wouldn't go elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dlucido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
It was such a pleasure to meet you guys - I really enjoyed our conversations. Good things come in time and we are working on creating a gorgeous spot. Thanks for seeing between the trees :) Thanks so very much for writing the review. Best of luck with the kids and grandkids:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

The Stamford Motel is a great mid-priced option in a quaint town where it can be very hard to find a nice room for less than $125 per night. Located on Route 7A about a five minute drive north of Manchester village, this is a small, family-run motel where the friendly and efficient wife runs the hotel and dining room and the husband cooks amazing cuisine at the small restaurant on the premises, Nippers. The rooms have been completely refurbished in the past couple of years, with comfortable country cottage furniture, new carpeting, warm paint colors and attractive interior wood shutters that allow as much of the light and stunning view of Mount Equinox as you desire. Highly particular guests should note that, while the bathrooms are clean and furnished with fluffy, white towels, the fixtures and tile are original and less than pristine, and the shampoo and soap amenities are very basic.

I thoroughly enjoyed my four-night stay here, more than my stay at the Equinox several years ago where I paid more than 3 times the price. The restaurant is an excellent option when you don't feel like driving elsewhere, with fresh, inventive cuisine featuring steak and fish that might include just-picked tomatoes from the garden on the premises. The property features mass profusions of colorful perennial flowers that soften and partially obscure views of the rural highway. The couples three pea hens roam the property and can be heard chirping at night, along with the chickens in a pen at the back of the property. An altogether delightful experience, staying at the Stamford Motel, soaking up the quaint Vermont country atmosphere and views of Mt. Equinox!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyB18938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I don't want to mislead anyone we are still working on the rooms. Some are further along than others. We will return to the rooms in November and close one down at a time over the winter. Some rooms have been completely re-done while others are a work in progress. They should all be nice, neat and clean. We are a two star motel working on becoming three.

Many many thanks for taking the time to write a great review. I truly appreciate it and so does Adam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing