We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room & Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mechanicville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Room & Great Food”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We just stayed over the Christmas weekend and had a wonderful time. The room was great and both breakfast and dinner at Nipper's Cafe were excellent. Karen was friendly, easy going and just plain nice. The room was pet friendly and our Boston Terrier Wendell just fell in love with Abby. It was a relaxing and enjoyable holiday get away. We will definitley be staying here again. Thank you for great service, great food, a great room, and friendly atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim and Gretche... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Jim and gretchen it was a pleasure to meet you guys and wendell. Thank u so much for staying and eating with us. We are happy that the food and the room lived up to your expectations but I guess u already survived the worst place on the cape so it is all up hill from now on for u guys. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    101
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
107
145
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CT
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were welcomed like we were family.

We were pleasantly surprised to have a fridge and microwave in our room. The bedding was comfy cozy. The room was rustic, just like you would expect when in VT. I felt like a kid back in camp.

The owners go out of their way to make you aware of all of your options for dining in the area. Although, their own site restaurant, Nippers was the best we had during our stay in Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIM1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Glad u found your accommodations to be warm and cozy. One dinner and two breakfasts in is saying a lot. We believe that we are trying to offer some good food in Manchester. We want people to want to come back for both the lodging and the food. You certainly proved it by booking for February break. Can't wait for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, c
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Thanks, Karen and Adam, for your friendly welcome to us when we stayed there recently. Our room was large, warm and very clean. We hope to stay there again in the future. We had breakfast in the morning at Nipper's and that only added to the positive feelings we have about your lovely motel. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
It truly amazes me sometimes how two groups can have the same room yet have completely different experiences. We r happy that You found your accommodations to be warm and cozy. Glad breakfast was yummy and many thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fultonville, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2011

A friend of mine and I stayed at the Stamford Motel the weekend of November 19th. It was very clean and comfortable. One of the owners (Karen) was a delight to talk to and went out of her way to be accommodating and ensure we were happy with our stay (though I am sure her friendliness is just her nature.) Room price was very fair. A nice feature is Nipper's Cafe which is right next door. You must go there just to have their crabcake eggs benedict. It is to die for! We also ate dinner there one evening and we were very pleased with the meal. Both my friend and I agree that it is a place we would recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Diane it was a pleasure to meet the two of you. It means a bunch to us to know that you would recommend our motel to your friends. The motel has been a work in progress for the las five years and we honestly believe that it is all starting to come together. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and hopefully we will see u ladies again next year when the boys go hunting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Recently, my friend and I had the pleasure to stay at the Stamford Motel. It offered a great getaway at a reasonable price. Painted a warm yellow and recently renovated, Room 14 was spacious. The décor was a mix of antiques and country. I loved that the two queen sized beds were dressed in handmade quilts with eyelet bed skirts and that the artwork was so interesting. Spectacular mountain views greeted us in the morning.
Karen is the third generation to run the Stamford Motel. She and her husband Adam have invested their talents, creativity, and hard work to make the guest’s visit a pleasurable one. The improvements are constant and ongoing; I love everything they’ve done and love that each time I visit there are more pleasant surprises awaiting me. P.S. I hear Karen’s perennial gardens are amazing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Yes it does it has been a work in progress but we r almost done. Thanks for returning and many thanks for taking the time to write the review. It will be nice to get back outside and get to work on the gardens. Thanks for noticing all of our hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Hi Karen & Adam!



Just wanted to send a quick note to thank you guys for a most enjoyable stay!!!



You both were soooo friendly, personable, and accommodating! It really made

a stressful trip a WHOLE lot more pleasant! Just being able to sit outside and

enjoy the view and the calm was worth its weight in gold!



Hope you had a great Columbus Day weekend (saw the weather was beautiful!!!)

and hope for a profitable winter season as well. All the best with the restaurant,

the motel and your girls!!!!



I am sure we will return sometime and you can be assured that you will be our

Manchester "home"!



Again, THANKS!!!!! for everything!



Doug & Scottie Gemmell :)
Tarpon Springs, FL

Room Tip: It is all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyH123, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Scottie - it was such a pleasure to meet you guys. Look forward to your next visit. Many thanks for taking the time to write the review. Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here this past week. The room was affordable, nice, neat and clean -just what we were looking for. The grounds look amazing will come back next summer and stay here. Had dinner at Nipper's Cafe and we just loved the restaurant. The owners were helpful and informative.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellad10, Owner at The Stamford Motel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
"ROOM WAS AFFORDABLE, NICE, NEAT AND CLEAN" We know we aren't the Equinox and we realize as long as people understand what it is that we are trying to offer than hopefully they will have a very very pleasant experience with us. Which it sounds as though you get it. It was a rate of $80 and the room was affordable, nice, neat and clean - thanks for staying and many thanks for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#4 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Motel
Casablanca Motel
#9 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The INN at Willow Pond
The INN at Willow Pond
#11 of 16 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stamford Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stamford Motel & Restaurant

Property: The Stamford Motel & Restaurant
Address: 6458 Main St, Manchester Center, Manchester, VT 05255-9489 (Formerly The Stamford Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#4 Green Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stamford Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be glad you chose the Stamford Motel & Restaurant for your stay in Manchester Center, VT we are conveniently located just 1.5 miles north of the center from the designer outlets. We are set back from Route 7A and we offer 7 rooms on 5 landscaped acres with a 180 degree view of Mount Equinox. We have a selection of rooms from a single full, queen or king as well as rooms with two full size beds or two queen beds. All rooms have individually controlled thermostats, air-conditioners, TV (direct TV) microwaves and refrigerators and free coffee. We are certain that your stay with us will be pleasurable. Nipper's Cafe & Steakhouse is a 30 seat restaurant located at the motel serving breakfast from 8am - 10am midweek - 7:30am - 10am Saturday and 7:30am - 12pm and dinner from 5pm - 8pm. We grow many fresh vegetables out back in the spring - fall that are used in the restaurant. The restaurant is currently closed on Monday and Tuesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stamford Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stamford Hotel Manchester
Stamford Hotel Manchester Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing